We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE Place to Stay in Lamu”
Review of Peponi Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lamu Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Peponi Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Lamu Island
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“THE Place to Stay in Lamu”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Despite the fact there are now a couple of fairly luxurious hotels in Shella and across the channel on Manda Island, Peponi is still THE place to stay in Lamu. I have been to Peponi a number of times, and the trip we took this month was by far the best. The food, though always good, has gotten even better. Try the ginger crab and the tempura calamari - out of this world.
Though there has been some bad publicity due to the kidnapping of tourists, every effort has been made to ensure Lamu is protected. The police now have speedboats and the entrance to the channel is guarded by the Kenya Navy, making Lamu probably the safest place to visit in Kenya right now.

Room Tip: It's worth the extra to get a superior room, with private terrace and gorgeous views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianaDalek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    32
    6
    7
    6
See reviews for
42
98
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
215 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We camped here as we were on a Self drive safari. What a great place to stay. We were camped by the beach with a great view. Had our own little shelter with light and electricity and loungers. Nice and quiet. The pool was the cleanest pool we had been at since we started our holiday. The internet was poor but next door you could get internet. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raroboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dursley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

This is a delightful place to spend a few days. It isnt in Lamu town, it's in a village near a long, deserted beach. The rooms are basic but luxurious, big bed, stunning view of the gardens and lots of personal touches (including a kanga to wear for your stay). The service in the bar and restaurant is friendly and laid-back, the whole experience is about winding down and that's the pace here - it's not for people who are in a rush. Lots to see locally, or just get your book, find a hammock and chill out. Beautiful. (travelled in 2007)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east africa
Level Contributor
129 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Peponis is a place you must visit if in Lamu. The owners have been there forever and the bar serves a great cocktail the 'OLD Pal' !
Food is excellent with a new chef ! The wine list could do with an upgrade and some high end wines ! Rooms are comfortable and clean with excellent views. Service is notoriously slow even when the hotel is not full so order well in advance!
Overall its a very enjoyable stay and you are sure to meet some interesting characters in the bar overlooking Manda Island and the Indian Ocean!

Room Tip: Take a deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kuwinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Utterly fantastic. We did think the trip through a bit before going, especially as we have younger children, but decided to go keep to our plans: we had an absolutely  superb stay. Lamu island itself is wonderful, and surprisingly hassle free, and Peponi Hotel itself was one of the best places we've ever had the pleasure of staying at. We felt safe everywhere we went. 

We were met at the airport, and taken by boat to a genuinely warm welcome. The setting is awesome, the beach magnificent and rooms just perfect. Staff knew our names, helped organise everything we wanted to do, and put no pressure on us to use more of the hotel trips than we felt comfortable with. Carol, Lars and Andrew were particularly helpful and the food was first class. 

The final icing on an already splendid cake was the new year's day dhow race - a magnificent spectacle with a real spirit of excitement. 

We know that the Uk suggests caution in travelling here, but going was hugely the right decision. I suspect you're more at risk of mishap driving to the airport than from any local trouble in Lamu.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BMagowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Just back from a 6 night stay at the Peponi in Lamu. It was a great experience. Things feel very safe there, and we did some great snorkelling. The hotel is idyllic. It does not leave you feeling like you are in a garrish, over-touristy hotel, but has all the comforts. It is owned by a family (second generation now running it), and while you have your privacy, it can almost feel like staying in the lavish home of a friend. The staff are exceptional: friendly and capable. The location is the best in the region, with lovely winds, a great beach and close to Shela's amenities. We arrived there with no luggage (Kenyan airways doesn't get such a positive review). The hotel worked all work with their contacts to deal with the missing luggage, and the owner even lent us clothing to get us through. They think through all the possibilities that you may need. The food is outstanding. It was really lovely.
One thing worth noting regarding the recent travel concerns in the region - Shela (and the Peponi) are really well located and the area is well patrolled: by the military, Kenyan police and private security at the hotels, etc. Surprisingly, you don't really notice it (ie you don't feel like you're in some sort of police state), but it also feels very safe.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeyaVancouver_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles, ca
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We visited this hotel a few years ago on the advice of a travel agent to unwind before our Safari. What an amazing place. You arrive by local motor/sail boat after landing at the air field on the nearby mainland. The hotel is owned and operated by a European couple who have been there for decades are well respected for their local involvement. They even run a sea turtle rescue and beach clean-up operation! The employees are all long timers and local offering wonderful personal service. The amazing part is you walk out of the beachfront compound and you are immediately in a Muslim village with no cars, numerous mosques, fascinating mostly non-tourist shops, and wonderful walking opportunities. The larger town is about 20 minutes by foot or there is a water taxi. This town too is fascinating.
The hotel accommodations are excellent, the food exotic and wonderful and the staff first class. A great retreat before or after a safari!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamu Island
2.3 mi away
Jannat House
Jannat House
#5 of 10 in Lamu Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kijani Hotel
Kijani Hotel
#3 of 10 in Lamu Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Majlis Hotel
The Majlis Hotel
#1 of 1 in Manda Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Red Pepper House
The Red Pepper House
#6 of 10 in Lamu Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lamu Palace Hotel
Lamu Palace Hotel
#8 of 10 in Lamu Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
7.5 mi away
Kizingo
Kizingo
#2 of 10 in Lamu Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peponi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peponi Hotel

Property: Peponi Hotel
Address: Box 24, Lamu Island, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Lamu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Lamu Island
Hotel Class:4 star — Peponi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Peponi Hotel Lamu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing