We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every respect”
Review of Lamu House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lamu House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 34 Lamu Island B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 May 2014

After 4 day stay, I highly recommend Lamu House as hotel of choice for visit to Lamu. Room, staff, restaurant, owners and location all combine to rating of overall excellence. It is a quiet unassuming place with options for activities if you choose.

Room Tip: Request room at front overlooking the sea
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stray56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
There are newer reviews for Lamu House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

We travel often and have many excellent hotels -- most of the U.S. -- as a basis for comparison and I must say Lamu House ranks at the top of my list. Excellent, attentive service, a restaurant offering a tasty, varied menu, clean rooms, friendly staff makes this a wonderful option for those visiting Lamu Town. The standard of excellence is set by Belgium-native owners, Frank and Marianne whose artistic tastes and administrative management makes this place a gem in an already exotic setting. They hand you a cold drink and hot towel the minute you arrive as they show you the cooling pools, the hammock and the amenities of the common areas before going to your room.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

As a part of our Kenyan holiday, we wanted to experience Lamu culture and booked a three night stay at Lamu House for this very purpose. We had previously red the reviews here on Trip advisor and felt confident this would be a good choice, and thankfully we were right.

Although more of a B-n-B than a hotel, it does offer a decent restaurant open for all meals under a giant tree with views of the port. The B-n-B itself is a gorgeous Swahili villa with fantastic architecture, décor, and therefore ambiance. It really offers a special experience without sacrificing the comforts of a modern hotel. The pool, although we didn’t use it, looked inviting.

Every room is different and beautifully appointed but I have to recommend their premier suite on the top floor as something truly special and fantastic. Large expensive outdoor lounge areas with sweeping views of the town and ocean, combined with a beautiful bedroom and huge bathroom, is a unique experience not to be missed.

What made this very special was the combination of a luxurious Swahili villa with a topnotch B-n-B experience provided from the wonderful hosts Frank and Mariann. Nothing is too much trouble and they can arrange excursions, sightseeing, and also provide a beach club for their guests, so the place can also serve as a beach get away.
This is accommodation that serves as a destination in its own right.

Room Tip: The premier suite is fantastic and worth the extra money
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Missy2011Oslo_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Just completed a 5 night stay in one of the most outstanding B & Bs in all of East Africa. The hosts are warm and very helpful, the staff is attentive and expert, the rooms are elegantly appointed, and the entire hotel makes you feel as if you are staying in an ancient (albeit beautifully restored) Swahili house ( but with all modern necessities including very good wifi). The pool is clean and refreshing. And having now lived and worked in East Africa for the past 4 years, I can say that the restaurant rivals anything you will find in East Africa. The food is fresh and simple, yet elegantly prepared. Breakfasts are made to order, filling and delicious. And the bar actually stocks Oban Scotch! Owner Frank will arrange to take you to his Beach Club across on Manda Island or charter his beautifully restored dhow for various day trips. Certainly it's not the cheapest accommodation in Lamu, but it is worth every shilling. There is no other place to stay in Lamu in my opinion. I will come back for sure.

Room Tip: Ask Frank to describe each unique room so you can choose. Higher rooms are more likely to have terra...
Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We had been to Lamu House for lunch during a family trip. When we decided to go back just with the two of us, our choice was easy: Lamu House Hotel. It is an oasis with a personal touch. We felt at home the minute we stepped in the hotel and soon copied the owner's habit by walking barefoot in the hotel and even at the restaurant. Frank and his lovely wife are very approachable and are a great source of tips for Lamu. We were looking for a good local furniture maker and we got absolutely the right tip. The food and wines were great and our day at the Beach House was a perfect finish to a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suushil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Very cozy lamu style hotel run by a great couple. The hotel was beautiful and simple, the staff were kind and attentive, the owners were warm, friendly and extremely hospitable. the feel of the hotel was very laid back and like home. I cannot wait to go back.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Wambui B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Loved it! Everything was just perfect.
From the food, the service to the lovely decoration of each room.
Totaly recommended if you are going to Lamu!
From the first minute until the last you will feel in paradise

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Hélio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamu Island
0.3 mi away
Jannat House
Jannat House
#4 of 10 in Lamu Island
49 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Majlis Hotel
The Majlis Hotel
#1 of 1 in Manda Island
197 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kijani Hotel
Kijani Hotel
#2 of 10 in Lamu Island
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Red Pepper House
The Red Pepper House
#6 of 10 in Lamu Island
12 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lamu Palace Hotel
Lamu Palace Hotel
#8 of 10 in Lamu Island
34 reviews
7.7 mi away
Kizingo
Kizingo
#3 of 10 in Lamu Island
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamu House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamu House Hotel

Address: Kenyatta Avenue | Seafront, Lamu Island 80500, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Lamu Island
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Lamu Island
Price Range: £91 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamu House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel made of 2 Swahili houses adjoin, with 10 superior rooms, plunge pool. Luxury accommodation, in the Old Stone Town of Lamu, located on the seafront. Restaurant & coffee shop. Traditional dhows for comfortable excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Jovago.com so you can book your Lamu House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing