We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't let the sexiness fool you”
Review of Peponi Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lamu Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Peponi Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Lamu Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2010

yes its a lovely place with candle light, ocean views, breezes and eclectic crowds. But the food is expensive, Carol the owner is a bossy control freak to her staff and guests, the bar is crawling with local beach boys hustling tourists, the speed boats are old and the pool is an afterthought. Unless you are part of the UK or European clique of repeat customers, it can be a lonely place as they get preferential treatment to the exclusion of hotel guests.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frolickingtourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2009

Traveled all over the world. 108 countries. Done a lot. Yet the Peponi - not sure why - is an amazing experience. Over 2 months in Africa and the 10 days at Peponi were among the best. It's the Ricks Cafe of East Aftica I am sure. Loved it. Just watching the characters coming through is just a ton of fun. So if you stay 3 days you are a character. If you stay 10, your are part of the woodwork. Its such a unique place. Yea its expensive and I am cheap but this place is definetly worth it. And the people are so nice. Do anything for you. We stayed 10 days and finally after 8 days I insisted they take some payment. or at least a copy of my credit card. I likied it so much this is my second review 11 months later. Cant get the place out of my mind!!!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d2disco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2009

We stayed at Peponi's for 6 nights after our Safari and we had a lovely time. It really is the only place to stay and once you've visited Lamu town you'll be glad to return to Shela. The beach at Shela is amazing - a 12k clean sandy beach which was almost deserted. Peponi is of a very high standard, the rooms seemed to all be different, we booked a superior room which we had to move out of due to some faulty plumbing but we were moved into a honeymoon room with its own sundeck. The first room had a fridge but the second didn't, neither had TV and both had a fan but no aircon. There is limited sun bathing space if you don't have one of the rooms with a deck. The pool is lovely but very shaded, we were there in September and it was very quiet, the hosts were very pleasant and the owner very accommodating. The food is fantastic, the only anomaly is that you have to order what you want for dinner before 5 pm but the choice is excellent. My husband is wheat and dairy intolerant and the owner Carol bought in soya milk and gluten free bread as well as offering to make anything he wanted. She really was excellent, she is very authoritative but extremely pleasant. There isn't a great deal to do on Lamu and we missed being able to sample other hotels or restaurants for lunch or dinner - there really isn't anywhere else to eat apart from Peponi's. Also the standard of Peponi's food is so good that it seems pointless to hunt for another restaurant that probably isn't as good. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Peponi or Lamu if you are looking for a few days relaxation, the only reason we wouldn't return is that there isn't enough for us to see or do on Lamu. Also as there are no roads or cars, transportation is limited, there are 2500 donkeys and the streets in Lamu town are not paved, its quite hot, dusty, smelly (due to open drainage) and a very interesting place but I wouldn't recommend staying in Lamu town....go to Peponi.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJBERTIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2009

My girlfriend and I lived / volunteered in Kenya for a year in a very stressful environment. Our last week in Africa we spent at Peponi with our moms. Peponi exceeded our expectations and took every ounce of stress away. The staff is AMAZING ... so helpful, personable, and attentive. Carol is a wonderful woman who knows how to run a five star establishment. There are very few beaches and settings left in the world like Shela and Peponi. It is simply magical. My girlfriend and I have already decided this is where we want to get married. We have been all over the world and this is the most romantic place we have ever been. Thank you for an unforgettable stay. I hope there will be many more in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank macmartinis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2009

We spent 3 nights here as part of our honeymoon and had an amazingly relaxing and chilled time. It was absolutely perfect.

The whole hotel has lots of little nooks and crannies for you to relax in - either in the sun or the shade. The pool area is gorgeous - both in the daytime - and also at night where they set up a few tables for dinner - all lit up by candles and lanterns - stunning!

The food was absolutely delicious with a huge choice. The prices are London prices - but the food was superb. Everything from sushi to amazing curries to delicious fresh fish etc. Make sure you save room for pudding too!! We ate on the veranda and by the pool. You can also have breakfast served on your private veranda should you choose to.

Service was good - although not quite as smiley and happy as we encountered in other parts of our Kenyan trip.

The only reason I am not marking Peponi as 5* is down to the rooms. Ours was very spacious superior room with a huge bed and a veranda right on the sea front. The decor is in keeping with the property and the island and is very understated and relaxed. Perfect for what we were looking for, but in no way 5* (but then they are not claiming to be a 5* hotel!!).

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keen_Bean_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2009

Ran by an obnoxious and arrogant woman with a false sense of her own importance - treats guests like it is a honour for you to be spending your money in her establishment . Prices are ludicrous in the restaurant for a place where staff are paid 3 pounds a day and treated with disdain. Here you pay top end london prices the whole place smacks of greed - The ski boat which is an old thing with an outboard on the back is 150 US dollars an hour , and try the game fishing at 1200 dollars ..and you have to buy the fish back. As for the patio area, its frequented by a regular bunch of pretencious hoorays - a thoroughly horrible place. The peoponi runs by default, as there is not a great deal of choice on the island and it has a captive market.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Travel_adventures33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2009

I spent one night at Peponi's and had a wonderful stay... I love the fact that this hotel is still run by the owners and that they are still so involved. Their is also definately something to be said for barefoot management - I love it! That said I passionately hate large hotels run by hospitality school graduates who can't hold a normal conversation... At Peponi's you will find all sorts and more and everyonee likes to chat.

The rooms are fairly small for the price BUT the hotel itself is charming with lots of different areas to sit/sunbath and a rather magical pool overlooking the water sandwiched between two massive old baobab trees.

The restuarant and food were really good and our food was spot on... they even have a gluten-free menu !?!? Definately a first for lodges/hotels in Africa.

We did a tour of Lamu town with a guide which was well worth it, we then had lunch at Lamu House (delicious) and walked back along the waterfront the Shela Village. I highly recommend this to everyone. Lamu has a fascinating history and the architecture is lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kezz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamu Island
0 mi away
The Red Pepper House
The Red Pepper House
#4 of 10 in Lamu Island
13 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Majlis Hotel
The Majlis Hotel
#1 of 1 in Manda Island
202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kijani Hotel
Kijani Hotel
#2 of 10 in Lamu Island
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Jannat House
Jannat House
#5 of 10 in Lamu Island
49 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lamu Palace Hotel
Lamu Palace Hotel
#7 of 10 in Lamu Island
35 reviews
7.5 mi away
Kizingo
Kizingo
#3 of 10 in Lamu Island
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peponi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peponi Hotel

Address: | Shela Beach, Lamu Island, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Lamu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Lamu Island
Hotel Class:4 star — Peponi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Peponi Hotel Lamu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing