We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Start of a dream vacation”
Review of Karen Blixen Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Karen Blixen Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Start of a dream vacation”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Our first trip to Africa, was part mission trip and then a series of safari's. We started at the Karen Blixen Camp and we couldn't have had a better time. The Staff, from manager Lilliana, to Nicholas our game guide was first class. Everything about the camp, the tents, the food, the wild life, the massages EVERYTHING was great. I never felt more welcome, and apprecaited that I did here. The staff made an effort to get to know everyone in our group by first name, and they went out of their way to make sure you are happy. As for the game drives, get Nicholas as your driver and guide, he was so knowledgable, friendly and went the extra effort to assure we saw EVERYTHING we came for. We will be back someday !

Room Tip: Tents closer to the main lodge are best, we had #6 and it was a 2 minute walk to dinner, perfect! G...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    30
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
97
160
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
47 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I enjoy wildlife and am an ardent wildlife photographer. Ive been on more than 7 safari holidays. But this was the best. The Family Tents are ideal. Two tents adjacent to each other built up on the same platform. The river gently meandering in front of your tent is an awesome delight.

The special bush fire dinners and sundowners arrange by the camp was a bonus. From the camp manager, to the waiter the service is tops. Food is good and they try to please. Our guide Dominic was the best...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DunamisArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I stayed here for three nights in June, 2014. It absolutely exceeded any expectations. The tent was large and very comfortable, with a private outside shower. Plenty of hot water and 24 hour electricity. From the porch of my tent I saw elephants, giraffes, hippos, crocodiles, zebras, and antelopes. And of course birds and more birds.

The staff was extremely warm, attentive, and helpful. The food was very good and beautifully presented. The whole visit couldn't have been more perfect.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Calgranny2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Incredible animal viewing while staying in total luxury with a warm and helpful staff is what this camp offers. We saw a large lion pride, a shy leopard, cheetah, giraffes, wildebeest, every antelope species and a river full of hippos. Our tent was lovely with a large bathroom and an outdoor shower. I showered under steamy hot water while looking through the trees to the sky above.
The staff is gracious and could not do enough to make our stay perfect. I had a game walk which was a treat and something you could never do in the Mara proper. Although I expected to find less animals in the Mara North Conservancy I was surprised to find more. We sat a few feet away as a an entire lion pride had a roaring fest, the sound reverberated through us. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: We were in tent number 7, closest to the lodge and loved it. It sounded like the hippos were right o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susan n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

From the moment we arrived until the check we were amazed each and every minute,while having lunch we could see a group of hippo out basking at the river bank while down stream we could see some crocks on rocks also basking and all this while we were having our lunch.

Thanks to our service guy Charles and Safari who provided the Gin and tonics we got a surprise diner on the DECK just out side our room,we could here hyenas like they are a few meters away from our tent.

We had the best game guides who gave us Leopards not one or two but 4 of them,lions and a cheetah family.
Every thing was just out standing.

Room Tip: Tent 1 is too far and bushy only the courageous take it .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
245 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This was the first Safari camp my dad,sister and I stayed at on our very first trip to Kenya and we loved it. Even after we stayed at 4 others we all agreed that this was the best one.
There was only 1 other person staying there when we were there so it felt as if we had the whole place to ourselves.
We had 2 nights here. When we first arrived we took an immediate well deserved nap. After an early morning flight in from Nairobi and an amazing experience flying into the Mara and seeing all sorts of animals underneath us we were just exhausted (not to mention an 18 hour plane trip the day before).
When we woke up we were given lunch by the watering hole while watching the hippos.Then we had an afternoon game drive and saw lots of animals. It was amazing that we could just drive anywhere we wanted. If you see a lion far away you can just drive over to it. Unbelievable experience.
The staff were all so friendly. Special mention to our lovely driver Duncan who put up with lack of knowledge and millions of questions and also to Benson who was always there at meal times to have a joke with us.
The tents were well maintained and very secure although ours did have a gap somewhere that let mosquitoes in but we just sprayed them all anyway.
They were building some new stuff at the camp while we were there as it was the off seasons but they made sure to never do anything that would cause too much noise while we were there. They waited til we left on our game drives.
We arranged a balloon safari through the hotel and that was amazing. I highly recommend doing that.
The only complaint came from my dad: THE HIPPOS DONT EVER SHUT UP!

Room Tip: Get one close to the main building. It's less of a walk at night time when you have to have a gu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

A camp on its own by Nature.Unforgettable view of Hippos just at your Dining area and Tent.
Get your time to dine with wildlife eg Antelopes,Reptiles etc at the famous mara north conservancy.Hospitable Staff/Best tour Guides ever/ massive game in a open 4x4 name them.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cal106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
30.4 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
12.1 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
7.9 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#13 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#18 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
24.9 mi away
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho
#7 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
29.8 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karen Blixen Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karen Blixen Camp

Property: Karen Blixen Camp
Address: Marula Lane 40C | PO Box 9913-00100 GPO NBO, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Karen Blixen Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karen Blixen Camp in the Masai Mara offers an authentic ’yesteryear’ experience for visitors wishing to gain that little extra from their safari. Set on the bank of the Mara River; the location is spectacular. Throughout the day elephants, giraffes, zebras and impalas come for a drink while a large hippo pod rest lazily in the river. The Camp gives a feeling of the early 1920’s era with beautiful and comfortable furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Karen Blixen Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karen Blixen Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Karen Blixen Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing