We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Beach Retreat”
Review of Peponi Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lamu Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Peponi Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Lamu Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2012

You could not find a more friendly, relaxing small hotel to stay at. Peponis exceeded all expectations, with outstanding fusion food and cultral activities. Highlights included watching turtles hatching, surfing on a deserted 8km sandy beach and sailing with locals on their dhow boats. The village of Shella was safe, friendly and inviting with lots of little shops to explore. The hotel organised lots of trips and gave the family great confidence in exploring the town of Lamu. The most memorable part was taking a boat out to a tiny coral island where we snorkelled and caught fish and cooked them over hot coals with the help of our guide- a real Robinson Crusoe experience. Mum says this was the best hotel ever and suited our family of five with kids ages 12- 16.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
There are newer reviews for Peponi Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2012 via mobile

We arrived here by default having booked another hotel which had closed down. But, we were so glad we did. We booked a superior room and that gave us a large shady terrace with swing bed, 2 cushioned loungers and corner seating. The room itself had a king size bed and Moorish design bathroom. All the rooms look out onto the Indian Ocean which here is a calm channel separating the Islands of Manda and Lamu. A short walk round the headland opens out onto the Ocean. The beach is fine sand which allows for good and safe swimming. 20 paces fro our room and you are on the beach ready to swim.
Use your time wisely, at sunrise take a brisk walk along the spectacular dune beach and gave a swim to set yourself up for breakfast. Fresh fruits and eggs your way. Take a boat trip to a coral reef, maybe swim with the dolphins(we did) and enjoy lunch at Kinzingo, a straw and twood Makouti shack down at he south point. Then head back via the mangroves.
Your Lamu Town or Shela. Lunch on the roof terrace and siesta on the swing bed under trees, palms or your own terrace.
Dinner is special, have a sundowner on the terrace and order truly delicious fresh fish off the beach. Tuna, snapper, crab, prawns all excellent and entry of it too. We thought that the food was as good as anywhere we have eaten. A real surprise for Kenya. The staff are most pleasant, and Carol the owner will have masses of info for you if what to do and where to go.
You will NOT be disappointed. We loved it. It's not cheap, expect to pay internstional prices, but here you get what you pay for and more.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StringerHub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Fantastic 3 days at Peponi
Definately a great place to spend the last 3 days of a holiday. fantastic rooms, from decor to comfort. Fantastic menus so much to choose from
Great staff. Every effort made to ensure all your needs are met. I weill definately be back

Room Tip: I think all rooms are probaly great
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

What sets Peponi apart from every other hotel is the attention to each person as an individual. Carol (owner) and Andrew (manager) take time each and every day to check in with you, to tell you options for the day in case you should need transportation or want to do something special, if you would like a boat or a guide or a meal in a secluded corner of the garden. They are relaxed, warm, humorous, thoughtful and truly lovely people, keeping a keen eye on the well-being of guests and staff both. The staff is equally as attentive and it was easy to make friends with them across the days. The resulting level of relaxation and pleasure, amid gorgeous rooms and grounds, wandering the alleys of Shela town, floating in the ocean or saltwater pool at sunset, created one of the most amazing, memorable vacations of my lifetime. After my first day there, I wrote to all of my children and told them they must figure out a way to go there for their honeymoons someday...

Room Tip: The newer rooms were lovely - all rooms have some sort of terrace and easy access to the beach and p...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frances3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

This was my second time saying at Peponi and it was just as fabulous as I remembered. The Peponi Hotel is located in the Shela village of Lamu Island, off the Kenyan coast in the Indian Ocean. Family owned and operated, Peponi is a small, intimate place of beauty and luxury. It exists amid a UNESCO world heritage site that dates back to the 1500s, where there are no cars and transportation of every kind happens by boat or donkey. Despite these limitations, it is a place where your every need is catered to with grace and elegance and without shoes. The barman can pour you any cocktail (including an "old pal" which is the specialty of the house) while wearing a kikoy (the traditional swahili skirt worn by both men and women), the sashimi is fresh from the beach front. and the sounds of the ocean and the call to prayer mingle in the breeze. Carol and Andrew and their loyal staff, all with beautiful, smiling faces will lavish you with personal service to rival any Four Seasons. Sunset ride on a dhow with cocktails, no problem. Swahili dinner by moonlight, no problem. Spontaneous birthday celebration, no problem. And then there is Gumbo, the Peponi dog who doesn't miss a chance to swim with you in the pool or in the ocean. Peponi is a place like no other, located in between Shela Village and 6 miles of deserted beach, it hosts a most unique charm. It is truly is a secret haven at the end of the world. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glindah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

This was our first trip to Peponi on Lamu Island, but hopefully, it won't be our last! It was like being in Paradise-- beautiful views of the ocean and wonderfully-designed places to relax and enjoy the view. The food is fabulous, and they will serve it wherever you desire: on your private veranda, by the pool, on a dhow, or wherever. Carol, the owner, makes you feel totally at home and helps you decide which activities you would like to do: birding, taking a dhow to visit the nearby ruins or coral-cutting village, visiting Lamu village, snorkeling, or trying your hand at sailing a traditional dhow. We felt totally safe walking on the beach, as well as walking or taking a boat to the town of Lamu.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have a view of the ocean. Some are more private than others.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kithaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Just a wonderful place to visit and relax. Carol and Lars are great hosts and make you feel right at home. It's such a charming little town nestled in Shela just outside the main town of Lamu. Narrow maze-like alleys you can safely wander around and stumble upon quaint little shops. With no cars on the island, boats, donkeys, and your feet are the mode of transportation. A couple had been married recently and came to Lamu to celebrate with a traditional stick dance. We went into town to watch and they welcomed us and even had us join in to the dance. A great experience topped off by a top notch hotel in a wonderful part of the world! There's no spa but you can get a killer massage for $25 USD!

Room Tip: All the rooms looked equally beautiful!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caliskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamu Island
0.5 mi away
The Majlis Hotel
The Majlis Hotel
#1 of 1 in Manda Island
197 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Red Pepper House
The Red Pepper House
#6 of 10 in Lamu Island
12 reviews
2.3 mi away
Jannat House
Jannat House
#4 of 10 in Lamu Island
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kijani Hotel
Kijani Hotel
#2 of 10 in Lamu Island
125 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lamu Palace Hotel
Lamu Palace Hotel
#8 of 10 in Lamu Island
34 reviews
7.5 mi away
Kizingo
Kizingo
#3 of 10 in Lamu Island
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peponi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peponi Hotel

Address: Box 24, Lamu Island, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Lamu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Lamu Island
Hotel Class:4 star — Peponi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Peponi Hotel Lamu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing