We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just nice for traveller connecting flights”
Review of Hotel Kipepeo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Kipepeo
Ranked #119 of 167 Hotels in Nairobi
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Rooms were good with tv, warm water, quiet and wifi only available at 1st floor and its not fast. Staff were friendly and breakfast was ordinary. Location not very secure for walking at night snd its got very high human traffic during the day. Bus companies are just in the vicinity for travel to Kampala, Dar es Salam, Kigali,etc.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank WashBigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muloma, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Kipepeo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Hello,
Thank you for your stay and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I was delighted to read that many members of our team provided such a memorable experience upon your stay. Thank you for your kind acknowledgements. If your travels bring you back to Nairobi, we will look forward to the honour of your return visit. If there is anything we could do to assist in your future reservations, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Kipepeo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

it nice place, staffs are nice and helpful, the room small, but okay for single traveler, also the place near bus station, you may hear too much noise from outside, if your window room face the bus station....

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank wiseyoho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muloma, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Kipepeo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Wiseyoho,
Thank you for the outstanding comments on our Hotel. We will make sure to share your review with our entire staff. We love providing top notch experiences to all of our guests. Indeed, our hotel is convenient to travelers, we are glad you noticed. Thank you for the recommendation in advance and we look forward to providing many more great experiences for you and other guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

haven't tried the accommodation, but saw the place. It looks like a good choice if you wanna stay in the center of Nairobi. What will bring me back to Kipepeo is definitely their chicken curry ;) Management is really customer driven and very friendly.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
Thank Patryk C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muloma, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Kipepeo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Patryk C,
Thank you for the delicious review. Indeed we have the best chicken curry and we are glad you appreciate it. Also our accommodation is nice and we wish you get the experience. Its our tradition to give quality service to our guest to their satisfaction. We look forward to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I t has never happened but I will dread the day I miss a room at Kipepeo Hotel.My visits are always short ones and my ventures are always around the city.It just conveniently located for us who like moving up and about.The hospitality is great, the food too.Just like the friendly atmosphere extended by the staff whom I have found very helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper florrs are quieter
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jassy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naftali m, Manager at Hotel Kipepeo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

jambo! thank you so much for your comments. we are honored to serve you during your stays in nairobi. apart from accommodation, meals and drinks we've introduced a band that performs on thurdays, fridays and saturday from 7-9pm. we've also introduced free city guide to all popular places like city market, national archives ....... we look forward to hosting you on your next trip to nairobi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

The hotel is located in the middle of the city, no lot of space outside, but generally ok.
The hotel standard is fair for the value of money.. i was right outside the hotel where there is a bus terminal, arrived from Tanzania, did not know anywhere in Nairobi and was a bit late, so, i just thought let me try this place, it was amazing the way i was welcomed and the inside looks better than the way one would look it from the outside.
I stayed there for two nights and three days.
it is not bad really.

Room Tip: Well. just ask for a visit, but upstairs rooms are nice.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zachlyimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

For a budget trip, Kipepeo is fine with very friendly front desk..nice room service..laundry. It is located right in the City Centre (excellent) but it could get very noisy outside yet fun for those who enjoy the night life.The room I stayed in was very small and it had mosquitoes but they had mosquito nets and would disinfect on request. Very friendly staff and taxi guys. The real issues (just 2) I had with the hotel was that the my room was on the last floor...if you got back from work tired, it would take you ages to get to your room..(no lift) and the internet signal was weak in my room...I understood their challenge but they were willing to take me to a better room..they've got listening ears though. In summary if I visit Nairobi again..I just might stay in Kipepeo....(Oh I almost forgot..for your own good/safety, they wouldn't allow you bring up ladies to the rooms but if you insist, they must have and deposit a valid ID at the front desk...kinda nice...plus they are very security-conscious..nice too)

Room Tip: Prefer rooms not overlooking the main street and please don't stay on the topmost floor..except...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Egwumba U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I splashed out on Kipepeo at the end of my last trip to Nairobi, where I usually stay at a budget place closeby. Kipepeo is solidly in the 3 star bracket with clean and nicely decorated rooms. Rooms and bathrooms are a bit on the small side but in line with room sizes elsewhere in downtown.

Staff were helpful and their restaurant is reasonably priced with good buffet and juices. Note that this hotel is in DOWNTOWN Nairobi, which some overseas visitors may find hectic. The hotel is ideally placed for transit and arrival/departure by bus. Note that rates can get expensive in high season.

Room Tip: Rooms either face into the atrium or to the main street but windows are reasonably sound proofed so...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank globetrotteuse75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Central Business District
Decasa Hotel
Decasa Hotel
#101 of 167 in Nairobi
52 reviews
Kima Hotel
#128 of 167 in Nairobi
30 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Marble Arch Hotel
Marble Arch Hotel
#62 of 167 in Nairobi
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Central Business District
The Clarion Hotel
The Clarion Hotel
#92 of 167 in Nairobi
49 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Sunrise Hotel
Sunrise Hotel
#129 of 167 in Nairobi
44 reviews
Kenya Comfort Hotel
#69 of 167 in Nairobi
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kipepeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kipepeo

Address: River Rd, opposite bank of africa next to eastmatt, Nairobi 75362, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 167 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range: £28 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kipepeo 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kipepeo is the flagship of the Kipepeo Group of Hotels, all offering accommodation and services at budget prices, comprising Hotel Kipepeo and Hotel Mariposa, both situated in the rapidly growing downtown section of Nairobi, while Kipepeo Avenue House is located in the heart of Nairobi's Central Business District.Hotel Kipepeo comprises 56 letting rooms which may be booked online, bar and a la carte restaurant. It is five minutes' walk from the Central Business District.All rooms are equipped with power showers and mosquito netting, computerised door locks, digital safes,satellite tv and CCTV enhanced security.Reception operates 24 hours and free wi-fi internet is available. The restaurant offers both international and local cuisine.The hotel has partnered with Spanish Express Coach services, offering a direct service to Mombasa which may be booked from within the hotel. The coach departs daily from the front of the hotel.Hotel Mariposa is situated five minutes' walk away from Hotel Kipepeo. It comprises 16 letting rooms and full bar and restaurant services. Free wi-fi internet is available.Hotel Mariposa also provides all the conference facilities of the Kipepeo Group of Hotels through several halls ranging from small meetings to major presentations. All halls are equipped with full digital screen services and any specialised equipment needed may be ordered in advance.The hotel also offers small lounges for hire for private meetings, with dedicated waiter service.In house manicure and pedicure services are offered on selected days of the week.Hotel Mariposa has partnered with Spanish Express Coach Services to Mombasa. The coaches, which may be booked at Hotel Kipepeo, depart from outside Hotel Mariposa.For guests staying at Hotels Kipepeo and Mariposa but working in the Central Business District, Kipepeo Avenue House offers full restaurant services and business lunches at competitive prices. Free wi-fi internet is available.Avenue House is situated opposite the New Stanley Hotel on Kenyatta Avenue.All three Kipepeo Hotels offer a changing mix of live entertainment on a nightly basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HostelWorld, Jovago.com, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kipepeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing