We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome is an understatement”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of JamboHouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
JamboHouse
Ranked #1 of 32 Lamu Island B&B and Inns
Eldoret, Rift Valley, Kenya
1 review
“Awesome is an understatement”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

i stayed with a friend here (I am Kenyan and she is American) over easter holidays. Arnold is the reason why you have to stay at jambo guest house, very friendly and passionate about travel. He was helpful in having us get the best places to eat at and get our moneys value, had trusted associates for the dhow trips that were reasonable in price, and the rooms were clean safe and comfortable...

I had my first snorkeling experience here and will definitely be back....

Good Job Arnold and team...

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giriama, Owner at JamboHouse, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Hi Judy, thank you for your review. Yes, I do like traveling so much and over the last few years I traveled all over Kenya - it's a beautiful country. And so, I could also give our guests a lot of information about other places to go or to stay in Kenya. When I have time I also explore other places in Lamu/Lamu Archipelago and so we have a some very interesting walking tours/activities what other guesthouses don't offer. We hope to see you again in the future. Karibu Lamu!! All the best. ARNOLD, Damaris and Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    35
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
56
33
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vantaa, Southern Finland, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

Rooms are clean and simple, breakfast was excellent. Roof terrace was cosy. With this price, I think its very hard to find a place as good as this. Arnold was nicest and most helpful guy, we were not his easiest customers but he showed us a lot of trust and helped us. That loyalty really made our holiday special. Sheila is more clean and more sterile than Lamu town, but if you are an adventurer who really wants to find out what this island is all about, I think Jambo house is excellent place for that.

Thanks Arnold,

-Tuulikki and Lasse

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuulikki V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giriama, Owner at JamboHouse, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Hi Tuulikki, Hi Lasse, thank you for staying with us. It was our pleasure to have you as our guests. Sometimes some things in Lamu doesn't work perfectly (you know what I mean...) and we try to help our guests as much as possible. You were really easy guests, absolutely no problem.
Lamu Town is UNESCO Wold Heritage Site and its culture makes Lamu unique. And Shela Beach is easy to reach by boat in 20 minutes. It's realaxing and you could take nice pictures of seafront. We wish you all the best, and hopefully, you get a nice finnish summer. ARNOLD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Stayed 5 days on return to Lamu after 38 years!
As others have said , Arnold and the staff could not have been friendlier, more helpful or welcoming. His advice helped us get the most from our visit and those cold Tuskers from the ice box at dusk on the roof terrace will keep us going through this freezing Scottish winter.
Highly recommended
Thank you Arnold
Alan and Alex

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giriama, Owner at JamboHouse, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Dear Alex, dear Alan, thank you for taking your time to write this review about JamboHouse. We already had some guests who visited Lamu first time during the 70ies. And all of them enjoyed Lamu again. We work with very knowledgeable guides. And we have a very nice rooftop terrace to relax, to chat with other guests from JamboHouse, to enjoy free coffee/tea or a cold drink (or two!). We hope, everything will go well and we'll see you again in the near future. In the meantime, enjoy Edinburgh. It's a great place where you are living. All the best & greetings from JamboHouse Team ARNOLD, Damaris and Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

Rooms are simple but very clean, breakfast is served at the wonderful roof-terrace and is excellent, at night you can drink a cold tusker on the rooftop watching the stars from the sunbeds... you get really good value for your money at jambohouse! especially the service is unbeatable: staff picks you up for free from the airport/bus station (a thing you really appreciate considering all the touts waiting for tourists), rooms are cleand every day and especially the owner Arnold provides you with every information you possibly could need (restaurants, tours, things you better avoid, etc.). they supply you with a free map and for a small deposit with a flashlight for the narrow streets too. Arnold can arrange anything you want: henna tattos, massages, tours, dinner with local people, etc. we booked the tour to the takwa ruins and it was great value!
only downsides: rooms are really noisy - bring ear plugs or otherwise you won't sleep! i had the feeling that people on the streets were passing through my room! also beds are quite small (120 cm) - if you are not a couple they may be too small for two people!
all in all i would definitely go back!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duende24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giriama, Owner at JamboHouse, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Thank you for you review and thank you for having you as our guests. I just realized, when I wanted to reply to your review I slipped one line below and replied to the wrong review. Sorry.
To make the start for our guests as convenient as possible we wait for our guests on mainland or at Manda Airport.
The time you were here it was just a few days before election day and people did a lot of campaigning with singing, drums. There was a lot of additional noise in town.
We are looking forward to see you again at JamboHouse.


All the best,
ARNOLD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

The most expensive room (2400 Ksh) was quite nice, with a
small balcony and windows on three sides which gave it an
airy feeling. Smaller rooms looked to me a little bit dark and
stuffy.
The house itself, located in the maze of streets behind the fort,
boasts a nice terrace on the top floor. An excellent breakfast
is served here in the morning and tea and coffee are freely
available in the afternoon.
People who insist on hot water should avoid this place; but
rest assured: the cold water on this tropical island is quite
bearable.
Arnold, the nice German owner, and his excellent staff will do
their utmost to make your stay here an enjoyable and
memorable one.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karvam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giriama, Owner at JamboHouse, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Dear karvam, thank you for your review. We upgraded the room you were staying in just one year ago. It's bigger than the other rooms and has a private balcony. Most of the time of the year tap water is quite warm because we have the water tanks on top of the roof. Most of the guesthouses in Lamu don't have hot water. Just today I came back from a trip to Seychelles and I was happy to have warm water on Mahe Island (water was coming from the mountains) but In Lamu our fresh water comes from the sand dunes. Greetings from Lamu Island. All the best!! ARNOLD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

Consider this 6 reviews. I just got back from a visit with my family and we occupied the upper floor of Jambo House for 4 nights.

I must say that Lamu is changing, but Jambo House is as awesome as ever. Arnold is the same, charming, helpful guide/host/friend as always. Breakfast is awesome (best eggs ever) and you can't beat the location or the price. Being a bit away from the main street is really nice. The smell is abated, it's less noisy in the mornings, and being farther away makes the whole experience feel a lot more authentic.

Arnold, thanks so much for another awesome stay. We hope to be back again really soon!

Room Tip: Matandoni is the best room, in my opinion
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cajang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giriama, Owner at JamboHouse, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Dear cajang, thank you very much for your review. We try to keep our good standards so that our guests can fully enjoy their stay with us. Lamu is changing but it's still a great place. We already had some guests who visited Lamu first time during the 70ies (of course not at JamboHouse; we are operating since end of October 2008) and when they came back to Lamu recently they said not much changed and it's still the same relaxed place. Myself I'm also enjoying to be in Lamu.
Thank you again for staying with us and we hope you could make it again to stay with us before you are going back home. All the best from JamboHouse Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witten
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

We stayed for 10 days at JamboHouse - after 2 days we wanted to extend our stay because Lamu is a great place and JamboHouse is very good guest house. There is everything you need: a clean bed- and bathroom, a nice roof terrace where you can meet other guests, good breakfast and very friendly staff. The price-performance ratio is very good. We were very content with our choice!
Laura and Johanna

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giriama, Owner at JamboHouse, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Dear Johanna, thank you for your review. Quite a lot of our guests extend their stay because they like Lamu (and JamboHouse) so much. We are looking forward to see you again in April. Best wishes from JamboHouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamu Island
0.3 mi away
Jannat House
Jannat House
#4 of 10 in Lamu Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kijani Hotel
Kijani Hotel
#3 of 10 in Lamu Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Majlis Hotel
The Majlis Hotel
#1 of 1 in Manda Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Banana House & Wellness Centre
0.1 mi away
Subira House
Subira House
#5 of 32 in Lamu Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lamu House Hotel
Lamu House Hotel
#3 of 32 in Lamu Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JamboHouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JamboHouse

Property: JamboHouse
Address: PO Box 131, Lamu Island 80500, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Lamu Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Lamu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In JamboHouse we provide in our 5 friendly in Lamu Style furnished rooms an enjoyable stay at reasonable rates. All our rooms (with mosquito net & ceiling fan) have private bathrooms. JamboHouse is ideally located to explore the Old Town of Lamu. From there it’s just a three minute walk through narrow lanes to Town Square with Lamu Fort. When you book JamboHouse we wait for you at the airport or at the bus terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your JamboHouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing