We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Varning för Jannat House, Lamu! Beware of Jannat House, Lamu!”
Review of Jannat House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jannat House
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Lamu Island
Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Varning för Jannat House, Lamu! Beware of Jannat House, Lamu!”
Reviewed 9 January 2010

Hade bokat 7 nätter med halvpension, två dubbelrum med toalett på rummet för vår familj med två tonårsbarn just efter nyår 2010.

När vi kom visade det sig att Jannat hade dubbelbokat trots att vi hade bokat och fått bekräftelse 6 månader innan. På grund av det fick vi första natten två usla rum där den gemensamma toaletten inte ens spolade. Och ingen ursäkt, inget erbjudande om någon form av kompensation.

Rummen vi sedan fick var små och slitna. 'Ena rummet endast med skynke till toaletten.

Efter tredje natten vaknade min yngste son med mängder av loppbett över hela ryggen. Ägaren tillkallades och höll med om att det inte var myggbett och lovade att han skulle desinficera rummet omgående och ge oss ett nytt rum. I det läget fick vi nog och bytte hotell trots att vi betalat i förväg för sju nätter.

Ägaren försökte sedan snacka bort detta på alla möjliga vis, föreslog Röda Hund eller mässling (han är som alla barn vaccinerad mot båda) och ville sedan inte kompensera oss någonting för de nätter vi inte utnyttjade, inte ens för den maten vi inte åt som vi betalat för (och då föreslog jag inte full ersättning för det vi inte utnyttjat och höll en lugn ton hela vägen trots att jag var skitförbannad).

Ägaren, en norsktalande tysk om jag förstod det rätt. var en otrolig man på att snacka och slingra sig. Han menade att exempelvis att Jannat hade den bästa dhowen i Lamu. Vid första heldagsturen gick ett oljerör i motorn sönder så att besättningen fick länsa vatten heltid sista timmen och vi bara kunde gå för halvfart.

När vi två dagar senare skulle ut på snorklingstur pajade oljeröret ännu en gång och turen fick inställas. När vi väl kom ut dagen därpå gick seglet sönder.

I ärlighetens namn är övrig personal mycket trevlig och maten åtminstone ätbar. Men hotellet håller en mycket låg standard och är ganska nergånget med små och kyffiga rum. Redan innan min son ficxk lusbett hade vi tröttnat och tidigarelagt hemresan eftersom vi inte kände att vi orkade bo på Jannat i sju nätter.

Sänglössen avgjorde dock saken och ägarens uppträdande i samband med det hedrar honom sannerligen inte.

Undvik Jannat House till varje pris!!!

Mvh Torbjörn Henriksson

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank THTravellerSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lemaeliza, Manager at Jannat House, responded to this review, 28 August 2010
i wish to respond to the review.This guest come to lamu with a different expectation and here in Lamu they are Swahili houses it is not like Mombasa.
When he arrive at the hotel he was satisfied with the rooms and they were very comfortable,after the second night there son wake up and they were not loise bites it was chicken pox.the same morning they went out for a trip with one of the staff of the hotel and the trip was OK and no oil link or sail broken.Them they arrived after the trip and confirm the trip was very fine.
After refreshing they went out for a while when they come back they told the owner they want to have a luxury for their last days in Africa,the owner agreed with them.After there check out the next morning they come back asking the owner to refund the money but he could not because they paid through the agent.The owner ask them to go back to the agent to get there compensation,he left with anger after he was told that.For me i will advise him to go to the agent and complain to them and we can sort out with the agent.Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    22
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
18
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2009

Stayed at Jannat house a couple of years ago during Xmas. I was quoted a lower price than anything that existed when I called them but to their hounour they stood by it. Rooms are small but OK, the patio area is among the best in Lamu. Lots of places for relaxing, half sleeoing and reading books, a small pool good for families with kids, a bar that serves alcohol. A little to far off in one corner of the town for my taste and very close to one of the mosques so one wakes up every morning at 5 (?).

I would not pay their regular prices but if one can get a deal it is very OK. They also serve food that differs a bit from the usual bush garden stuff so that is also nice.

  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikesth_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
62 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2009

Stayed with my husband and three year-old for three nights. Enjoyed our entire stay. The location is great - just a short walk from the main street and plaza. The room we had directly above the pool was perfect for us as we could go easily from pool to room and back. Lamu is very hot and the pool was a great, close diversion. Service is great and very accomodating. We chose to eat nearly all our meals at the restaurant on-site for its convenience and it was mostly above average food - the pizza was always good. Be sure to do a Dhow cruise on Jannat's boat if possible. We went to the Takwa ruins and had the boat to ourselves. (You have to time the tides to do this trip, so it may not be possible.) Used the motor to the ruins and sailed back. Fabulous!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaMomOrlando_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanzu, Kenya
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2009

Upon landing in Lamu Town it was like going back 100 years. Lamu is not like any other part of Kenya. Do not go expecting hotels to be like the resort hotels in Mombasa or Malindi.
After being guided through the hot narrow alleys that serve as streets in Lamu we arrived at the hotel. As we stepped through the door, out of the alley, what a surprise.
We were now in the courtyayd of this quaint swahili style hotel which seemed miles away from the hustle, bustle and heat outside.
We were greeted by Sylvia, the manager, and offered a drink. We were shown to our room which again was a pleasant surprise. It was a swahili style room and nothing like the normal resort type room which you get in hotels all over the world. It was more than adequate for our two night stay. The rooms have no air- conditioning but the windows are left open and there is a ceiling fan which is more than adequate.
The evening meal and breakfast,which we took in the courtyard by the swimming pool was good. The staff were very helpful and couldn't fault the service.
Went on a guided tour of Lamu which was excellent and the people of Lamu were very friendly. Ate lunch on the quayside at Bush Gardens Restaurant both days. Food and prices were excellent.
I would reccomend this hotel for anyone who wants something different from the normal resort hotels. One point to beware of - there are alot of steps in the hotel as it is split over several floors. This would, however apply to most hotels in Lamu as they are built upwards, not outwards.
Price, accomodation, food and service were good.

  • Liked — Peacefulness and staff
  • Disliked — Steps
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westwoodboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chciago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2009

My friend and I stayed at Jannat for seven nights over Christmas and we couldn't have loved it more. The staff was amazing and the price was perfect. We only paid $30 per person per night. We got off the plane and a Jannat staff member was at the airport to greet us and show us to the hotel.

They held a very nice Christmas dinner by the pool and we had a great breakfeast every morning. It was central in Lamu, but made us feel like we had our own little sanctuary. I loved all the different levels, where we could lay out, relax, read a book, or chat with other people staying there. It was also great to have a pool to come home to. We went to some of the other more expensive hotels for dinner and the food was nice, but quite costly. Jannat served some great snacks and dinners if we didn't want to eat in town and they kept a running tab for us.

The rooms were clean and comfortable. We also really liked that we could book online on their website, because we went during high season. This was just one less thing to worry about once we got there.

The one thing that I did not like as much is that they had some of their own excursions. The man who ran them was a bit pushy and we wanted to explore our other options. His prices were much higher than what we got from local people. We eventually found out though that his douw was much nicer. I don't regret going with other local boats, but if you want a really nice boat to take you out you could go with the Jannat tours. If you want to save money, I would recommend chatting with other boat owners and going with them. This was really a minor thing though and I would absolutely stay at Jannat again.

  • Liked — The location and friendly staff.
  • Disliked — The tour operator.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ptac0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2008

Stayed there for 2 nights in July, as we had children we were put in adjoining rooms which were tiny with toilets outside the rooms. The beds were very uncomfortable and although they had mosquito nets, we were bitten freqeuntly. The patio areas above the rooms were great and although it rained a lot, we were fully protected. The staff were great, however, food wasn't so good. Lots of flies everywhere and I would recommend that you visit Lamu for 1 day as it is not the idealic setting the guide books would have you believe. We arranged a beah party through the hotel and although we were the only guests, it was enjoyable. Don't go on a walking tour arranged via the hotel as we were charged 2000 schillings and were only out for half of the time we were meant to be and the guide kept trying to persuade us to book more trips and appeared quite angry when we informed him that we would need to think about it. Please take pens etc and the hotel can arrange to take you to a school.
The hotel was nice, although our rooms were possible the smallest and worst. Manager? was great as air kenya (our airline) contacted the hotel advising that our flights had been changed and she worked hard to sort the problem out. However, I only received a small refund for having to depart a day earlier than planned due to fault by airline.

It was good to see Lamu but great to leave.

  • Liked — Patio areas
  • Disliked — it was in lamu
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank joycescotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2007

We stayed at Jannat House for 5 nights in May of this year and we thoroughly enjoyed it. For the first 4 nights we were the only guests since it wasn't the "high" season.
The rooms were comfortable and clean and the staff was super accommodating. It was a short walk to the center of town or to the waterfront.
Breakfast was included and was always an enjoyable meal.
We would not hesitate to stay at Jannat House again if and when we ever return to Lamu.

  • Liked — It's location and the friendliness of the staff
  • Disliked — Nothing to complain about
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adorevoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamu Island
2.1 mi away
Kijani Hotel
Kijani Hotel
#3 of 10 in Lamu Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Majlis Hotel
The Majlis Hotel
#1 of 1 in Manda Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Red Pepper House
The Red Pepper House
#6 of 10 in Lamu Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lamu Palace Hotel
Lamu Palace Hotel
#8 of 10 in Lamu Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
7.4 mi away
Kizingo
Kizingo
#2 of 10 in Lamu Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
2.1 mi away
Banana House & Wellness Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jannat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jannat House

Property: Jannat House
Address: Mkomani | Off Kenyatta Road, 195, Lamu Island 80500, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Lamu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Lamu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jannat House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
the place to stay in lamu. jannat house is situated a short work from the main street and the lamu waterfront.jannat house combined the unique elegance of traditional swahili architecture with modern comfort and friendly hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Jannat House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jannat House Hotel Lamu Island
Jannat Hotel Lamu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing