We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best coffee in Kenya, and dependably solid food”
Review of Java House

Java House
Ranked #8 of 564 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Fargo, North Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best coffee in Kenya, and dependably solid food”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

This incredibly successful Nairobi cafe chain has sprung up everywhere in Nairobi, and for good reason. The coffee is fresh, strong, and backed up with a great assortment of relatively-inexpensive breakfast and lunch food. While the breakfast pastries and dishes are quite reminiscent of American diner food, this place also has a good variety of salads and other dishes (like Swahili fish with coconut rice). Whenever you have an itch for comfort food, this is a great place to go--especially on weekends, as my friends who lived here told me it is the ritual for many residents.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DocMara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    403
    108
    21
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“OK Cooffe Restaurant”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Western menu of hamburgers, sandwiches, etc. Great to meet a friend for casual dinner or meeting. Not a luxury restaurant in any way.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank neil s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“best coffee”
Reviewed 5 February 2012

the food is like what you get at Starbucks, but a bit better. Good breakfast options. The coffee is one of the best I have tasted anywhere, after travelling many countries including south American coffee growing ones, Ethiopia and middle east. Buy beans to take home with you.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank JayKayAndDana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nairobi
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Typical American Style Hamburger Coffe Shop”
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Clean, tastefully decorated but food just simple US coffee shop style. Not luxury by any means but ok for a quick lunch

Helpful?
Thank patelsk142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accra
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Service, Great Food and Good Portions.”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

After seven months out of Nairobi, our first stop when we got back home was Java House. Throughout December we had breakfast, or lunch or dinner at Java several times, and the food and service never disappointed.

When you order for bacon or sausages, remember to specify whether you would like pork or beef.

I am not a fan of their tea, which I find is not as good as all their other hot beverages. Drinking Chocolate and the Latte remain high on my list of favorites.

Depending on the weather, and the location of the restaurant the interior sitting does get a bit warm.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Missbusy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Java House also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Java House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing