We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way”
Review of Lamu House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lamu House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 34 Lamu Island B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed for 6 nights and it was just perfect. Well looked after and the food was amazing. The beach club is a great way to spend the day, I'd reccommend the Rose wine and seafood platter. Exploring Lamu in a home from home.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raeph1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

What a wonderful getaway to not only a beautifully designed and maintained hotel, but to the kind of hospitality that made us feel immediately at home and extremely reluctant to leave! Frank really went above and beyond to cater for/anticipate our every need and help us to make the most of the short time we had to spend on the island.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I visited Lamu, and Lamu House for the first time in June 2013, and loved both so much that I returned for a second dose with a friend in March 2014!

We thought Lamu House was amazing because:

• Frank is a wonderful host for whom nothing was too much trouble…from whipping up a remarkable spinach and prawn curry (who would have thought those flavours could work together?!) to organizing a dhow trip out into the archipelago.
• Incredible staff that anticipated your needs before you were even aware of them
• Comfortable and beautiful rooms tastefully decorated in the traditional Swahili / Lamu style, with lots of little nooks and crannies in which you could seek respite from the afternoon heat.
• Seafront location in Old Town – whilst some would prefer Shela and/or Manda, I love the atmosphere of Lamu Town and the front of Lamu House is a great place to sit and people watch in the cool of the evening, or if you’re feeling brave, challenge one of the locals to a game of Bao.

Why we love Lamu:

• Everything is sooooo pole pole – no stress from the minute you touch down at the airport!
• Security concerns – unfounded. The locals are amongst the most hospitable and welcoming I have ever encountered in my travels.
• Old Town atmosphere…wonderful little shops, hidden garden cafes, donkey traffic, winding alleys

Unfortunately, 4 days was too short a time to spend there, so I guess we’ll just have to come back for longer next time!

Room Tip: The seafront rooms are amazing - Siyu is still my favourite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrinaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Our holday at Lamu House was a unique experience! Frank and Marianne are the most lovely hosts i ever met.
The hotel is super, the restaurant is excellent and swimming and eating at the Beach Bar is just like being in Paradise. We had an unforgettable holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Lamu house gives you the opportunity to learn african live on the coast of Kenya. Frank and Marianne run this hotel with great hospitality and make this an experience you never forget.
The hotel has excellent rooms and a good service. The activities organised on the Lamu Island were very nice. Don't forget to go to the beach house at the other side of the river.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erik490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

Dont really want to share this gem with anyone else as next time I go it will be full.
We wete greayed at the airport by hotel dtaff who were smiling the entire time. My disabled daughter was treated like a princess and pulled to the speed boat from the little airport on Manda island by a rickety cart. She laughed the whole tril there. Having arrived with grins on our faces from excitement we were met at the beautiful entrance to Lamu house by our host Frank and another smiling member of staff who tempted us to cool down with freezing cold flannels and a pint of delicious fresh passion fruit juice. Frank showed us our clean, spacious and palacial rooms. Each with a balcony and fabulous bathrooms.
The hotel has an artistically arranged seating area in a central courtyard where the swimming pool nestles. Lanterns are lit and placed in positions that give off a warm light around the pool while one supps pre dinner drinks while waiting for the nod from the kitchen that your table awaits and dinner is ready. Fresh prawn, lobster, calamari, crab and snapper are just some of the local fish beautifully cooked and served on a nightly basis to visitors at the restaurant. Frank and his wife again are wonderful hosts, chatting to all as if they are friends coming to stay for a while. Whatever their magic. It works! Bed at 9pm was as welcome as the treats that we waited for the next day. Massage, manicures, dhow trips, beach days and picnics amongst ancient costal ruins are just some of the specials on offer. In fact, whatever one wants to do, Frank willingly arranges. Donkey rides, picnic food, water taxis, henna painting or just chilling by the pool with fresh fruit juice in hand.
On Friday night there is a band that serenades the diners and a special menu is posted. This does its job and the restaurant is soon full to capacity and the 5 courses expertly dished up and served by the smiling waiters. Frank went out of his way to make my daughter feel just as important as the adults and said that as he couldnt promise Justin Bieber as the band, he would do his best to arrange Lady Gaga- Lamu style. The following day he helped her walk the short distance to the pier and pointed down to a boat. "I told you I will give you Lady Gaga". To our amusement there she was! The boat was the Lady Gaga! Every detail was thought of and our five days in heaven quickly whizzed by. Over far too quickly. Before we knew it, it was time to leave Lamu house hotel and all the friends we had made whilst there. I would recommend it to all as the perfect place to stay and unwind. No worrying about life in the world outside its House and Garden walls. The traditional Swahili house with its peaceful vibe looked after us in a tranquil bubble. The nightmarish thought of civilisation continuing outside became a reality all too quickly. Kwaheri Lamu house. Til next time.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Annette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Unfortunately we only had two nights here in this most beautiful place with great hosts. We had a beautiful room with a balcony on the top floor overlooking the sea. The room, the courtyard with the swimming pool, the wonderful restaurant, and the great service from everyone, made for a relaxing couple of days. Nothing seems too much trouble; Frank organised a dhow trip for us within an hour of us deciding what we wanted to do and personally brought some items we left behind to Shela.

The restaurant has a good selection and serves the best ginger crab we've eaten. The dhow trip is highly recommended both for the trip and the wonderful fresh fish we had for lunch.

We can't recommend Lamu House highly enough.

Room Tip: Sea view with balcony - worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paleblueeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamu Island
0.3 mi away
Jannat House
Jannat House
#6 of 10 in Lamu Island
49 reviews
0 mi away
The Red Pepper House
The Red Pepper House
#5 of 10 in Lamu Island
15 reviews
2 mi away
Kijani Hotel
Kijani Hotel
#2 of 10 in Lamu Island
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Majlis Resort
The Majlis Resort
#1 of 1 in Manda Island
220 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lamu Palace Hotel
Lamu Palace Hotel
#8 of 10 in Lamu Island
35 reviews
2 mi away
Banana House & Wellness Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamu House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamu House Hotel

Address: Kenyatta Avenue | Seafront, Lamu Island 80500, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Lamu Island
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Lamu Island
Price Range: £87 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamu House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel made of 2 Swahili houses adjoin, with 10 superior rooms, plunge pool. Luxury accommodation, in the Old Stone Town of Lamu, located on the seafront. Restaurant & coffee shop. Traditional dhows for comfortable excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Jovago.com so you can book your Lamu House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing