We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just good for a quick stopover”
Review of Methodist Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Methodist Resort
Ranked #97 of 270 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just good for a quick stopover”
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

i will not say this is the best hotel in lavington, but i also wont say it's very bad. The hotel has a christian foundation so theres a church attached to it. Pleases dont go there on a sunday if ur not a church goer because u wont get any sleep. The rooms are very basic, local standard, it needs some serious renovation. The floors in the bathroom are all stained, u cant really balance the hot and cold water which comes out of a rusty shower. The room service here is limited to the sick, breakfast time is just too early if you were on vacation.
I had a situation whereby the housekeeping man just barged into the room after knocking once, i really felt insecure knowing my door could be opened from outside even when it's still locked from the inside.
Otherwise they have a lovely swimming pool and their staff are good, except for one female receptionist who kept texting on her phone while i had to wait before i could get my room key. Someone else had to give it to me and she wasn't even apologetic!
Methodist Guest House is just good if ur passing through nairobi just for a night, otherwise it's not really a comfort zone. Cosidering their location, i think they can do better.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joannatabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    10
    21
    4
    2
See reviews for
10
3
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Diriamba, Nicaragua
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This was the only place we stayed in Kenya. It is dated but clean. Hot water all day. The internet is non-existent unless you log on between midnight and 5 am! The meals are the same every day and the quality decreased as the evening progressed. Often there was little selection and poor quality later in the evening. Staff was helpful -- they made the stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellabolivia7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

By African standards, this place is a palace. Safe, clean and affords you all of the comforts and securities of home. Laundry, good food, the only place I've seen in Kenya that brews coffee (typically you will see instant powdered coffee and hot water, or just tea). The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The wifi signal is weak pretty much everywhere on the property and even when you get a signal, it comes and goes. There is a beautiful pool and running water, even hot water (These are not easy to come by in Kenya). The front desk can exchange money for you and arrange for transportation. Very nice conference facilities. My one and only complaint is that the hallways echo and the hotel attracts large groups, so noise was a problem a few times. Tea time with fresh brewed coffee every day at 10 and then again at 4pm. I believe your room rate includes breakfast and dinner. You won't be disappointed. Fresh squeezed juice, fresh cut fruit and a custom omlette bar. If I go back to Nairobi, I will most definitely stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiffanyinBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We could barely open the door to our room as the bed covered 90% of the floor space. The general atmosphere was good but for the price we paid this was not good value for money. There is a large swimming pool but this can be extremely busy so don't expect a leisurely swim.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Obazma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
420 reviews
206 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 380 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

My room was $80 (single person) but even that was over priced for what I got. The shower and bathroom area (photos) were grungy. The bathroom made you not want to use it. The basic single bed itself was fair but the sheets were suspect. The dinner (buffet) was terrible. Spaghetti or over cooked quartered fish with bones, rice, fruit and cabbage salad. Look, I know that Nairobi is bi-polar; either great five star at $250+ a night or the backpacker hotels. But, really, unless you are backpack, Peace Corp or trying to do Africa on the cheap then sometimes in not so great places like Nairobi you have pay more to be safe and comfortable. I found the Sankara Nairobi Hotel for $156 (ouch) and I head there tomorrow. MGH Not recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fdoamerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alesund, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Stayed here together with a big group in January.

Pros:
- The standard was quite good (for the price)
- Good service from the staff
- Free internet (or, it costs money, but so little that they give the login information to you for free)
- Nice swimming pool about 50 m from the hotel, free to use

Cons:
- Food is not so good, the meat was always chewy and/or bony and breakfast was quite dull
- Thin walls - you hear everything that's going on in the hallway

I don't know anything about the price since this was part of a group journey, but overall it's an ok place to stay. Very nice to have a pool :) I was in Africa for almost 6 weeks, and this was the nicest place we stayed - however, our trip was very low-budget.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiccabom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Stayed here for the first time the night before and the night after my safari in the standard room. It was average, but compared to other places, it was good enough for the price. Here are the pros and cons:

pros
- relatively good price (paid about 50 euro/night breakfast included)
- lots of security to get into the premises
- free internet
- rooms are good size
- I tried the dinner and breakfast, and both were very good. Lots of food, lots of choices, and it tasted good. Breakfast was eggs, bread, fruits, baked beans, bacon, cereal, juices, tea, coffee. Dinner one night was chips, potatoes, salad, ugali, rice, soup, bread, fish, beef stew, fruits.
- very friendly and helpful staff
- there is a store in the lobby that acts as a mini post office and place to buy phone cards. very convenient!

cons
- walls are paper thin. Expect to hear your neighbour singing or people's conversations in the halls.
- I stayed in room 311 one night, and the wifi signal was too weak to reach - no wifi
- whole place is a bit dated. Rooms and beds are a bit old
- there is simple push lock on all the doors. No chain lock or bolt. Staying by myself I did not feel very comfortable with that.
- Rooms clean for the most part, but the first night I checked in there was a mud stain near the bed....
- hardly any power outlets

Overall, good place to stay if you just need a reasonably priced place to sleep a few nights. The breakfast included makes it a good deal.

Room Tip: don't stay near the stairs (too noisy) or in room 311 (wifi signal too weak)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dpurpleorange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
The Heron Portico
#5 of 165 in Nairobi
486 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
The Monarch Hotel
The Monarch Hotel
#54 of 165 in Nairobi
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 165 in Nairobi
1,277 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Convent International Hotel
#98 of 270 in Nairobi
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Methodist Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Methodist Resort

Property: Methodist Resort
Address: Oloitokitok Road | Off Gitanga Road, Nairobi 00603, Kenya (Formerly Methodist Guest House)
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 270 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from home! That is who we are. The Methodist Resort and Conference Center is a Christian institution whose mission is to provide and promote quality and competitive service in a friendly, pleasant and quiet environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Jovago.com and Agoda so you can book your Methodist Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Methodist Guest House Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing