We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our family experience in Offbeat Mara was incredible!!”
Review of Offbeat Mara Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Masai Mara National Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Offbeat Mara Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

As a family of 4, we had the most wonderful 3 nights at Offbeat Mara. We loved every precious moment of our safari adventure.
Lara and Kyle were charming and hospitable hosts and took a genuine interest in our children whether it was making fires or listening to their animal stories (Was there really a lion outside my tent in the night?!)
We had lots of fun with the other guests. Dinner was beautifully presented and delicious and was usually followed by a couple of spontaneous party games!!!
The camp was immaculate. It is in the most stunning location, quietly tucked away from all the larger camps and lodges in the area.
Josphat our guide and Kimani our spotter, couldn't have been more patient or knowledgeable. They were keen to share all their expertise and enthusiasm with us. They were so flexible and relaxed. We saw many many animals. Most of the time, there wasn't another vehicle in sight (except when we set off to find the wildebeest crossing)
We are longing to return and feel very jealous of anyone who is planning to stay here soon...We'll be back to find the leopard. Thank you for such a wonderful few days.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely review here and it's wonderful to hear that you and your family had such a great time at Offbeat Mara Camp. I will be sure to pass your comments on to Kyle, Lara, Josphat, Kimani and the rest of the team.

It's fantastic to hear that you appreciated the location of our camp, the Mara North Conservancy goes from strength to strength, it is a beautiful part of the Mara and as you say, quiet and away from the crowds and other vehicles. Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the after dinner party games, the food and that your children were so well looked after.

We hope to see you and your family back in the Mara soon, for another go at spotting that ever elusive Leopard.

Piers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

My wife and I stayed at the camp in early August 2014. We have nothing but good things to say!! Kyle and Lara were top notch hosts. They made us feel so welcome and do an amazing job encouraging (but definitely not forcing) interaction among the guests. The group sundowners were a brilliant idea and the other guests were great people. We even played games after dinner that was fun for all ages!

The walking safari we did with Kyle was a real treat. I want to thank him for encouraging us to experience the Mara on foot. It was fantastic. Kyle and Lara were always able to bring a smile to my face during conversations.

During our stay our guide was Levy and he was amazing! Would definitely recommend Levy to other guests. He takes such pride in his work and his encyclopedic knowledge of the wildlife is remarkable. He really does a great job catering the experience to what you want. When Levy noticed that we were interested in all the wildlife (including birds, smaller animals) he went out of his way to point out more intricate aspects of the Mara while still making sure to find the bigger animals. I think Levy will soon be a measuring stick for other guides.

The food at Offbeat Mara was astonishingly tasty!! I don't know how they do it in a tented kitchen but the food during our stay was better than the vast majority of the restaurants we go to in the US. The recipes are very creative and all delicious!!!!!!

The quality of the tents is also spectacular. They are extremely nice and all the finishings are very elegant. Would definitely say that are superior to other tented camps I have been to.

I highly recommend Offbeat Mara. Kyle, Lara, Levy and all the rest of the staff are wonderful!!! I wish you a lot of luck going forward!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agubbino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely review here and it's wonderful to hear that you had such a wonderful time at Offbeat Mara Camp. I will be sure to pass your comments on to Kyle, Lara, Levy and the rest of the team.

It's fantastic to hear that you appreciated the high standard of our guides, such as Levy, as they are some of the best guides around and really take pride in their work. So it's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed Levy's knowledge of the Mara so much and that he made sure to tailor the game drives to you. Also lovey to hear that you liked exploring the Mara on foot with Kyle, it does give you a whole new perspective. And thank you for you wonderful comments on the food and on the tents.

We hope to see you back in the Mara soon.

Piers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Thoroughly enjoyable stay ay Offbeat Mara due to the best guide and spotter duo of Joseph and Kap-an (apologies for any misspelling - if you reading this Kap-an!) Their knowledge of the Mara eco-system and history of the Masa people was immense, I saw some of the most amazing animal interaction with these fellas within the conservancy (both morning and night drives) and within the Mara reserve. I must applaud Joseph's respectful approach to viewing the animals, allowing them space and time to show their natural behaviour. Unfortunately not all guides behave in the same way within the Mara reserve. The conservancy is very beautiful with stunning scenery and quite different from the reserve, a much more private experience and thoroughly more enjoyable due to this.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Londoner29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you very much for your great review here and it's wonderful to hear that you had such a lovely time at Offbeat Mara Camp. I will pass your comments on to Kyle, Lara, Joseph, Kapeen and the rest of the team.

It's fantastic to hear that you appreciated the high standard of our guides and spotters as they are some of the best guides and spotters around and really take pride in their work and also having both a spotter and a guide along on game drives, like Joseph and Kapeen, does increase your chances of seeing wildlife. It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed their knowledge of the Mara eco-system and history of the Masai people and got to see some amazing animal interaction within the conservancy. And yes Mara North Conservancy goes from strength to strength and it is a beautiful part of the Mara and lovely to hear that Joseph was respectful when approaching the animals, allowing them space and time to show their natural behaviour.

We hope to see you back in the Mara soon.

Piers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Offbeat Mara was a brilliant place to stay. The location is excellent.
Josfet was a great guide, and with Ken showed us a lot of wildlife. Kyle and Lara were fantastic hosts, they were really accommodating and nothing was too much trouble for them. All the staff were very friendly, they make all the guests feel right at home and all the food was superb.
Enjoyed a great walk with Kyle, and all activities, lots of good sightings. The sundowners on the last night was a lovely touch, and ended a great holiday!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely review here and it's great to hear that you had such a great time at Offbeat Mara Camp. I will pass your comments on to Kyle, Lara, Josphat, Ken and the rest of the team.

It's great to hear that you appreciated the camps beautiful location, Josphat and Ken's expertise and that you enjoyed the food and were well looked after by our lovely staff. And fantastic to hear that you enjoyed the walk with Kyle and the sundowners at the end.

We hope to see you back in the Mara soon.

Piers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Hosts Kyle and Lara made us very welcome on our 5 night stop. One or both were always available to see us off on drives, welcome us back, and check all was OK. Couldn't have asked for better service. Lara was also very helpful when one of our party was ill, and needed TLC.
Guides were excellent, especially David, who was informative and made every effort to ensure we got to see as much as possible.
Food was extremely good. Camp site is well maintained, in a great location, with instant access to so much wild life - stunning.
This was the best family holiday we could have hoped for, and far exceeded our expectations. Thanks to all concerned.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review here and it's great to hear that you had such a lovely time at Offbeat Mara Camp. I will pass your comments on to Kyle, Lara, David and the rest of the team.

It's great to hear that you appreciated the camps beautiful scenery, David's expertise and that you enjoyed the food. And lovely to hear that Lara took such good care of your poorly group member and I hope that he/she is feeling better.

We hope to see you back in the Mara soon.

Piers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We were given a first rate experience in this authentic, small camp which gives you a real feel of being close to wild animals while being looked after very well. Excellent staff from camp managers to massai guides. Lovely tent with excellent view. Delicious food including lunch and breakfast in the bush. Driven and walking safaris got us really close to animals, and taught us so much more about our surroundings. We were asked what we wanted to do and looked after at every turn. Could not have asked for more!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Samantha O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review here and it's great to hear that you had such a lovely time at Offbeat Mara Camp. I will pass your comments on to Kyle, Lara and the rest of the team.

It's nice to hear that you appreciated the standard of our staff as they really take pride in their work. Great to hear that you enjoyed lunch and breakfast in the bush and the walking Safaris which do get you a lot closer to the animals and do teach you so much more about your surroundings, as you say. And lovely to hear that you enjoyed the tents and the view that allows you to spot wildlife without even having to leave your tent.

We hope to see you back in the Mara soon.

Piers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Let me begin by saying that this is one of the best values to be found in the Masaai Mara -- we loved being in the North Conservancy. The tents are rustic but comfortable with chic details. The food is thoughtful, plentiful and high quality. Your glass is literally never empty and no requests go unmet -- sundowner and night drive a MUST!!! Most of all, the guides are incredible. There is a spotter and driver in every vehicle (which is rare) and this really increases your chances of seeing wildlife. The game drives are endless -- you never feel like you are rushed or on a schedule and any requests in terms of start and end times were accommodated. Make sure you ask for breakfast on the river by the Hippos!!! Amazing! The one thing to consider is what type of experience you are looking for. While we loved the intimacy of a small camp the vibe at Offbeat Mara is very social. While you can absolutely stay in your tent or arrange to have private meals, the "mess tent" area is very communal and it is hard to find a quiet place to read and all meals at camp are family style. Again, this is not a complaint but it is something to consider based on your preference and who you are with. We were only there for one night, but had we been there longer we would have asked for an intimate dinner for just our friends so we could have some private time. Consider doing this if you are in a small group and the camp is full.

Room Tip: We stayed in tent #4 (family tent) which was PERFECT for three people -- either three friends or a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review here and it's great to hear that you had such a lovely time at Offbeat Mara Camp. I will pass your comments on to Kyle, Lara and the rest of the team.

It's nice to hear that you appreciated the standard of our guides as they are some of the best guides around and really take pride in their work and also having both a spotter and a guide along on game drives, it does increase your chances of seeing wildlife as you say . And yes Mara North Conservancy goes from strength to strength and it is a beautiful part of the Mara. Great to hear that you enjoyed the sundowners, night drives and breakfast on the river by the Hippos as well. And you are right, dinner is usually held in the Mess tent and everyone sits together but guests are more than welcome to request a private dinner.

We hope to see you back in the Mara soon.

Piers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
12.6 mi away
Ngerende Island Lodge
Ngerende Island Lodge
#71 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
154 reviews
8.1 mi away
Karen Blixen Camp
Karen Blixen Camp
#16 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
360 reviews
7.6 mi away
Sentinel Mara Camp
Sentinel Mara Camp
#27 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Mara Bush Camp
Mara Bush Camp
#17 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
247 reviews
14.7 mi away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#2 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
516 reviews
16.8 mi away
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
#3 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Offbeat Mara Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Offbeat Mara Camp

Address: | Mara North Conservancy, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 146 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: £250 - £349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offbeat Mara Camp is a seven tented traditional safari camp situated in the Mara North Conservancy in an area rich in wildlife. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Offbeat Mara Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Offbeat Mara Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing