We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lamu House Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$420
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Jannat House(Lamu Island)(Great Value!)
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Peponi Hotel(Lamu Island)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Baytil Ajaib(Lamu Island)
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Kizingo(Lamu Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Kijani Hotel(Lamu Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Lamu Palace Hotel(Lamu Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveller rating
195
23
6
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
195
23
6
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold towndaily lifebeach barmain poolspecial hoteltop floorspeed boatnooks and cranniesthe entire hotelpassion juicehome from homemanda beachrelaxing atmospherehotel is beautifulstayed longerdhow tripsswahili architecture
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 227 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Very cozy lamu style hotel run by a great couple. The hotel was beautiful and simple, the staff were kind and attentive, the owners were warm, friendly and extremely hospitable. the feel of the hotel was very laid back and like home. I cannot wait to go back.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Wambui B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Loved it! Everything was just perfect.
From the food, the service to the lovely decoration of each room.
Totaly recommended if you are going to Lamu!
From the first minute until the last you will feel in paradise

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Hélio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed for 6 nights and it was just perfect. Well looked after and the food was amazing. The beach club is a great way to spend the day, I'd reccommend the Rose wine and seafood platter. Exploring Lamu in a home from home.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raeph1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

What a wonderful getaway to not only a beautifully designed and maintained hotel, but to the kind of hospitality that made us feel immediately at home and extremely reluctant to leave! Frank really went above and beyond to cater for/anticipate our every need and help us to make the most of the short time we had to spend on the island.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I visited Lamu, and Lamu House for the first time in June 2013, and loved both so much that I returned for a second dose with a friend in March 2014!

We thought Lamu House was amazing because:

• Frank is a wonderful host for whom nothing was too much trouble…from whipping up a remarkable spinach and prawn curry (who would have thought those flavours could work together?!) to organizing a dhow trip out into the archipelago.
• Incredible staff that anticipated your needs before you were even aware of them
• Comfortable and beautiful rooms tastefully decorated in the traditional Swahili / Lamu style, with lots of little nooks and crannies in which you could seek respite from the afternoon heat.
• Seafront location in Old Town – whilst some would prefer Shela and/or Manda, I love the atmosphere of Lamu Town and the front of Lamu House is a great place to sit and people watch in the cool of the evening, or if you’re feeling brave, challenge one of the locals to a game of Bao.

Why we love Lamu:

• Everything is sooooo pole pole – no stress from the minute you touch down at the airport!
• Security concerns – unfounded. The locals are amongst the most hospitable and welcoming I have ever encountered in my travels.
• Old Town atmosphere…wonderful little shops, hidden garden cafes, donkey traffic, winding alleys

Unfortunately, 4 days was too short a time to spend there, so I guess we’ll just have to come back for longer next time!

Room Tip: The seafront rooms are amazing - Siyu is still my favourite!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrinaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews