We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only place in Lamu with shisha currently”
Review of Lamu Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lamu Palace Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Lamu Island
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I did not stay in this hotel although it looked very nice and had decent prices, but we did frequent their restaurant especially for the shisha, which is the only place in Lamu which has it. It's a reasonable 500 shillings and lasts for hours. Good stuff. They have several flavors as well.The food is however very expensive. The restaurant is very nice with both comfortable indoor seating on couches, or outdoor seating on the waterfront.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melanie1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2013

We stayed for two nights dinner, bed and breakfast in March. Staff were very helpful and welcoming. However, the room was very small and cramped and the bathroom was very disappointing. The shower curtain didn't cover the tray and you couldn't have a shower without getting your hair wet. Overall the room looked as if it hadn't been updated since the 1960s.
On the plus side the food was good. Breakfast was plentiful and dinner was tasty. On the second night I had steak with a pepper sauce which was cooked to my requirements and very tender. I was pleasantly surprised at the quality.
At 22000 KES for the two nights we didn't think we had had value for money. But as other reviewers have stated its a safe choice and you will be 'looked after'.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christinebayliss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Very basic hotel. The hotel provides the basics and is very run down. The staff are however very friendly which makes up for the lack of the wow factor.

It can get quite stinky in the evening due to its location, the rooms are extremely small and the water doesn't quite heat up. Could see and hear the neighbours from my bathroom window.

I suggest looking for something in Shela rather than Lamu town.

Room Tip: Select the sea facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melancholic_Joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Lamu palace the location is good,but the problem is that its near the fish shop and petrol shop,that is very dangers to even the staff working there and the smell from sea when is low water if you cant be sick i dont know they is a sewage right infront of the hotel,otherwise the rooms are not clean and very small you cant move around, the only thing we did enjoy the town tour and the boat ride to shella beach, some staff are very helpfull, their is this one lady miss kazia she was very rudy to some guest that we were sitting next too.please if are planing to visit lamu they are lot of hotels which are 4 star and the price is very reasonable than that of lamu palace and not saying dont stay there but if you want to enjoy lamu this beautiful town stay in lamu house,or private houses or stay in shella. you will see the different.but as for me us we will never stay there and we will not let our friend stay there.

Room Tip: rooms from behind avoid them,the only room you should stay 2 front room in the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank victoria l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Lamu Palace is a typical "safe choice" hotel. It's in a good location, the staff is helpful (and they even come greet you at the airport, and take you to the hotel by speedboat, which is a nice touch), they have a pretty good restaurant and clean (albeit small) rooms. All in all, if you're not too adventurous, I'd definitely say that staying here is a great idea.
On the other hand, Lamu is such a magical place, with narrow streets, old Swahili houses built of coral, hundreds of years of tradition to be explored and wonderful people - next time I'll definitely go to one of the traditional Swahili houses (either guesthouses, or rooms to rent - e.g. from Mama Husna) to get a deeper exposure to the place.
That said, I must thank the staff - all of them were great. Raffael even took us for a one-hr guided tour which was good.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bmerei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

the ambiance was wow, amazing collection of wall hangings and furniture, the Swahili theme. It was lovely the food was good. Cool place to relax and talk.
I would go there again, with a group of friends this time round.

Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
Thank Namz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We drove by car from Mombasa via Lamu to Garissa. The Lamu Palace had a very friendly management, excellent staff, great food. The rooms with seaview are good. The rooms to the back should be avoided. There was renovation going on. In central Lamu, I found the Palace the best hotel, however it cannot be compared with the luxury (and price levels) of the Peponi in Shela or the Majlis.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Service
2  Thank TrophyCollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamu Island
0.5 mi away
Jannat House
Jannat House
#4 of 10 in Lamu Island
49 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Majlis Hotel
The Majlis Hotel
#1 of 1 in Manda Island
198 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kijani Hotel
Kijani Hotel
#2 of 10 in Lamu Island
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Red Pepper House
The Red Pepper House
#6 of 10 in Lamu Island
12 reviews
7.6 mi away
Kizingo
Kizingo
#3 of 10 in Lamu Island
123 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lamu House Hotel
Lamu House Hotel
#3 of 34 in Lamu Island
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamu Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamu Palace Hotel

Address: 421 Lamu, Lamu Island 80500, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Lamu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Lamu Island
Price Range: £69 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamu Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lamu Palace Hotel itself resembles a palace with its large open spaces and tall handsome pillars forming arches. Lamu Palace hotel is located on the seafront which means there is always good sea breeze. The hotel has a total of 22 rooms and suites, all with en-suite bathrooms, equipped with TV, fans, A/Cs and mosquito nets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Lamu Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing