We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accomodation, staff, food and location”
Review of Mara West Camp

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Masai Mara National Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mara West Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Staying at the Mara West really gives you a sense of African adventure while living in tents knowing that wild animals are nearby.

We saw a giraffe staring at our tent one morning and lions have been spotted by the staff frequently.

The scenery is breathtaking and the luxury tents are cosy, clean and spacious.

The electricity goes out at 10pm which means you have to be in bed early.

However this is probably a good thing as we got up at 5:30am for a morning safari. The west gate to the Masai Mara reserve is only 15 minutes away and early morning or evening safaris give you a better chance of spotting game like Leopards and Cheetahs.

The owner and the staff really took pride in accomodating our wishes and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KalpeshK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2011

An African Safari has been on my bucket list. This trip far exceeded my expectations and Mara West helped make it that way. I stayed in a mid-range and was surprised that it was still a tent--though with a private bath and shower. However after hearing the zebras munching grass in the night outside my tent and the lions roaring down in the valley I was glad it was a tent. Being on the top edge of the great rift (at 6,000') with the game reserve a 1,000 feet below it was shirt sleeve weather in the day time, but cool at night and the comforter provided was welcomed by the middle of the night. The only bad part of the trip was the rough roads getting to the park, but it was like a safari every time as we would see herds of zebra's, giraffes, and impalas, etc. and we just bounced with the bumps as we enjoyed the scenery. The drivers were excellent and the safaries in the game preserve were excellent. The first day we saw all 5 of "the big 5" game animals plus a lot more! I am still reveling in the the joy of this trip and hope to come back again and will definitely stay at Mara West.

Room Tip: The best views are at the high-end rooms, but there is a good view from the mid-range and they are p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SafariFan6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Mara West was such an amazing experience. You'll enjoy the world-class view of the Maasai Mara Reserve where you can relax and let go of the stress of the hectic world...it's no where to be found at Mara West. The high-end accomodations are supurb...the staff will go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need to make your stay very enjoyable. The food served by the staff is delicious! You will be lulled to sleep by the roar of the lions down in the park below and wake up to an amazing sunrise over the vast reserve. I highly recommend Mara West - I know "I'll" be back!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beautifulplace56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

I would highly recommend this place to travellers looking for a quality place to stay that is just outside the Masai Mara Reserve. We stayed in the high-end accommodations and they were just beautiful and so roomy. We had a huge deck with an absolutely spectacular view of the valley below us. The food was delicious - I tasted the best Pumpkin Ginger soup ever. The service was excellent and the staff were friendly and thoroughly accommodating. The place was exceptionally maintained and guests were made to feel very comfortable. I absolutely loved the place and enjoyed my stay very much there. Anyone who is looking for a place to stay close to the reserve would really love this place. The owner and the staff will especially look after you and do all they can to make your stay comfortable and happy.
If I ever go back to Kenya - this is the place I want to stay.

Room Tip: the owner &staff will do what they can to make you comfortable at all price ranges
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skoretz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

I have been to the Africa continent the past 3 years, and this is hands down, by far, the VERY best! If you are wanting to see animals, stay at Mara West. If you are wanting great food and accommodations, stay at Mara West. If you are wanting to experience Africa, stay at Mara West.
Andy, Francis and Grace are genuinely kind, loving people. They want you to have the best experience and go out of their way to ensure your comfort and happiness; however, truth be told, Mara West is already set up for comfort and happiness, so I think their job is easily accomplished.
To wake up in the morning to Zebra and Giraffe right outside your room and the smell of fresh Kenya coffee is paradise. I'm planning my return trip next Spring.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the High-End. It's totally worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsARTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

I stayed in the economy lodging at Mara West. The accommodations exceeded my expectations. The service was top notch, the food tasted delicious, and the views were spectacular! I felt like I was on a safari everyday--I got to see zebras, giraffe's, and elephant's even when I wasn't meaning to. Some animals would even roam through the camp at night! There are guard's at night who watch over the camp which made me feel very safe. One of the guard's told me that if you don't bother the animals, they won't bother you. When asked, the guard did say that he once wrestled a leopard when it came by the camp! He told me not to worry because he won! Of course he didn't kill the leopard but he did scare it away!
All in all, I had a spectacular time and would highly recommend Mara West!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happievoweless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

This hotel is amazing! It hosts mission groups in it's lower end tent huts and has the most amazing high end rooms overlooking the Mara. The zebras, giraffes and gazelle feel safe there as did we even though we could hear lions roaring in the night! The staff is 100% there for the visitors and the food was amazing! One night they brought out an individual pizza oven and made everybody therir own pizza. My daughter and I loved it! They also have the most incredible safari that I think you could be on, since they have been around the area so long. They know all the ins and outs and where to find the animals. One can fly there from Nairobi if yyou don't want to drive the slow dusty roads. I cannot say enough good abut this place!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pkj27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
32.8 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,066 reviews
13.1 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#6 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
198 reviews
23.7 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.7 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
119 reviews
30.3 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,056 reviews
20.1 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara West Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara West Camp

Address: C13, Oloololo Gate, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: £338 - £477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled against a wooded thicket and surrounded by savannah, Mara West provides nature lovers with luxury accommodations while experiencing the sights and sounds of an unforgettable African safari. Luxury tents are perched in secluded spots on an escarpment edge overlooking the vast plains of the Masai Mara Game Reserve giving tremendous views and a sense of private exclusion. Mara West is an American owned and managed private safari camp providing high quality service with beautifully designed, comfortable accommodations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mara West Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara West Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing