We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lamu is SAFE!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banana House & Wellness Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Banana House & Wellness Centre
Ranked #2 of 36 Lamu Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kabul
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lamu is SAFE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

It's a beautiful hotel with staff who are amazingly friendly. The room we stayed in was georgeous. I had great yoga sessions with Monika every day. The food that we had there was delicious. The island itself was deserted of tourists though because of the recent travel warnings. It was great for us as we got to enjoy quiet beaches as well as being pretty much the only tourists in town. I felt extremely safe.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mpmillar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    29
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
24
59
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We wished we could have stayed longer. Lamu is a very special and peaceful place and Banana House encompasses the hospitality and relaxation of the island. We had a great stay and hope more people get to discover this piece of paradise.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monika F, Owner at Banana House & Wellness Centre, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear guest, thank you for your review. We are happy that you had a splendid wedding on Lamu Island. Lamu Island is such a beautiful and peaceful and SAFE destination.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We had a very pleasant stay in this unfortunately too quiet a corner of paradise (although very nice for us) - with the current insecurity on the nearby mainland of late.

All we can say is that Lamu and Shella are somewhat needlessly suffering as a result of the travel warnings - and we could not have felt safer or more relaxed. The folks at Banana House were simply great - in every way, and the local communities of Shella and Lamu wonderfully welcoming and hospitable. The food at Banana House was fresh, tailored to local seasons, the staff kind and helpful in showing us around town, and Monika's yoga classes were just perfect.

So, folks, travel warnings aside (let's face it, you'd be a bit unlucky to be caught in a random terrorist event, none of which have occured on Lamu Island) for those of you not quite as risk adverse as some, how about visiting Lamu and contributing to the local economy in a hard spot. Goodness knows, local folks would appreciate your visit.

Room Tip: The penthouse is very spacious and airy - with a beautiful view of Shella and the Lamu Channel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monika F, Owner at Banana House & Wellness Centre, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear guest, thank you so much to write on Tripadvisor that you had a wonderful time in Lamu, in Shela and in Banana House! As it is so true what you write, we are all perfectly fine, Lamu ISLAND has always been peaceful and is also now very very peaceful. We have had NO INCIDENTS at the island! We do encourage everybody to come and experience it yourself. This is the best advertisement we can get! From other travellers! At this moment we also have British guests and they have a fantastic time, everybody is friendly, the weather is nice, the food excellent!
Karibuni Lamu!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

My sister daughter and I stayed at banana house at the beginning of June 2014. It is the rainy season and we all became ill and needed a doctor. The local nurse told us there was a diarrhea epidemic in lamu and shela and she tried to treat us but what we really needed was proper medical advice. I was very ill for 8 days and was seen by a doctor only when I returned to nairobi. Patricia teh manager was on holiday and I think the staff tried to help but there was no guidance for them to deal with this and despite a doctor being promised, he did not appear. We also dicovered that there was an outbreak of Denge fever in the area as well as typhoid which banana house seemed unaware of.

I think banana house staff have to be equipped to support holiday makers who may become ill and help with a doctor and taking samples to the hospital on Lamu. This will support their clients recovering quickly if they are ill as they can be prescribed the correct drugs. They also need to stock simple medication such as rehydrating salts.

Lamu and Shela beach are amazing places, Banana house may be a welcoming place to stay but our stay here was not at all good.

LYNN

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lynn k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monika F, Owner at Banana House & Wellness Centre, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Guest, I'm terribly sorry for you that you have been sick for 8 days. I would like to reflect on your review about our house. The day you arrived, as you travelled by road, one of you was already feeling sick. Therefore you have not fallen sick because of the service of Banana House. Our manager Patricia had just started her leave but came to see you. As your sickness did not improve our manager on duty , Saadi, helped by sending the nurse form our local dispensary to Banana House to see you and treat you. We have only a dispensary in Shela, not a hospital. the doctor was not around. The nurse gave you medicine and we also provided the local dehydration salts. We did our best to help you as much as possible but we are also no doctors. If Patricia or me would have been around I could have given you from our first aid box an antibiotic, but our staff can not give out medicine. Your suggestion to have some medicine available is a good one, we have our medicine box is ready. I hope you and your family have recovered again and that your doctor could tell you which virus or bacteria had caused your illness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khartoum, Sudan
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Title says it all - there are rats living in the grass roof of the hotel. Not a comfortable discovery. I would therefore suggest you check that this problem is eradicated before booking any of the top rooms -even if they do have the nicest wiew....

Room Tip: Avoid the top rooms before you check -at night- that rats have been eradicated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinaskatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monika F, Owner at Banana House & Wellness Centre, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear guest, we have read your review and we feel sorry for you that you have come across nature in our house. Rats or mice are never nice to see, specially not in your room. As we already had explained to you while you where at Banana House, our house is open, we have thatched roofs and we are in nature. With the rain season sometimes mice hide themselves in the thatched roof. Unfortunately you have experienced one. We already got rid of the mice while you where there. We do apologize. We are eco friendly but we do like mice to keep outside the house.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antiguo Cuscatlan, El Salvador
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed here twice in 2014 and both stays were very nice. Lamu is wonderful and is not to be missed-the best place on the Kenyan coast by far. Banana House is nicely decorated, comfortable and well located near the beach. The food is very good and the staff very attentive. The salt water pool is great and there are a lot of nice places to sit on the porch. Of course the pool gets filled with debris during the day as it is windy, but the staff cleaned it again when I asked We enjoyed the activities-sunset dhow and traditional cooking. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: If you want a bit more privacy ask to not be by the common areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Acebo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monika F, Owner at Banana House & Wellness Centre, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear guest, we are happy to hear you have come back and enjoyed Banana House again. We are a place home away from home and we love it when people can truly relax and enjoy the simple yet tasteful style and life of Shela and our house. We are pleased to hear that you just ask the staff if there is something you would like to be changed and that they can help you immediately. We hope to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Really lovely place to stay. Very welcoming, rooms are very clean and are turned down every evening. Chill out areas with hammocks outside your room. Food is lovely and if you catch anything on a days fishing the chefs will prepare a delicious feast for you.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Idocarealot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monika F, Owner at Banana House & Wellness Centre, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear guest, thank you for writing a review . We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the house, the staff and the food. Despite some rain you clearly know how to enjoy Lamu and Banana House.!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamu Island
0.0 mi away
Kijani Hotel
Kijani Hotel
#3 of 10 in Lamu Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
2.1 mi away
Jannat House
Jannat House
#4 of 10 in Lamu Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Majlis Hotel
The Majlis Hotel
#1 of 1 in Manda Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Red Pepper House
The Red Pepper House
#6 of 10 in Lamu Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
7.5 mi away
Kizingo
Kizingo
#2 of 10 in Lamu Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
1.8 mi away
Subira House
Subira House
#4 of 36 in Lamu Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana House & Wellness Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana House & Wellness Centre

Property: Banana House & Wellness Centre
Address: Plot 318, Lamu Island, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Lamu Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Lamu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banana House & Wellness Centre is small and cozy, yet spacious enough to let you enjoy its rarity. Retreat to Banana House, a very cool, elegant private guesthouse and the wellness centre offering yoga, retreats and massages. It has great views on the sea, the dunes and the village. The house is simply and tastefully furnished in Swahili style, with many different sitting areas, daybeds and hammocks. You will feel the love that Monika and Banana have put into the house to give it a homely and welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Jovago.com and Agoda so you can book your Banana House & Wellness Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing