We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food”

Peponi Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 20 Restaurants in Lamu Island
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We didn't stay here but spent at least some part of everyday here having a drink or eating from their delicious menu. The bar service can be a little slow, but hey, your on holidays - there's no rush!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Idocarealot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    50
    11
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ballito, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Superb Swahili Style Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

The seafood dishes are fresh and delectably spiced, while the oysters are always a firm favorite. The tiny cups of coffee and delicate sweet meat (Haluwa) are a clear indication of the Arab influence of Lamu Island.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank TourismTattler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An excellent experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We ate here 3 times over our weekend in Lamu, all three times the staff were friendly and never missed a beat.

The food was excellent also, certainly the best seafood I've had in East Africa. Try the ceviche or may be the king fish tortillas.

Plus some beautiful views and relaxed atmosphere

Helpful?
Thank Lukus_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barcelona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Beautiful location but the Terrace-Restaurant service is deplorable and the food as well. Bad management !

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank lisagBarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delectable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stopped here for lunch one day and I must tell you I am a food critic, but this lunch was so good I almost want to plan a vacation around staying at Peponi's. Everything on the menu was wonderful. I had the Mangrove crab in ginger sauce, which was to die for! Another had clams, some samosas, some pasta, and every dish was superb. Of course we had to try dessert and this is another reason I would like to go back there. The coffee ice-cream they make at Peponi's was so good, I want to try making it at home, but know it won't be as good. This restaurant is well worth a boat trip to the island of Lamu.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KatmaiKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Peponi Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Lamu Island, Coast Province
Lamu Island, Coast Province
 
Lamu Island, Coast Province
Lamu Island, Coast Province
 
Lamu Island, Coast Province
Lamu Island, Coast Province
 

Been to Peponi Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing