We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it doesn't get any better...”
Review of Mkoko House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lamu Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mkoko House
Ranked #9 of 34 Lamu Island B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Mkoko House is one of the most serene and quiet places in one of the most beautiful spots on earth - which means it doesn't really really get any better than that! Over the years, the plants have grown, Idi has become a pretty proficient cook and the place runs like clockwork. Truly perfect for nature and peace loving guests!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank verotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2011

We wanted a really relaxing break somewhere lovely after a couple of weeks on the road around Kenya. Mkoko House turned out to be the perfect choice! Really peaceful, in a secluded location and a warm welcome. We were well looked after by Idi, who is also a wonderful cook! The whole stay was made so easy for us and was worth every shilling - a lovely place.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morro_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2011

This is a lovely lovely guesthouse. A real sense of space and culture within the guesthouse itself- with a marvellous in-house cook and helper- Idi. We stayed for 2 days and it could have been all week, gladly.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jameshannay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2010

We spent two nights in Mkoko house in December 2010.
This was of my best weekends ever: the island is a dream, people are friendly and Mkoko house was just the place to be to enjoy all of it at the uttermost.
Mkoko is a very nice eco-house that made us feel at ease and relaxed since the very first moment. Moreover, Idi, the guy in charge of managing the place and our excellent cook, took care of us and helped with whatever we were in need for.
The price is absoultely affordable and we would strongly recommend mkoko to anybody willing to have nice time in Manda and Lamu islands.
AAA+++++++++!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank undersleeping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2010

i spent 4 nights here in mid November 2010 - having spent the last several months in Nairobi i couldn't imagine a place quieter and more relaxing. Fly 540 dropped me on the other side of Manda and a boat (arranged by Mkoko house) picked me up to take me across to the house (still on Manda just on the other side). The service was excellent, house was beautiful (and very clean), beach was basically our own, and there was a bar/restaurant also if we didn't manage to buy an enormous fish on the beach for dinner. Lamu town (and Shela) are a boat ride away for shopping and exploring, but i was very happy to return back to Manda and enjoy the peace and quiet. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnMarie083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

I stayed at Mkoko House for 4 nights in August. I was a bit suspicious of all the positive reviews - but it really did live up to all of them. It was SO much nicer being on Manda island than Lamu (I tried both) - it was dead silent at night and we got woken up only by the dawn chorus in the mornings...the place was spotless, and really well designed, and we spent most of our time hanging out at the many seating areas, looking out over the mangroves.

It was also a bargain, as the price includes a chef who cooks all your meals - you just pay him the market price. Compared to other luxury resorts on the island, it was affordable and more interesting. Idi was the cook, gardener, cleaner and all round great guy. I would recommend this place to anyone! (But not everyone as I kind of want to keep it to myself...)

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Management_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2010

We had a wonderful, relaxing stay at Mkoko house which is in a stunning location on the edge of the mangroves on Manda Island.

It is beautiful (built in traditional swahili style) as well as spacious and comfortable, with a large, pretty garden and plenty of hammocks to lull you to sleep after a fresh seafood lunch. It's worth going if only for spectacular sunsets from the first floor balcony!

The beach is only a five minute walk from the house and it's only a 10 minute boat ride to Shela beach (and a little further to Lamu) where there are plenty more options for eating and drinking in the evenings.

Altogether a fabulous spot - I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lamu Island hotels
1.0 mi away
Jua House
Jua House
#1 of 6 in Shela
18 reviews
7.7 mi away
Kizingo
Kizingo
#3 of 10 in Lamu Island
123 reviews
3.1 mi away
Jannat House
Jannat House
#4 of 10 in Lamu Island
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Red Pepper House
The Red Pepper House
#6 of 10 in Lamu Island
12 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kijani Hotel
Kijani Hotel
#2 of 10 in Lamu Island
127 reviews
1.0 mi away
Banana House & Wellness Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mkoko House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mkoko House

Address: Ras Kitau, Lamu Island, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Lamu Island
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Lamu Island
Price Range: £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the beaches, the warm coastal hospitality, the delicious Swahili cuisine, and the peaceful and quiet surroundings of the house. Fully indulge in everything the Lamu archipelago has to offer and you will be sure to fall in love with this little gem. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing