We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly people and great service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Peponi Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lamu Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Peponi Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Lamu Island
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friendly people and great service!”
Reviewed 9 January 2013

I have had a number of dinner at Peponi in the past 2 years while staying elsewhere, but this January I stayed and loved every minute of it. Their dining is an experience that is not to be missed. The owners (Carol and Lars) are at hand to receive and welcome all guests. My group was also very well handled by a hostess, Bi Juma who was very professional.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view (with Manda Island in the background) and waking up to see the sunrise is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmworia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    31
    6
    7
    6
See reviews for
42
97
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

I had to go to Lamu for business and stayed here. It is a really nice laid back place run by a really nice laid back British couple. The location is fantastic, looking out over the water to Manda Island. The food is sublime too, and I think one of the reasons for this place's strong reputation. Lamu itself is a lovely island, with no cars, and quite a bit of history to check out. It also has a fantastic beach and lots of other places to eat and visit. While I was there there was some windsurfing going on, from Peponi across to Manda and back, with a perfect wind. This place is not cheap, but if you want to spoil yourself I would recommend a stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SlowMotionTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

Great. Everything fantastic, hospitality, kindness, good food , accommodation in a beautiful room in the palm yard calm and quite, service efficient, bar full of life and interesting people.
Rates and prices are very good compared to the services offered,
We loved to stay in Peponi for 2 weeks and we are ready to come back next Christmas. Having dinner in your veranda is an experience that we suggest to anyone that want to visit Lamu.
Many many thanks to Carol, Andrew and all the staff for an unforgettable holiday!
Alessandra e Eugenio

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alemanfredi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Lamu is a place straight out of one thousand and one nights and Peponi The place to stay.

It has absolutely beautiful "moroccan" style rooms with a lot of
attention to details. Our superior room no 21 had a large
verandah with a view to die for. Perfect for lazing on one
of the daybeds or swing.

You are treated to a very personalized and attentative service
from the moment you step into Peponi to the minute you
(unfortunately ) have to leave.

The bar with the terrace from where you can see the comings and goings of dhows and donkeys is THE place to meet, the whole of Lamu seems to gather there for drinks.

The "colonial" restaurant, again with a lovely terrace overlooking the channel, is very charming and serves good food (western and swahili/indian style). Food and wines are reasonably priced.

Lamu is a very special place and staying at Peponi made it all the more perfect.

Room Tip: room 21, superior, stunning room and verandah
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thulassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

You could not find a more friendly, relaxing small hotel to stay at. Peponis exceeded all expectations, with outstanding fusion food and cultral activities. Highlights included watching turtles hatching, surfing on a deserted 8km sandy beach and sailing with locals on their dhow boats. The village of Shella was safe, friendly and inviting with lots of little shops to explore. The hotel organised lots of trips and gave the family great confidence in exploring the town of Lamu. The most memorable part was taking a boat out to a tiny coral island where we snorkelled and caught fish and cooked them over hot coals with the help of our guide- a real Robinson Crusoe experience. Mum says this was the best hotel ever and suited our family of five with kids ages 12- 16.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012 via mobile

We arrived here by default having booked another hotel which had closed down. But, we were so glad we did. We booked a superior room and that gave us a large shady terrace with swing bed, 2 cushioned loungers and corner seating. The room itself had a king size bed and Moorish design bathroom. All the rooms look out onto the Indian Ocean which here is a calm channel separating the Islands of Manda and Lamu. A short walk round the headland opens out onto the Ocean. The beach is fine sand which allows for good and safe swimming. 20 paces fro our room and you are on the beach ready to swim.
Use your time wisely, at sunrise take a brisk walk along the spectacular dune beach and gave a swim to set yourself up for breakfast. Fresh fruits and eggs your way. Take a boat trip to a coral reef, maybe swim with the dolphins(we did) and enjoy lunch at Kinzingo, a straw and twood Makouti shack down at he south point. Then head back via the mangroves.
Your Lamu Town or Shela. Lunch on the roof terrace and siesta on the swing bed under trees, palms or your own terrace.
Dinner is special, have a sundowner on the terrace and order truly delicious fresh fish off the beach. Tuna, snapper, crab, prawns all excellent and entry of it too. We thought that the food was as good as anywhere we have eaten. A real surprise for Kenya. The staff are most pleasant, and Carol the owner will have masses of info for you if what to do and where to go.
You will NOT be disappointed. We loved it. It's not cheap, expect to pay internstional prices, but here you get what you pay for and more.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StringerHub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Fantastic 3 days at Peponi
Definately a great place to spend the last 3 days of a holiday. fantastic rooms, from decor to comfort. Fantastic menus so much to choose from
Great staff. Every effort made to ensure all your needs are met. I weill definately be back

Room Tip: I think all rooms are probaly great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamu Island
2.3 mi away
Jannat House
Jannat House
#4 of 10 in Lamu Island
45 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kijani Hotel
Kijani Hotel
#3 of 10 in Lamu Island
113 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Majlis Hotel
The Majlis Hotel
#1 of 1 in Manda Island
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Red Pepper House
The Red Pepper House
#6 of 10 in Lamu Island
11 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lamu Palace Hotel
Lamu Palace Hotel
#8 of 10 in Lamu Island
32 reviews
7.5 mi away
Kizingo
Kizingo
#2 of 10 in Lamu Island
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peponi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peponi Hotel

Property: Peponi Hotel
Address: Box 24, Lamu Island, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Lamu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Lamu Island
Hotel Class:4 star — Peponi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Peponi Hotel Lamu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing