We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very decent basic hostel with a lovely host in Lamu town”
Review of JamboHouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
JamboHouse
Ranked #1 of 32 Lamu Island B&B and Inns
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very decent basic hostel with a lovely host in Lamu town”
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights at Jambo house. We were welcomed by Arnold with a nice fresh juice on the cute rooftop terrace. He gives you a lot of information and tips.

The rooms are very basic, but clean and provided with what you need. The bed was a bit small though, but we just came from a 4 nights stay at a private 3 storey house in Lamu, so it is off course not fair to compare.

The breakfast was very good, especially when you think of what we have paid for our room. (€12,50 p.n.p.p). On the terrace you can find a cooler with sodas and bags of crisp that you can take. You just write down what you took and you pay when you leave.

The location is very central and safe, Arnold even provides you with a torch for the night (Lamu town can be very dark at night and also with a possible powercut in mind)

If you are on a budget, this is a very nice option.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tahnee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    36
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
56
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

If you ever thought it would be great to open your own guest house in one of your favourite places then you should go to Jambo House for inspiration. Arnold has used his extensive experience as a traveller to provide a five star service at budget prices and he is dedicated to constantly improving your enjoyment. Its in a fairly quiet location at the back of town where you can wake up to the joyful sound of the children going to school and where you get to know the local people as you meander through the alleyways at any time of day or night. There is so much more than just staying at the beach, which you can get to for 100 shillings on a nice boat ride in any event. Thank you Arnold.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harare Province, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Jambo house is spotlessly clean and has very friendly staff. Arnold, the owner can arrange the best and cheapest tours to go on. The breakfast that comes with the price of the room is a great way to start the day. Lots of fruit and omlettes with tea and coffee. Actually the chap who makes breakfast is a great cook, and had no trouble loading extra chillies onto it for me!

My bed was very comfortable and room was cleaned on a daily basis. Arnold also gave me great tips on where to go on my trip down further south to Malawi.

I would wholeheartedly recommend the Jambo Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Arnold, who runs Jambo House is a traveller and he understands that you want good, clean, affordable accomodation and want to spend your money on experiences rather than frills. He and his staff look after you extremely well, from meeting you on arrival and getting you orientated, to helping organise your experience of Lamu if you want him to. I loved the location, not on the sea front, but tucked away amoung the bustle of Lamu peoples' lives, with the chatter and call to prayer as part of the day and night. The rooms provide everything you need and are kept very clean, changing towels and linen regularly. There is a great terrace on the roof top too. When I come back to Lamu, I will definitely stay here again. I highly recommend the walking tour of the old town and swahili town with Abas as a starter to your visit. Many thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor, if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

This is a no frills budget hotel however it does provide a very good value for money.

The owner gives you a welcome drink on your arrival and provided a helpful map of Lamu. They can arrange trips etc and were helpful in advising what we should pay for taxi boats.

The room was basic but provided anything we needed. And there was a lovely terrace where you can watch the sun set over the town. The only downside was that our bathroom wasn't on suit although it was still private.

If I was to return to Lamu I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mus2ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giriama, Owner at JamboHouse, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear Mark A, thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay at JamboHouse but I want to clarify one thing. We have three different types of rooms: 1 double room with integrated bathroom and private balcony, two double rooms with integrated bathrooms and two double rooms with private bathroom (not shared) but outside the room. You decided to book this room.
We wish you all the best & welcome again.
Greetings from JamboHouse-Team Lamu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
136 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This is a very late review, but I was in Lamu early this year, in March 2013. I was doing a overland trip to Kenya at the time, and I decided to visit Lamu. Jambo house seemed a perfect fit, and it didn't disappoint. I know it's been said a million times here, but the owner Arnold is very helpful and very kind. He can basically arrange everything you'll want to do in Lamu. The place itself was pretty good too. Only downside is that there's no A/C, and wireless internet signal is kind of weak(maybe only in my room), but other than that, it's all great, for the price you're paying.

Some say they don't like it because it's in the middle of old town, and beaches are far away, but for me if you want beaches you should visit some other islands. The thing I loved the most about Lamu was its amazing people, its old architectures, and their culture. So to be in the middle of it all, it was just very fun and enjoyable. Arnold was very helpful in my stay there. If I ever go back to Lamu, I know Jambo house will be where I go again. Thanks for pleasant memories.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kchae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I visited Lamu in early Oct. and spent two nights in Jambohouse.

The facility is basic but value for money. The room is not luxury, but clean and cozy. It's enjoyable to sit on the terrace drinking Kenya coffee with cool breeze blowing from the sea.

Arnold the owner is warm-hearted and responsible. He knows Lamu very well and arranged very good old town excursion and dhow trip for us. He help to buy the bus tickets to Mombasa and choose the front seats. He is more like a friend.

Room Tip: If you prefer quiet room, don't choose those on ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catcatyue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giriama, Owner at JamboHouse, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear catcatyue, thank you for staying at JamboHouse and we are happy you and your parents enjoyed your stay with us. Unfortunately, you didn't have so much time in Lamu but we tried (and obviously managed it) to arrange a good program for you to enjoy Lamu as much as possible during your stay.
Right now, we are upgrading rooms: we already put additional garment racks and hangers (locally made) in every room, we also did already some small changes in another room and for the rooms on the ground floor we will install soundproof windows. This should be done during this coming weekend.
We wish you all the best & hope to see you again in Lamu and at JamboHouse.
ARNOLD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamu Island
0.3 mi away
Jannat House
Jannat House
#5 of 10 in Lamu Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kijani Hotel
Kijani Hotel
#3 of 10 in Lamu Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Majlis Hotel
The Majlis Hotel
#1 of 1 in Manda Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Banana House & Wellness Centre
0.1 mi away
Subira House
Subira House
#4 of 32 in Lamu Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lamu House Hotel
Lamu House Hotel
#3 of 32 in Lamu Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JamboHouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JamboHouse

Property: JamboHouse
Address: PO Box 131, Lamu Island 80500, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Lamu Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Lamu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In JamboHouse we provide in our 5 friendly in Lamu Style furnished rooms an enjoyable stay at reasonable rates. All our rooms (with mosquito net & ceiling fan) have private bathrooms. JamboHouse is ideally located to explore the Old Town of Lamu. From there it’s just a three minute walk through narrow lanes to Town Square with Lamu Fort. When you book JamboHouse we wait for you at the airport or at the bus terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com, Odigeo, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your JamboHouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing