We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Perfect”
Review of Peponi Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lamu Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Peponi Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Lamu Island
Certificate of Excellence
Solana Beach, San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simply Perfect”
Reviewed 13 April 2011

This was our second trip to Lamu and Peponi, but our first with the children. It is a wonderful place and a true gem made by the owners, management and great staff and location.

Owner properties are hard to find these days and should be treasured. The hotel is quirky and full of character.

Some of the old negative reviews are very extreme and were written by people who never stayed at the hotel but popped in for a meal or drink. The hotel really protects and pampers its resident guests so you have your own bar, a private restaurant and gardens. This keep you away from the busy local bar. Those visitors probably felt shut out, I guess they should have paid to stay.

It was 10 years from our first visit, to our second and if anything it was even better the second time. How many hotels and restaurant can be that consistent?

If you want uniform rooms, with numbers on the door and a chain hotel, that gives you mileage points and bland food and ambiance, this is not the place for you.

It you like unique, different, exclusive, adventure and remote unspoilt locations and fantastic fun and a friendly hotel then you have come to the right place.

We cannot wait to go back and we rarely go back to the same place.

.

Room Tip: Superior Rooms are worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScottDunnJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    33
    6
    7
    7
See reviews for
42
98
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NH
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2011

I last visited Lamu--and stayed at Peponi-- in 2007 with my wife and kids which was a fantastic stay. This visit in November 2010 was with my 86 year-old father. I re-read my review and found it almost possible to just write "ditto". From the greeting at the airport, to the motorized Dhow ride to the hotel, to the personal greeting and sitting on the veranda with a complimentary drink discussing our needs while at the hotel, it is a warm welcome feeling. Again, the never aging Carol (owner with her husband Lars) is on top of every detail and quietly made sure that our needs met. We opted for the water front room--hours in the hammock listening to the waves and dhows go by. meals on top under a full moon--still the best crab dishes in the world are here-- slow walks to the beach and into Shella town, the island still does not disappoint even though it has become a bit of an international "must see"--and a long way from the hidden gem it was on my first visit in 1983. Large developments across the bay with lights blaring all night a reminder that not all development is good development--yet Peponi has kept its magic. Months later there are days I dream of just sitting on the veranda or overlooking the pool. That should say it all!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank exBostonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2011

You cannot beat Peponi when it comes to ambiance, view, location, lounging and eating the best food in Kenya. We love Peponi and our meals and evenings at the bar there are always lovely and memorable. You will not be disappointed!

Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CheShale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Arenas, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2011

After two weeks on Safari my husband surprised me with a a three day retreat to Peponi's. We changed our flights home and stayed a week. Everything was perfect and fell in love within our first five minutes of arrival. Sitting on the balcony sipping our drinks and indulging ourselves on sashimi and oysters we felt like we could never return to our lives...and we live in the tropics in an area that many call paradise. Our room was incredibly clean and the bed was more comfortable than mine at home. Waking to the morning call to prayer is something we will always remember, truly beautiful. The hosts and staff were beyond accommodating and friendly, and we knew that anything we needed or any question we had would be tended to with warm personal attention. The food..we gained weight! It was amazing, mouth watering and always plentiful. We still speak of our time here on a regular basis and recommend it to everyone! Although this review comes very late, thanks to everyone at Peponi's that helped make the couple from Costa Rica have an amazing 40th 50th birthday and unwind after two weeks on safari bouncing around a car and sleeping tents! The perfect place!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandpiperCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2011

We spent 3 days at Peponi in Jan and it was the best experience we have had in Africa.We have travelled from Australia 11 times to Africa and the food, yes the crab dish was outstanding.We could not fault anything with this hotel and think the bad review must have stayed at another hotel.Managment, staff .location and rooms and food the best.We are going back next year for a longer period .

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronnie081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2011

I have always envied people who had their favorite hotel in the world. A place to return to and to dream of. As many other I have visited many hotels over the years but I haven't found my favorite hotel - the special place. Until now! Now I know what it's like to have a favorite hotel. Thank you all, Carroll, Lars and Adrew! See you again in October!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MortenChristensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2011

I cannot believe that one of the reviewers can qualify this hotel as "bad"??? Did he really visited the same hotel? This hotel is so unique and charming and has the best cuisine in Africa I ever tasted! Not only the seafood is great (especially the dressed crab: huge portion for a unbelievable interesting price - compared to European prices) but everything we ordered was just great. We had a wonderful room with splendid view (the ocean just in front and at the backside of the room: the village). If you prefer a charming small hotel with excellent service to the big tourist hotels at the Kenyan coast, this is the place to be!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liliLeuven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamu Island
2.3 mi away
Jannat House
Jannat House
#4 of 10 in Lamu Island
47 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Majlis Hotel
The Majlis Hotel
#1 of 1 in Manda Island
190 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Red Pepper House
The Red Pepper House
#6 of 10 in Lamu Island
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kijani Hotel
Kijani Hotel
#3 of 10 in Lamu Island
114 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lamu Palace Hotel
Lamu Palace Hotel
#7 of 10 in Lamu Island
33 reviews
7.5 mi away
Kizingo
Kizingo
#2 of 10 in Lamu Island
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peponi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peponi Hotel

Property: Peponi Hotel
Address: Box 24, Lamu Island, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Lamu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Lamu Island
Hotel Class:4 star — Peponi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Peponi Hotel Lamu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing