We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience of a lifetime”
Review of Offbeat Mara Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Masai Mara National Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Offbeat Mara Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Experience of a lifetime”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

So far this was my best vacation ever! Lots of game, Very good horses, very good guide and super group. The food was also excellent and the tents are so lovely. I can highly recomend the Offbeat Safaris and riding tours to anyone loving adventure and fit for riding. I loved meeting hippos, lions, elephants and lots of other game on horse trek and on game drive. The whole staff is lovely and is takking very good care of us guests.

Room Tip: if you do your safari with a mobile camp, take care to bring a flash light with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you very much for your great review here on TripAdvisor. It sounds like you had an amazing time and were well looked after by Katie, Jamie and the rest of the team.
We hope to see you back again at Offbeat Mara soon.
Piers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
63
85
40
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

The Offbeat Mara camp provided us with a very comfortable stay in the Mara North Conservancy. From the morning delivery of coffee and tea in our tent to the hot showers and delicious meals at the camp, we could not have asked for more, and certainly didn’t feel as though we were roughing it. Katie and Jamie, the camp managers, along with the rest of the staff, provided a welcoming home-base in between our daily adventures out in the bush.

Our guides, David and Levi, were skilled and knowledgeable. They had a keen sense of where to look for some of the more elusive animals, and with them we were able to see things like cheetahs, an aardvark, baby hyenas, and a two-week old giraffe, just to name a few. In addition they were incredibly friendly and fun to be around, and their determination to give us the best experience possible will never be forgotten.

Our memories from this awesome experience will be with us forever, and we hope to have an opportunity to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1111PaulD1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you very much for your great review here on TripAdvisor. It sounds like you had an amazing time and I will pass on your comments to Katie, Jamie, David, Levi and the rest of the team.
Fantastic that you got to see an Aardvark - we see less of these than the elusive leopard so a very lucky sighting. Well Done!
We hope to see you back again at Offbeat Mara soon
Piers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2013

I've been on two safaris in the Masai Mara, one in 2007 and one in 2013. The 2013 we stayed at Offbeat and absolutely LOVED it. The hosts were excellent. The guides were so helpful and authentic. The food was great. And the sleeping arrangements were cozy. I would do it again in a heartbeat. Choosing Offbeat is an EXCELLENT choice for a safari! The bonfires on the African plains while watching the sunset puts the icing on the cake. Seriously, choose Offbeat.

Room Tip: Don't let the tents scare you. They are secure and very luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cody H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you very much for your great review here on TripAdvisor and I am very glad you had such a good stay.
We hope to welcome you back to Offbeat soon
Piers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2013

I just got back from 5 nights at offbeat Mara camp. . Great setting and facilities. It was my first tent experience but settled in easily. The hot water bottle was a welcome sight at the end of a long day. The hosts ( Jamie and Katie) were attentive and despite there relatively young ages managed to host the dinners very well.
Game viewing was excellent and my guide made the drives fun.
I would probably combine this camp with another next time to get a varied game experience but thoroughly enjoyed myself at Offbeat.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manish V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Thank you very much for your review here and great you had an amazing experience.
I will pass on your comments to Katie, Jamie and the team and we hope to see you back at Offbeat Mara Camp again
Piers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

I can't say enough about the experience I had. The accommodations and the setting within the conservatory was fabulous. Add to that a staff who wants this to be a trip of a lifetime and you have a great combination. Thanks again to each of them for making my safari so special.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanibel472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Thank you very much for your review here. I am thrilled you had such a great time and I will pass your comments onto the team.
We hope to see you again at Offbeat Mara soon!
Piers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

After three weeks in Kenya with a group of college students, I was eager to visit Offbeat Mara. My Masai guide and spotter (David and James) met me at the airstrip and provided the first watching experience on our drive to camp before lunch. I was amazed by how many species we saw over three days, including two lionesses and six cubs on our way to my farewell flight! Being virtually unplugged was actually a relief--wifi available in the office tent in the evenings, and I didn't miss TV at all. Meals were superb with great service in the mess tent! Oh....and love the superbly stocked bar! Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the outer tents in order to get unobstructed views of the hillside in front of the ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Thank you very much for your great review here and I am very happy you had such a great time.
I will pass your comments onto Katie, Jamie, David, James (Mukenye) and the rest of the crew.
We hope to welcome you back to Offbeat Mara soon
Piers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2013

My first visit to Offbeat Mara was three years ago with my then 16 year old daughter, and it was heaven on earth! EVERYTHING was perfect and we decided this was our "happy place." I returned the following year with two of my closest friends and they agreed, HEAVEN! Back AGAIN, this past January with three more friends who have not stopped thanking me for sharing this amazing experience with them!!! I am now planning my fourth trip for this coming July with my daughter, AGAIN!

In my opinion the North Conservancy is perfection. Some days you can go all day and only see a few other vehicles, usually in the distance. The game is ridiculous! Cheetahs, Leopards, and the Offbeat Pride EVERYDAY! And the Offbeat Maasai guides are unbelievable, we always request Joseph and Kimani although they are ALL amazing. Kimani is one of the funniest guys you will ever met.

The service is topnotch and the comfort level high. The food is wonderful, the wine plentiful and the camp management is beyond. I work in both the US and Kenya and can go months without a day off but just 3 or 4 days here and I can completely recharge my severely depleted self. I can jump back into my crazy life not only rested (best sleep ever when I am there) but filled with a sense of calm and focus.

OK. I have run out of superlatives and hate redundancy, so I will sign off, for now. I am sure you are going to have the time of your life.

Cheers.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamamary001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Than you very much for your great review here on TripAdvisor and we are thrilled that you love Offbeat Mara so much.
Great your friends had such a good time and we look forward to seeing you and your daughter again in July.
I will pass your comments on to Joseph and Kimani and the rest of the team and see you soon!
Piers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
12.2 mi away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#14 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
5.4 mi away
Porini Lion Camp
Porini Lion Camp
#6 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
14.7 mi away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#3 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#13 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
4.9 mi away
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
#12 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
16.8 mi away
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho
#8 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Offbeat Mara Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Offbeat Mara Camp

Property: Offbeat Mara Camp
Address: Mara North Conservancy | Masai Mara, Kenya, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offbeat Mara Camp is a six tented traditional camp situated in the Mara North Conservancy in an area rich in wildlife. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Offbeat Mara Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Offbeat Mara Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing