We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Getaway”
Review of Lamu House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lamu House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 34 Lamu Island B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Very cozy lamu style hotel run by a great couple. The hotel was beautiful and simple, the staff were kind and attentive, the owners were warm, friendly and extremely hospitable. the feel of the hotel was very laid back and like home. I cannot wait to go back.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Wambui B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Loved it! Everything was just perfect.
From the food, the service to the lovely decoration of each room.
Totaly recommended if you are going to Lamu!
From the first minute until the last you will feel in paradise

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Hélio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed for 6 nights and it was just perfect. Well looked after and the food was amazing. The beach club is a great way to spend the day, I'd reccommend the Rose wine and seafood platter. Exploring Lamu in a home from home.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raeph1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

What a wonderful getaway to not only a beautifully designed and maintained hotel, but to the kind of hospitality that made us feel immediately at home and extremely reluctant to leave! Frank really went above and beyond to cater for/anticipate our every need and help us to make the most of the short time we had to spend on the island.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I visited Lamu, and Lamu House for the first time in June 2013, and loved both so much that I returned for a second dose with a friend in March 2014!

We thought Lamu House was amazing because:

• Frank is a wonderful host for whom nothing was too much trouble…from whipping up a remarkable spinach and prawn curry (who would have thought those flavours could work together?!) to organizing a dhow trip out into the archipelago.
• Incredible staff that anticipated your needs before you were even aware of them
• Comfortable and beautiful rooms tastefully decorated in the traditional Swahili / Lamu style, with lots of little nooks and crannies in which you could seek respite from the afternoon heat.
• Seafront location in Old Town – whilst some would prefer Shela and/or Manda, I love the atmosphere of Lamu Town and the front of Lamu House is a great place to sit and people watch in the cool of the evening, or if you’re feeling brave, challenge one of the locals to a game of Bao.

Why we love Lamu:

• Everything is sooooo pole pole – no stress from the minute you touch down at the airport!
• Security concerns – unfounded. The locals are amongst the most hospitable and welcoming I have ever encountered in my travels.
• Old Town atmosphere…wonderful little shops, hidden garden cafes, donkey traffic, winding alleys

Unfortunately, 4 days was too short a time to spend there, so I guess we’ll just have to come back for longer next time!

Room Tip: The seafront rooms are amazing - Siyu is still my favourite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrinaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Our holday at Lamu House was a unique experience! Frank and Marianne are the most lovely hosts i ever met.
The hotel is super, the restaurant is excellent and swimming and eating at the Beach Bar is just like being in Paradise. We had an unforgettable holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Lamu house gives you the opportunity to learn african live on the coast of Kenya. Frank and Marianne run this hotel with great hospitality and make this an experience you never forget.
The hotel has excellent rooms and a good service. The activities organised on the Lamu Island were very nice. Don't forget to go to the beach house at the other side of the river.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erik490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamu Island
0.3 mi away
Jannat House
Jannat House
#6 of 10 in Lamu Island
49 reviews
0 mi away
The Red Pepper House
The Red Pepper House
#5 of 10 in Lamu Island
15 reviews
2 mi away
Kijani Hotel
Kijani Hotel
#2 of 10 in Lamu Island
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Majlis Resort
The Majlis Resort
#1 of 1 in Manda Island
220 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lamu Palace Hotel
Lamu Palace Hotel
#8 of 10 in Lamu Island
35 reviews
2 mi away
Banana House & Wellness Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamu House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamu House Hotel

Address: Kenyatta Avenue | Seafront, Lamu Island 80500, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Lamu Island
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Lamu Island
Price Range: £87 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamu House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel made of 2 Swahili houses adjoin, with 10 superior rooms, plunge pool. Luxury accommodation, in the Old Stone Town of Lamu, located on the seafront. Restaurant & coffee shop. Traditional dhows for comfortable excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Jovago.com so you can book your Lamu House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing