We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Okay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Carnivore Restaurant

The Carnivore Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 536 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$40 - US$100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: On the outskirts of Nairobi on the Langata Road is the world famous Carnivore, known as the Ultimate 'Beast of a Feast', a meat lovers den where a vast selection of succulent meats are charcoal grilled and carved at your table. Adjoining the Carnivore main restaurant is the 'Simba Saloon' - a vibrant informal a la carte restaurant with a childrens playground,
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Overall it was nice but I was very much disappointed - maybe jsut everybody told me so much about the place. There was no Game meat - the only exotic thing for me was Crocodile and OMG never again it s like chicken smelling fish ...
The thing is that it is ridiculously expansive. Plus this guy was around offering Dawas without telling you - you have to pay for it ! Kind of a rip off I have to say !

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nzongette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,768 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    968
    1,009
    534
    187
    70
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A great experience ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

I liked the restaurant very much . Unfortunately, the restaurant is no longer allowed to serve game meats such as impala or warthog steaks. However, it is a great place. At the beginning of the meal you will be served "Dawa" - their "medicine" drink , which is actually lemon juice with sugar, honey, ice cubes and vodka. After having a soup and a few salads, we were served many kinds of meats (chicken, beef, pork, lamb, ostrich and crocodile). The meat serving is done in a fun and special way - waiters are passing along the tables with a big skewer with meat on it, and you can get whatever meat you like. The dessert and after-meal hot drinks were great, too. I think this restaurant is just great and is recommended to all visitors of Nairobi.

Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a rip off”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Despite the restaurant claiming it has not been able to sell game meat since 2004, when I last went in April 2005 a full selection of game meat was available.
July 2014 sees the most exotic meat as Ostrich meat balls - available in almost every supermarket these days. The prices are excessive for what is now little more that standard BBQ fare.
Not to be recommended

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SimonCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
324 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Don't take it too seriously and as long as the traffic is kind to you the infectious spririt of the staff and the unusual game cuts will let you have a great night.

Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Once Is Enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

It might be exciting the first time you try it, but then you've seen it all. Not much has changed over the years except the price. Only exotic food we sampled was Crocodile. Might as well go Brazilian.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jashivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Carnivore Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Carnivore Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing