We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for a coffee, tea or something quick to eat.”
Review of Java House

Java House
Ranked #8 of 557 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good place for a coffee, tea or something quick to eat.”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stopped here a couple of times while in Nairobi, for a good espresso or to refresh with an Arnold Palmer. The food is not as good as the coffee or tea, but still acceptable, I recommend the Burrito.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Froilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    397
    104
    21
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Coffee”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Especially Java Valley Arcade has good Ambience, quiet and safe. I really liked the atmosphere because it was not very crowded.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PBaraka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“No no - Smokers are not accepted there”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Several times I tried, and every time I was turned down - Java does not have a single teeny-tiny table to accomodate smokers. Most Java Houses have an outdoor facility (ABC place, Gigiri, Junction etc.) and still - no room for smokers. Staff explained that "their boss did not pay for the licence" ?? But in all honesty - take-away coffee is really good, and the forest cake is fantastic. Such a pity that they do not (rather "have not" - I refer to my 4 years here) allow smokers to try Java coffee

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best cafe in Kenya”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Coffee is very good. Food is first class, and there is a varied menu. Only criticism is that the city store has no wifi.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Erratic!”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

The service at Java House varies wildly depending on which branch you eat at. I was a regular visitor to the relatively new Lavington branch, and it seemed to get worse by the week. Service is excruciatingly slow, even when it isn't busy. The quality of the food isn't brilliant at this branch, nor are the coffees. I ordered the Roast Chicken last time I was there and was presented with an overcooked (verging on burnt) half chicken that had the consistency and taste of a lump of charcoal. This wasn't the first time that has happened either. Compare this to the same dish at their Yaya Center branch, which was excellent; cooked just right and served in a timely fashion. Java is a pretty good chain but definitely don't expect consistent quality between the many different branches.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Saffer73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Java House also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Java House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing