We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best”
Review of Peponi Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lamu Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Peponi Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Lamu Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2011

we went for the 3th time to Lamu/Shela and it was, again, magical. Peponi is the best place to stay, the rooms are beautiful, staff is very helpfull and the food is the best I had for a long time!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ldrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2010

I can totally recommend Peponi!!! We had booked into a house in Shela via the internet that turned out to be in a dreaful location full of mosquitos and with no railings on the 3rd floor.. totally unsuitable for our 4 year old.. hmm another story.. so moved to Peponi. It really is a haven! The location on the waterfront is so so stunning and it saved what had begun to look like a nightmare holiday. The staff were great and the management lead by Carol really work so diligently and with such charm to welcome and talk with all the guests to ensure a great holiday. Our children were so wonderfully welcomed and looked after .. from extra goggles.. to beach toys.. boogie boards.. and even some extra books from our 11 year old to read. Nothing was too much of a problem. The food really is something else.. you want to order everything on the menu.. and after a week I can safely say every single meal was a treat! I'm still dreaming of those breakfasts!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kwala2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

as you approach the hotel by boat, you start to leave the 20th century benind you. Andrew welcomed us with a drink on the veranda overlooking the sea. He went to check our room was ok - it was more than ok - it was perfect especially the double bed hammock on one of our terraces. The hotel is full of charm, all the staff were always smiling, and helpful. ~The food was excellent, the thought of the wonderful locally caught prawn dishes and crab dish off the bone still make my mouth water.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chellG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

We stayed at The Peponi, Lamu, Kenya, at the end of a one week safari. The only braying we heard (see previous reviews) was from the donkeys, with a little snuffling from Marco Polo and Ehtu, the resident camels. We had a fantastic time in Room Top. The location is perfect, with a sparkling sea just beyond the terrace/restaurant and 13k of clean, soft, golden sand if you turn left on leaving the hotel. The hotel dhow transfers guests to and from the airstrip at Manda. It also runs daily to Lamu town where Abdul will arrange a local guide for 1000 Kenyan Shillings. This is well worth a trip, as is Shella Village where the Peponi is based.

The bar is great fun and food in the restaurant is excellent, especially the Swahili menu and the sushi. Drinks are not particularly expensive by London standards.

There are lots of trips and activities that are worth doing. We enjoyed the dhow sunset cruise and camel riding on the beach. The latter activity is particularly recommended. Marco Polo and Ehtu are very friendly, and rounding off a safari trip with a little bit of animal magic made our holiday perfect.

Many thanks to Lars, Carol, Andrew and the team for a wonderful stay. We are missing you already.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monkeyhumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Most people who truly understand travel will appreciate The Peponi and understand that one doesn't need perfection in order to ooze style and charm. Would that there were not more hotels such as this. Amusing to see the postings by sad slighted people whose objectivity was clearly guided by their own bruised ego. Pathetic. When one looks at many of the postings on sites like this, one is reminded of the maxim about the vain beiief in the collective wisdom of individual ignorance. Don't change a thing, the world needs more hotels like this and if they have to cost a little more. so be it.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheLilliputian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2010

After a bumpy 1.75hrs flight from Nairobi and a choppy ride in the speed boat we arrived at Peponi with senior managment fairly stressed. Fortunately Andrew, the charming meeter and greeter, recognised the symptoms and prescribed several large Gordons and tonic on the balcony and on the house. From there our four day stay just got better. A very comfortable bed under a mosquito net, delicious food on the veranda or round the pool, excellent service from the numerous staff and of course the stimulating company of Carole, Lars, Andrew and Benny in the bar after dinner all added up to a wondefully restful time. This was exactly what we needed after gorilla trekking in Rwanda. We plan to go back! Oh and I nearly forgot the trip to see the baby turtles making their way down the beach towards the sea, magical!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MackersBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2010

Travelled to Lamu with friends to celebrate my birthday - and Peponi was recommended as a good place for a drink even if we were not staying at the hotel.
Went there on the night of 2nd of September, when the waiter despite being courteous, acted like we would be uncomfortable there due to the price list.
Foolishly, we went there on the night of the 3rd hoping to have dinner but arrived a little late and the 'kitchen was closed'.
Which is ok, only that the barman at the counter couldn't wait to see our backs, bordered on rude and did not even bother to welcome us and suggest an alternative or offer us a drink while we explored our options.
Yet it was interesting to see the waiters falling over themselves to serve the rest of the patrons drinks.
Made us wonder if we have to be white to get some attention or half decent service in the establishment.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank TheDouble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamu Island
0 mi away
The Red Pepper House
The Red Pepper House
#4 of 10 in Lamu Island
13 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Majlis Hotel
The Majlis Hotel
#1 of 1 in Manda Island
202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kijani Hotel
Kijani Hotel
#2 of 10 in Lamu Island
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Jannat House
Jannat House
#5 of 10 in Lamu Island
49 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lamu Palace Hotel
Lamu Palace Hotel
#7 of 10 in Lamu Island
35 reviews
7.5 mi away
Kizingo
Kizingo
#3 of 10 in Lamu Island
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peponi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peponi Hotel

Address: | Shela Beach, Lamu Island, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Lamu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Lamu Island
Hotel Class:4 star — Peponi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Peponi Hotel Lamu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing