We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incomparable place”
Review of Karen Blixen Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Karen Blixen Camp
Certificate of Excellence
East Palatka, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Incomparable place”
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We came to Karen Blixen Camp as the last stop on a Road Scholar safari trip in Kenya. What a wonderful way to end the trip of a lifetime. Our "tent" was a lovely, luxurious place, our room steward was so helpful and kind, the dining room was beautifully furnished and the food delicious, thanks to their chef and cooking school, and the game drives each day were spectacular. Just relaxing on the veranda a-in the evening was pleasure enough, watching the hippos in the river or the birds on the lawn. The Mara's varied landscape, wildlife, history, and beauty will dazzle every visitor. Karen Blixen Camp is the perfect home from which to see this beautiful part of Kenya.

Room Tip: All the luxury tents are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    30
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
99
161
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hessisch Oldendorf, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We came to Karen Blixen Camp during our honeymoon vacation and flew in from Ukunda. Our driver picked us up from the airstrip and from that moment we had one speechless moment following the other! The camp is beautiful, service is excellent. The game drives were a lifetime experience and we will never forget these days!
The cold nights were so cozy in our beautiful tent, as we found hot water bags in our beds every night, which were prepared during dinner. Food was excellent, too and the picknicks during the drives also beautiful! This whole place leaves you speechless. The view over Mara river, the opportunity to watch hippos, elephants, giraffes etc. while having a drink or lunch in the garden was so good.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Sensational "grownup holiday" with kids (ages 6, 8,10 and 14) as we all discovered the beauty of the Mara landscape, animals and people. This place is definitely not for the fainthearted or customers who want wifi in rooms , minibars and their satellite TV package....but if you want an 'authentic' break from the mad lives we lead -and to recharge on the enthusiasm of guides with real passion and respect for the animals and place-we couldn't imagine better. Best of all -we felt no sense of anyone being superficially warm to you because they were looking for a quick tip (as we found elsewhere we stayed in Kenya) ...which led us all to want to tip as a way of genuinely saying "thank you" .
Finally, the camp is beautiful and extremely well run-critically both day and night (when you are well guarded from regular night time visitors!)
Thank you to Freddie and is lovely team

Room Tip: Take ear plugs if you are a light sleeper . The noise of the bush will keep you awake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2012

From the moment I stepped off the plane in the Mara North Conservancy to the moment I bid farewell to new friends some days later, the staff at Karen Blixen Camp (KBC) provided me with a superlative and unforgettable time. Situated adjacent a waterhole, along the banks of the Mara River, one could simply sit on the verandah all day long and watch the parade of giraffes, warthogs, impalas and others as the resident hippos provide endless fascination. But better to go on the 'game drives' to experience the incredible natural diversity of the fascinating Mara
North Conservancy - a remarkable private 'reserve' where vast numbers of wildlife seem to co-exist well with the landowners, the Masai, and their livestock. From the luxurious tented cabin, with balcony-like deck, one hears the flow of the river and the calls of several types of birds. Solar-heated showers cleanse one after a drive or perusal of the lovely grounds on foot. The staff were fantastic to a person, always graciously extending every courtesy, and the food exceptional. All of the guides are Masai, as are many of the other employees, and the relationship between KBC and the local landowners is one of mutual benefit. Innovative projects - such as the forestry and IT training and cooking classes - may serve as models for the region. This was without a doubt among the very best places I have ever had the privilege to visit (and I am a widely traveled naturalist/field biologist).

Very special thanks go to Sunil for his kindness and companionship, to Dominic and Nicholas for being such excellent and knowledgeable guides, to Sharon, Lilian, Susan, and Kisaka, and so many others, for the best hospitality imaginable. A simply fabulous place in a magnificent wild setting with equally fabulous people -- a place that I cannot recommend enough.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBenito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossett, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2012

I have just returned home to a wet and dismal UK after an incredible week at Karen Blixen Camp. This was my first stay there but will not be my last. It was outstanding. I travel a lot, and have been to Africa many times but this property stood out.
Wildlife was really GREAT. Had multiple leopard sightings, close to lions too. But what made it really special were the staff. manager Sunil, guides Dominic and Nicholas, who were so very knowledgeable and informative. Everyone was great. Fabulous food, fabulous setting, lovely tents with nice outdoor showers. Bird life from my balcony was incredible. Watched a hawk being mobbed by a paradise flycatcher. This would be a great place to go as a couple, or with friends. LOVED it! Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Think they are all lovely! I was in 19 which was a 2-3 minute walk from main lounge area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieQBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We stayed here for a few nights for our honeymoon. We were greeted with a refreshing passion fruit juice upon arrival and the host, Lillian, was very welcoming.
We had the same waiter for the whole visit, which we liked, since he was great! We received a complimentary 1-hour massage, which was incredible and one of the best I've ever had (I opted for the aromatherapy massage).
The camp is situated in front of a river, with a resident hippo pod. It makes for amazing scenery and while we were there we saw elephants, gazelles, giraffes and the hippos while hanging around the main dining hall.
Every night there was some form of entertainment, from a traditional Masai dance to a 'sundowner' (drinks and appetizers with a beautiful view of the sun setting).
The food was okay, not outstanding but decent. There is wifi in the main reception area that works so-so. You can go to the office where the signal is stronger if you really need to get on.
The manager, Freddie, was always available and would send you off on safari every day and greet you when you get back. The gift shop is quite nice with reasonable prices, we got some nice gifts and souvenirs.
A third day would have been really nice to do the morning drive (6:30am), then relax at the camp until the afternoon drive at 4pm. The scenery and the tents are beautiful but we barely spent any time at the camp since we did full-day drives to see as many animals as possible.
We saw some amazing things and the landscape is beautiful.
A word of caution about staying in the tents (at this camp and others), expect that people will come and go out of your tent even if you lock up (for room clean up, evening turn down, and maybe some 'unscheduled' visits), so do NOT leave cash in your tent (even in your bag) at ANY time, even for an hour to eat lunch, or any other valuables you would be sorry to lose.
We would recommend this camp and hope to return!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K-STARR_777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We went there for our honeymoon in october 2012, and had an amazing time. The staff are so nice and we felt welcome right from the beginning. The drivers have a lot of knowledge about the area and the animals there and we enjoyed every game drive. They really do everything to make sure its a trip you never forget.

We strongly recommend Karen Bilxen Camp

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
33.7 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,029 reviews
7.9 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#14 of 139 in Masai Mara National Reserve
913 reviews
29.8 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
#4 of 139 in Masai Mara National Reserve
332 reviews
22.7 mi away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#3 of 139 in Masai Mara National Reserve
494 reviews
12.1 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karen Blixen Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karen Blixen Camp

Property: Karen Blixen Camp
Address: Marula Lane 40C | PO Box 9913-00100 GPO NBO, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Karen Blixen Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karen Blixen Camp in the Masai Mara offers an authentic ’yesteryear’ experience for visitors wishing to gain that little extra from their safari. Set on the bank of the Mara River; the location is spectacular. Throughout the day elephants, giraffes, zebras and impalas come for a drink while a large hippo pod rest lazily in the river. The Camp gives a feeling of the early 1920’s era with beautiful and comfortable furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Karen Blixen Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karen Blixen Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Karen Blixen Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing