We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place where everyone knows your name . . .”
Review of Mara West Camp

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Masai Mara National Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mara West Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Incredible individual service. The entire staff knew our names after arriving. We were greated each time we came to the lodge by name. They constantly asked how things were and what the could do to help. The grounds are amazing with Giraffe, Zebra's and Baboons milling about. This was our first stop in Africa. What a great way to start a trip.

Our favorite part was a walking safari with John, a Masai male, who gave us incredible insight into the plant and animal life in the camp. His walk was totally eye opening. As a teacher, I love to learn, and John was an outstanding teacher. I really felt a close connection to their way of life and how they respect nature in such a positive way.

All of the staff took particular care. The offer electricity for only a few hours each day, but when they found out that I needed to charge multiple items and that I only had one converter, they extended the time for the generator by several hours. There were only about 6 visitors in the camp at the time. That was very accommodating.

We will definitely choose this place again when we go back and visit the Masai Mara in Kenya.

Room Tip: It was definitely having the upgraded room. I heard the other rooms were still very nice as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcooper1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace G, Manager at Mara West Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Hello,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we appreciate it. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed every bit of your Safari. It is our pleasure to make each and every guest feel at home while at Mara West Camp.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your walk and that you were able to learn quite a lot about the Mara and its flora and fauna.

Thanks again for choosing Mara West Camp. We look forward to having you, your family and friends stay with us the next time you are in the Masai Mara.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Mara West. The service could not have been any better and the food was delicious. And there is nothing like having to walk past zebras on your way to your tent to make you really feel the wonder of Africa. When we unzipped our tent in the morning we had zebras and giraffes right out front. The view was also amazing.

I was a little freaked out my the noises in the night but wouldn't take back a second.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bailesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace G, Marketing at Mara West Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Hello,

We appreciate the time you have taken to share about your stay at Mara West Camp and for the positive feedback.

It is heart warming to hear that you found the service, the food and the Mara West ambience great! We are glad that there is nothing you would change about your trip down to camp.

We look forward to having you and your family stay with us the next time you are in the Masai Mara.

Regards,
Mara West Camp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

When you finally get to this camp, it's Worth all the hours on the bumpy road! This must be the Perfect stay when visiting Masai Mara. The "tent-cabins" is a exciting and a special way to experience the Wild nightlife in Africa. We could hear Wild animals around Our cabin all night. :)
Waking up With Our own private view over the park, waching the sunset, was just amazing! If I'm not wrong, we had cabin number five, and this is highly recomended for the best view and private feeling. Staff was very friendly and helpfull. The Food was also amazing! Overall, this stay is one we will never forget, ever! Thank you all on Mara West for making this stay so great!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth_gm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace G, Marketing at Mara West Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Hello,

Thank you for sparing time to write a review about your stay at Mara West Camp. We place high priority on making sure that our guests have an amazing experience at the camp. That said, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We apologize for the bumpy ride to camp, the rains tend to damage roads around this time, but we are glad that the rough roads did not hinder having a worthy experience.

Our 'tent-cabins' have the best views of the Masai Mara Game Reserve. We are glad that you enjoyed watching the spectacular sunset and the privacy that your chalet provided, as well as the delicious food and our hospitable staff.

We are looking forward to giving you another unforgettable experience the next time you visit the Masai Mara!

Regards,
Mara West Camp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

From the moment you enter the Camp you'll fall in love with this place! There are so many great memories from our trip I don't know where to begin! From the early morning Sunrises, to the fantastic food, and the wonderful friendly staff! The Safari's we took were ABSOLUTELY amazing! There were so many animals everywhere you look! WOW! I recommend EVERYBODY put this experience on their "bucket list"!!! I plan on coming back and filling my bucket with this experience!

Room Tip: We stayed in the half tent-half Cabin units in the middle of Camp! Highly recommend these units! N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace G, Marketing at Mara West Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Hello,

Thank you for the positive feedback about your stay at Mara West.

We are so glad that you fell in love with the place from the onset of your stay, to enjoying the beautiful sunrise, the great food and our accommodating staff.

The safari experience is one of a kind. We are glad you had such an amazing time in the wild.

It would be an honour to share the 'bucket-list' experience with you the next time you are in the Masai Mara.

Regards,
Mara West Camp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Mara West is a beautiful camp. The accomodations are very comfortable with beautiful views from most cabins. I have stayed at 4 other camps in Africa and Mara West rates right up there with the best of them. This is the first un-gated camp I've stayed at and it was a real treat to have the animals wandering in and out of the camp. Zebra's literally come up on your porch. There were a couple of issues with the generator while I was there and there is no wifi although cellular access is great at the camp. I highly recommend visiting the Mara while in Africa and Mara West is the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace G, Marketing at Mara West Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Mara West.

It brings us great joy to know that you rate our camp as one of the best you have stayed in.

Electricity lines have not been put up around the Mara West area, however, we have a generator that runs at selected times. Usually it should run from 6:30 pm to around 10:30 pm in the evening and 5:30 am to 7:30 am. If that was not the case, we apologize for the inconvenience.

While we do not have a WI-FI system, guests can access the internet at the business office through out the day in case of emergencies or alerting people back home about your safe arrival at Mara West Camp.

We hope you and your friends will choose to come back to Mara West and enjoy an even better service.

Regards,
Mara West Camp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We loved our stay at Mara West. From the beginning, everyone was so friendly (meeting us at our vehicle when we arrived), they all made us feel welcomed. Grace took my luggage to our chalet, carrying it on her head!

Our cabin was amazing! It had a huge porch with chairs and a small table that looked out over the entire Masai Mara! By far, the prettiest view we had during our 3 week trip to Africa. Each afternoon a storm would come through and we had a double rainbow one day. The beds were very comfortable and we could see the sunrise in the mornings from our beds!

The food was outstanding. We looked forward to the soups each day. The chef came out during most every meal to make sure we loved our food and specifically asked us what our favorites were so he could try to make things we love! He was so warm and genuinely wanted us to have a great experience. Our server was friendly and we looked forward to talking to him each day. We learned a lot about the local tribes and customs from him. He was so interesting to talk to and was very smart and willing to share his stories!

I would highly recommend Mara West! And, if you go, I'd recommend taking the Hot Air Balloon ride as well!

I've already planned a return trip. I will be back in Africa (in Sept/Oct) with my parents this time, and we will stay for 3 nights at the Mara West. We will have 2 chalets this time, I hope one of them is the cabin we had on this trip! I can't wait!

Room Tip: Be sure to book a chalet - the views are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyVA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace G, Marketing at Mara West Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Hello,

Thank you for taking your time to give feedback about your stay at Mara West.

We are glad that you loved your stay with us from beginning to end and we will gladly share your positive feedback about our meals, the incredible views from camp and the friendliness of our staff.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again during your next stay at Mara West with your parents. Please get in touch with us to ensure you and your parents get your chalet of choice.

We can't wait to have you here again!

Regards,
Mara West Camp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This was the 6th time our team had stayed at Mara West. The accommodations were modest where we stayed in the mission camp area, but the food was great and the Christian hospitality was fantastic. The overview of the Mara was gorgeous at sunrise before breakfast. The roads getting there can be a bit rough although the road had been improved since our last visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanWazzu78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace G, Marketing at Mara West Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Hello,

Thank you for your positive feedback of your stay at Mara West Camp.

It is such a great joy to hear the number of times you have been at camp!

We hope you keep coming!

Regards,
Mara West Camp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
32.8 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 9 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,105 reviews
23.7 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 9 in Masai Mara National Reserve
254 reviews
30.7 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 9 in Masai Mara National Reserve
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#5 of 9 in Masai Mara National Reserve
207 reviews
30.3 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 9 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,103 reviews
20.1 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 9 in Masai Mara National Reserve
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara West Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara West Camp

Address: C13, Oloololo Gate, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: £232 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled against a wooded thicket and surrounded by savannah, Mara West provides nature lovers with luxury accommodations while experiencing the sights and sounds of an unforgettable African safari. Luxury tents are perched in secluded spots on an escarpment edge overlooking the vast plains of the Masai Mara Game Reserve giving tremendous views and a sense of private exclusion. Mara West is an American owned and managed private safari camp providing high quality service with beautifully designed, comfortable accommodations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mara West Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara West Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing