We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The swahili spirit captured in a beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lamu House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lamu House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 36 Lamu Island B&B and Inns
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“The swahili spirit captured in a beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

Lamu House is a hotel in the heart of Lamu town, which was able to combine the beauty of the Swahili architecture and decoration with all the modern comfort: it’s just awesome! All the details have been taken care and the result is outstanding.
All rooms are different and unique, giving a particular charm to the space. The swimming pool is the perfect place to chill out and refresh…
The hotel organised for us a dhow safari; we left in the morning, sailed, had a good swim on a desert beach where we had a fantastic lunch: it was simply great.
The staff of the hotel and restaurant is very nice and we are already thinking about returning. A fantastic place!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pietisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    20
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
38
80
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

I stayed here with a girlfriend after working in the hustle bustle of Nakuru, Kenya for just over a week, and left so relaxed it was hard to muster up the energy to get back on the plane to come back home to Perth. Lamu House was great, private, serene, great restaurant, staff and the ambience. Toby, Michael and the forever smiling Benson who wait upon your needs in the restaurant were wonderful. Relaxing by the pool using free wifi, or being served a old Tusker after walking around town which is unique in its own way. We came in May/June in the off peak and much wasn't open, which for us added the charm..it was quiet. Manda is the beach you can go to by speedboat, watch out for the harsh hot sun though...loved it here and will be back xxx

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Wonderful place to stay in Lamu, just on the sea front of Lamu, superb arabic style house with very friedly stuff! Excellent low season prices. 3 pools. Each room is different and nice. Best price/performance ratio on my Africa trip!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DianaZurich S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PERTH
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

I stayed at Lamu House for a break from bustling Nakuru where I had been working before returning to Australia. To get away from the noise, hustle, bustle and dust... I came to the right place. Lamu in May is as quiet as you could possibly imagine, breaking the sound of lapping of water along the sea bed is the hee hawing of the donkeys, the only means of transport on the island. Lamu House, with Toby, Benson and Michael in the restaurant, Moonrise, part of Lamu House are the most wonderful staff, always willing to assist wherever possible, eat by the pool, in your room or at the quiet restaurant that faces over the ocean under the cover of an enormously spread tree. Regina at the front desk assists you with your bookings if you wish to take the speed boat to Manda, where the sand is silky white, water beautiful to swim and is shaded. I went to Shela by foot, about a 45minute walk, a smaller town than Lamu Town and in the off peak season barely anyone was around. There isnt too much shopping here in Lamu or a great selection of restaurants, but dont be put off with the look of some of the little restaurants, Olympic would have to have the best curries in town, fresh and spicy. The lady who operates and the chef will help you with any street hawkers that may come in to the restaurant to hassle you. It is a predominiantly a Muslim Island, so full dress code is preferred, no bikini's, shorts etc... Lamu House, with a wonderful pool, which you will need, simply excellent .... I want to take all the decor, paintings, and furniture home, just to have the peaceful atmosphere I have truly found here.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SUNSHINE4ME1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I have never encountered service like that provided by Lamu House. The staff were perfect. I adored my room overlooking the harbour. When asked to tell people what my favourite hotel in the world is, I have to say that the words Lamu House are on the tip of my tongue. I cannot wait to go back again next time that I'm in Kenya - I shall make a special point to stay there.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank alandebarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

Had dinner at the Lamu House on the waterfront. excellent food, nice environment, helpful staff. The only draw back was they didn't bring my coffee with my dessert, but that was minor. other than that, a perfect evening.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joodmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

I wanted to stay here because of the mix of staying in town while having the option to go to the beach. I was really impressed with so many things about this place - the decor, the cleanliness, the friendliness and helpfulness of the owners and staff, the security, the efficiency of the transportation, the food.... everything!
My friend and I just finished our stay there (April 20-23) in what is called "the rainy season." Yes, it did rain, but I think it amounted to only a few showers over the four days we were there. Otherwise, it was hot and sunny. The heat was a bit strong at times, but I couldn't complain as our visits to the beach club and dips in the hotel's pool cooled me down. Do not let the rainy season deter you from visiting Lamu! It was a pleasure to avoid the crowds of the high season, and an immense joy to have the beach all to ourselves!
Even if you do not plan to stay at Lamu House, I would still recommend taking a trip over to the beach club for their Sunday lunch (we were served a multi-course meal with calamari, prawns and fish). The Moonrise restaurant is also a beautifully cozy spot (thumbs up for the breakfasts, chicken korma, and amazing chocolate mousse!).
HIGHLY recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank girlonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamu Island
0.3 mi away
Jannat House
Jannat House
#4 of 10 in Lamu Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kijani Hotel
Kijani Hotel
#3 of 10 in Lamu Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Majlis Hotel
The Majlis Hotel
#1 of 1 in Manda Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Red Pepper House
The Red Pepper House
#6 of 10 in Lamu Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lamu Palace Hotel
Lamu Palace Hotel
#8 of 10 in Lamu Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
2.0 mi away
Banana House & Wellness Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamu House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamu House Hotel

Property: Lamu House Hotel
Address: Kenyatta Avenue | Seafront, Lamu Island 80500, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Lamu Island
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Lamu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamu House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel made of 2 Swahili houses adjoin, with 10 superior rooms, plunge pool. Luxury accommodation, in the Old Stone Town of Lamu, located on the seafront. Restaurant & coffee shop. Traditional dhows for comfortable excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Lamu House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing