We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favorite meal in Lamu” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Olympic Resturant

Olympic Resturant
Ranked #15 of 20 Restaurants in Lamu Island
Cuisines: African, Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My favorite meal in Lamu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

Great Indian food at a great price. The owner of the Jambo House, Arnold, told us about the value. Although I was a bit skeptical about this restaurant at first it proved to be excellent. Check it out if you can.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Billy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    10
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Tasty fish curries”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

freshly cooked food but the place is extremely basic. Right by the harbour front so pleasantly cool. We placed our order and went to the hotel next door for a beer as alchoholis not available. It made for a pleasant supper.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Food good, service bad”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

Took aaaaaaaages to come but was good once it did. We were so tired by the time it came we barely finished it but had i been hungry would have been great

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JamesBelgrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

Their Chicken biriani was good, I enjoyed every bite yum yum, and the juice wow!
I loved their food, yum yum yum yum

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Namz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ningbo, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Generous portions and relaxed environment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

We ate at Olympic restaurant on our first evening in Lamu, and kept coming back. The fish kebabs and coconut fish with coconut rice (both not on the menu -- but ask for them!) were delicious. The Swahili crab was fresh (we saw it alive) and huge. We also really enjoyed the mixed fruit juice (we added coconut); it was filling enough to call a lunch. The family that runs the restaurant is friendly, especially the woman, who even gave us extras such as vegetables on the side and fruit for dessert.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank guianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Olympic Resturant also viewed

Lamu Island, Coast Province
Lamu Island, Coast Province
 
Lamu Island, Coast Province
Lamu Island, Coast Province
 
Lamu Island, Coast Province
Lamu Island, Coast Province
 

Been to Olympic Resturant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing