We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“African Oriental Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Baitil Aman Guest House
Ranked #11 of 32 Lamu Island B&B and Inns
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“African Oriental Charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

We stayed 3 nights in BAitil Aman Guest House and it was a great experience, although the hotel doesn't have sea view but the staff is extremely kind, please to help, though they are not many, the check out rules were flexible and the house and its interior design have a lot of charm and elegance : rooms are large and have terrace, the roof terrace is a dream. The location is only a few minutes from the beach in Shela and it still feel as a guest house and not as one western aseptised hotel. The prices were also reasonnable after bargainning a deal for the 3 nights. I will recommend this hotel to any one going to Lamu

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EPA75116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Baitil Aman is a very nice hotel on Lamu's Shela beach. It is not a far walk from the empty 12km stretch of beach that is Shela. It is a beautiful old Swahili style building. We stayed in one of the top rooms and it was very large and had a lounger inside as well as a huge bed. There was always hot water when we were there and the views from the roof top were amazing. The welcome drink was a nice touch and the manager was very friendly, We were picked up from the hotel on time and taken by boat to the hotel at no additional charge.

I would have to say that I agree with other reviews that Baitil Aman was overpriced. Although it was the high season I think the rooms need to be repainted. For the price I would have expected a pool. We were one of two couples staying at the hotel, and the manager was a bit too eager to sell us a dow trip, but that might just be becuase tourism has suffered these days.

We really enjoyed eating in the restaurant at street level, there is a lot of activity and the restaurant on the roof is excellent. The fresh juices were delicious and we enjoyed having the roof top to ourselves at night and watching the stars.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor to catch the breeze on hot nights and for the ensuite bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyB32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

Baitil Aman was a perfect end to a trip around Africa. We were amazed by the excellent hospitality, charm, ambience and amazing architecture. The accommodation was clean and well-kept: the fresh flowers in our room and restaurant were a particularly nice touch, as was the icy cold drink on arrival. The room was spacious with a nice breeze and it was great to be able to see outside the window to similarly designed Swahili architecture. The bed was large and comfortable, with a mosquito net and our room included a daybed as well. The staff were so helpful - responding quickly to our requests and providing useful information about tours and activities. The location was lovely, a short boat ride from the main town, and a few minute walk from the beach. The hotel restaurant served excellent, affordable food - we recommend the seafood dishes. The lime juice drink was delicious! Pepponi's was a great nearby place to eat - with fantastic seafood dishes and chocolates for dessert, as well as great atmosphere. Overall, Baitil Aman was a fantastic place to stay - definitely a highlight of our trip!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2010

we were blown away by the incredible beautiful design of this very old townhouse in shela. and all of it appears to be incredible authentic swahili design.
the house is very beautiful, the design touches a real treat, and the rooms themselves are gorgeous.
the location is great: 5 min walk from the beautiful nearby beach and the great peponis restaurant / bar.
the area in shela around the house is beautiful too.
only flipside is noise of mosque for 10 mins in the early hours but that's something you will quickly get used to - and adds to the experience.
highly recommend it. incredible value too. and very lovely relaxed staff - in fact the whole island is nice and chilled out people!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danielj56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2010

It was the guesthouse we wantet to have.
A very stylish, puristic Swahili place
Very clean, very nice and gentle people
Try the massage
The restaurant is good, but a dinner highlight go to Peponi (excellent seafood)

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwuestn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2010

We stayed here for 4 days in August 2010. After a month of travelling around Kenya this was our final stop! The guest house was very beautiful, it was like staying in a museum. The old palace has been nicely restored and the rooms were simple but nicely decorated! We stayed in the rooftop room which had an amazing view of Shela village and a lovely breeze. It had a mosque next door and we were awoken with the morning prayer every morning. The hotel offers a roof top restaurant were you sit on cushions on the floor and have a candle lit meal under the stars. We had dinner there (prawn curry), although we suspected it was made from frozen prawns. The next morning, myself and my partner were woken up with severe food poisoning. This lasted for 2 days and we were very disappointed that the hotel food had ruined the last couple of days of our holiday in such an amazing place!
i would recommend staying here as it is such a beautiful enchanting place but i would recommend avoiding the food. Peponi hotel serves very nice food located on the seafront.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_travelfiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

This perfect guest house, in the style of the old Swahili palaces in Shela, is more of an experience than a hotel. I stayed here with a friend, but it would be the perfect romantic getaway for a couple. The rooms are gorgeous, large, and clean, and the staff is amazingly friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend having dinner there at least one night, because the chef cooks the best food I had in Shela and the rooftop restaurant is gorgeous. The location is perfect, a 5 minute walk from the quiet, beautiful beach. I was sad to leave the place and the people!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dnsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamu Island
0.9 mi away
Jannat House
Jannat House
#4 of 10 in Lamu Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kijani Hotel
Kijani Hotel
#3 of 10 in Lamu Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Majlis Hotel
The Majlis Hotel
#1 of 1 in Manda Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Banana House & Wellness Centre
0.6 mi away
JamboHouse
JamboHouse
#1 of 32 in Lamu Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.6 mi away
Subira House
Subira House
#5 of 32 in Lamu Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baitil Aman Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baitil Aman Guest House

Property: Baitil Aman Guest House
Address: Shela, Lamu Island, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Lamu Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Lamu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baitil Aman Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baitil Aman is a spacious old palace that has been carefully renovated into a small luxurious guest house and restaurant. It is located in the center of Shela village on Lamu Island overlooking a beautiful garden. Dinner at the rooftop of the hotel under the stars is highly recommended. The beach is five minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Baitil Aman Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing