We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect get-away-from-it-all”
Review of Manda Bay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lamu Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Manda Bay
Portola Valley, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“A perfect get-away-from-it-all”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Just spent 5 gorgeous days at Manda Bay with our kids, and couldn't be happier with the experience. The location is fantastic, picturesque, and very, very private. It's quite easy to have the entire expanse of beautiful beach to yourself, to relax fully, and to reconnect with your family. The hosts leave nothing to chance, and are always available and helpful. The food was fabulous, served after cocktails in an open, airy bar and lounge where the sea laps against sides and the bush babies come to visit. Dinners were especially great, set out on the beach beneath the stars every evening. Manda Bay was the perfect ending to a great Kenyan adventure.

Room Tip: An ocean front hut is a must for adults, but leave the kids in the back huts if you're nervous a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mominpeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    7
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
32
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos Hills, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We just wrapped up a 10 day safari in Kenya and spent five idyllic days at Manda Bay. What a perfect spot to end our trip. The resort is impossibly picturesque with sweeping views of sand and sea. Interiors are open-air and strike a perfect balance bw natural and stylish - blending simple, organic touches with British colonial accents and an other-worldly Moorish flair. The result is a casual elegance that's uniquely its own. Bimbi's warm and relaxed hostessing makes you feel like honored family visiting a favorite, rich and well-travelled aunt. Her staff is well-chosen, from room attendant to waitstaff - all made us feel generously welcomed. We were there with another family with a total of eight of us, with kids ranging from age 8-15. All of us sank into bliss at Manda Bay! The activities ranged from deep sea fishing to banana boat rides and site seeing. Stretches of deserted beaches and mangroves went on and on. Never seen anything like it. We felt priviledged to see such pristine coast on that scale - in this modern age - enjoying the peace and tranquility of yesteryear with all the modern comforts and fine dining at Manda Bay. Been to many beach resorts...in Bora Bora, southeast Asia, carribean, Hawaii, Costa Rica, and Mexico... We are big Four Seasons fans, but Manda Bay's personalized service and unique setting puts it in a class of its own!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

...and that's no exaggeration.

Manda Bay is the perfect mix of private tranquility and action activities, great food and attentive service.

The hotel itself is so beautifully built, very open and relaxed but at that same time extremely comfortable and stylish. The beach front bandas are private and you can literally dive off your verandah into the sea at high tide. The staff are fantastic; super friendly and helpful when you want it and yet out of the way when you don't. The food was exceptional, all the meals were prepared with such fresh ingredients, cooked to perfection and presented beautifully.

We had an incredible few days there. Thank you thank you Andy and team.

Room Tip: Go for a beach front banda, the sea laps against your varandah.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timwiththebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Warm friendly personable service... Whether as a couple, solo or family there is space for everyone to relax or enjoy...We chose to join Bimbi and Fuss with their friends for lunch not to mention their gorgeous Malinois. Great choice and fabulous variety of flavours, not to mention the company. So next you might need the swinging loungers they are fabulous should you want to chill or read.. The pool is kept clean and easy to sit or swim with a pretty great ocean view.. Windsurfers, canoes are also available to use and the magnificent Mahogany Dhow for trips.. Ate too much for that!
Big game fishing is possible, however, we hope to return to have a go at sea fly fishing.. Operating a catch and return policy!! Accommodation is spacious and has all the requirements you may need, not to mention the extra island sounds...
About half an hour away there is a site with historical ruins to explore, pick a cool time of day.
Lamu and Shela are not far away by fast boat and quite a unique experience to explore....watch out for "Punda Punda" it means a Donkey is coming!
Great place to retrieve a balance yin and yang of life!

Room Tip: Choose a lodge so you an dangle your feet in the ocean and swing on your own lounger
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nichola618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Public Relations Manager at Manda Bay, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear Nicola P,

Many thanks for taking the time to review Manda Bay following your recent stay with Fuzz and Bimbi. I am delighted that you had such a great time.

Loving you advise regarding the donkeys - that has made me chuckle this morning!

Many thanks once again and we very much look forward to welcoming you back with us.

Kind Regards,

Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We just returned from an amazing few days at Manda Bay and I cannot recommend the place highly enough. The service was incredible and you really feel welcomed by the entire staff. The setting is spectacular and you can relax and do absolutely nothing, or take advantage of all the activities available. Manda feels so far removed from the rest of the wold that it is so easy to relax there. The facilities are excellent and well-maintained and the food is superb. I highly recommend Manda for a romantic weekend, for families, for groups or even solo travelers. It is truly a special place.

Room Tip: Get a seafront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Public Relations Manager at Manda Bay, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Dear Meg,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Manda Bay and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We very look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Sarah Humble
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Manda Bay is situated in one of the most beautiful private beaches anywhere and he rustic luxury and fabulous cuisine make this a perfect place for a holiday. Whether with family, friends or for a perfect romantic relaxing getaway, you will feel secure and have a lovely time.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Public Relations Manager at Manda Bay, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Hi KS,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Manda Bay after your stay with us at Christmas time, I am glad that you enjoy all that was on offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

I can only echo what everyone else has said about Manda Bay - amazing - we spent 5 nights there in February this year and had a brilliant time. Bimbi, and all her staff, were incredible , nothing was too much trouble. The accommodation and food were both excellent and, as mentioned by others, the security is extremely robust, which includes armed guards, but equally, very subtle. A clever balance to achieve. We never felt concerned the whole time we were there.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jilly1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Public Relations Manager at Manda Bay, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Dear Jilly,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Manda Bay after your recent stay with us and we are delighted that you enjoyed it so much.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards from Bimbi and all of the team at Manda,

Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamu Island
6.1 mi away
The Majlis Hotel
The Majlis Hotel
#1 of 1 in Manda Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Red Pepper House
The Red Pepper House
#5 of 10 in Lamu Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
5.8 mi away
Jannat House
Jannat House
#6 of 10 in Lamu Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Kijani Hotel
Kijani Hotel
#3 of 10 in Lamu Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
13.1 mi away
Kizingo
Kizingo
#2 of 10 in Lamu Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
6.1 mi away
Banana House & Wellness Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manda Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manda Bay

Property: Manda Bay
Address: Manda Island | Lamu, Lamu Island, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Lamu Island
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Lamu Island
Hotel Class:5 star — Manda Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manda Bay is located on the North-western tip of Manda Island, one of the many unspoiled, idyllic islands of the Lamu archipelago. An exclusive resort, Manda Bay offers relaxation, water sports, dhow safaris and luxurious pampering throughout your stay. Surrounded by miles of soft white sand, Manda Bay is the perfect retreat for families and honeymooners. The cottages are in keeping with the local landscape and were constructed using local materials. All of the cottages have large ceiling fans, en-suite bathrooms, and their own private verandas overlooking the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manda Bay Hotel Lamu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing