We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Masai Experience”
Review of Oldarpoi Mara Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oldarpoi Mara Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Masai Experience”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The team at Oldarpoi Mara Camp really exceeded my expectations. On arrival they greeted my friends and I with a dance, bright smiles and a refreshing drink. The accommodation was really comfortable and extremely safe. For extra peace of mind there is always a Masai Warrior patrolling the nights until sunrise. The food was amazing and service was second to none. The game drive is only minutes away from the camp and exploring the wildlife was amazing. We even experienced how the local villages live. Truly a life changing experience.
They even clothed me as a Masai Warrior! :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alfiojr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    28
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
32
57
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orebro, Sweden
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We, a Swedish family with two Children(3 and 5) went to Oldarpoi two nights over easter. We had a wonderful time there. The staff at the camp is very friendly and makes you feel like one in a big family. We loved sitting at the Bonfire where both guest and guides told stories from our countries and Cultures.
We had a wonderful daytour with our excellent guide Lenny Koshal. He has a really good knowledge about the most animals in Mara and we love the fact that he is born in the area and know a lot about Maasai Culture and the surroundings. We wish that more safari companies should use the people from the neighbour hood as staff and guides, as Oldarpoi do.
An extra plus for this camp is that we know that the owner do a great work for the community as building schools and keep an open discussion about Maasai Maras future.
We Think that is very important for the enviroment, the wildlife and people in Maasai Mara.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sofia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Okay, if you are looking for a unique and very special holiday/vacation, I can 100% recommend Kenya. I spent one month there 5 years ago and have been wanting to go back ever since then.

In Kenya, the people are so friendly and welcoming, and that absolutely includes Nelson and Meg who operate the Oldarpoi Mara Camp, on the edge of the Masai Mara National Park. Trust me, the scenes you you will see will completely blow your mind!. The operators are local people, so know the best places to go and the best times to go there. You will be eating great local food, and the best part, it is completely affordable, the camp's prices are very reasonable.

It may sound like an advertisement for the camp, but it is definitely not. It is simply a heads-up on something I know will be an amazing experience (from personal experience) if you go!

Room Tip: Ask for the room near the Leopard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jase8au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

While this trip did not include a stay at the oldarpoi Mara camp, we did untilizes Nelson from the camp to organize our 5 day/4 night safari in Tanzania. He did an excellent job organizing our tour and came up with an itinerary that maximized our time in the Serengeti and ngorogoro. I would highly recommend his service to anyone and look forward to visiting the oldarpoi Mara camp someday.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We discovered this place via a google search of clean, reasonably priced, good-practices safari camps and we were not disappointed. What sold us on the place is the New York Times article written about owner/founder Nelson! He is helping the local community with his business and he is advocating for girls to not be mutilated, trying to change the culture from within. Wow- - it was great to meet him- he even ate meals with us -and personally accompanied us on our safari! It is a family run business and from the moment you arrive you are greeted with mango juice and the entire staff is there. You have a campfire where you share stories and the meals are served in a neat simple, yet clean room all together with other guests. Nelson arranged everything for us, from pick up in a remote location to drop off at the airport. He also was honest in terms of how long we would need for the safari. We had at first thought about only coming for one night and doing a half day safari and he said, no, don't do that. Another safari camp said that would be fine- we were coming from 6 hours away and it would not have been worth it. I appreciated his honesty. _one criticism is he had quoted one price then came back at 400 more -But, the rooms were clean and the staff lovely and he's a wonderful person. -Thank you- Cornelia Becker Seigneur - with twins, age 16, my daughter age 23 and her husband!

Room Tip: PIck a tent that has a covering on it to make it look less like a tent-and pick one with trees nearb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cornelia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orebro, Sweden
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2014

During our stay in Kenya, we spent four days at Oldarpoi. We were met by a very friendly, family atmosphere where we felt like members of a lovely family. The accommodation is of good, clean and basic standards. Tasty and hearty cuisine.
Very good games drive, with our skilled and competent guides and drivers Ken and Peter. Amazing experience being in the middle of a herd of elephants at forty animals.
Interesting visit to nearby Maasai village where the young massai Anthony guided us in the best way.
Cultural exchange at the bonfire where our friend Lenny shared his knowledge about the culture, traditions and life in Kenya. We already longing back and we all agreed that this was one of the best experiences of our trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaBSj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed here last summer with our three kids and had an excellent time! It is very hard to find midrange safari accommodations and this was a home run. Nelson and his staff are incredibly hospitable and personable. Nelson was great about working with me to plan the trip I wanted given that we had kids with us and also wanted to see the local community as well. Everyone was great with our kids and the food perfect for a family. Also, Nelson is a local Masai, as our his staff, and is improving the local community he comes from. Do not stay anywhere else without understanding how it benefits the local people.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 3sbgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
0.2 mi away
SEMADEP Camp
SEMADEP Camp
#99 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
11.2 mi away
Crocodile Camp Masai Mara
Crocodile Camp Masai Mara
#67 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
26.6 mi away
Maji Moto Eco Camp
Maji Moto Eco Camp
#61 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Entumoto Safari Camp
Entumoto Safari Camp
#56 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
14.1 mi away
Julia's River Camp
Julia's River Camp
#19 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sentrim Mara Camp
Sentrim Mara Camp
#73 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oldarpoi Mara Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oldarpoi Mara Camp

Property: Oldarpoi Mara Camp
Address: 3 KM to Sekenani Gate,Maasai Mara | Sekenani-Keekorok Rd, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya (Formerly Oldarpoi Maasai Safari Camp)
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oldarpoi Mara camp, is operated in partnership with the local Maasai community. The camp is concerned with the welfare of the local community .Our vision is to transform the local community, socially and economically.We support the Ole keene primary school with teacher's salaries, children sponsorship programs etc.The school has more than 300 children and we built classrooms for them including a rescue center unit to accommodate young girls running away from cultural practices such Female Genital Mutilation ( FGM ) and early marriage.We also plan to establish a community library which will include a learning center and conservation projects.Guests who would like to volunteer in any of our projects as part of a unique safari experience are highly encouraged to do so..This will make a difference to the community.The camp has permanent tents with beds, bedding, complete solar Water heating and lighting system, flush toilets and hot showers - all the trappings of home! We are also an accomplished safaris outfitter with best trained Maasai guides! We offer safaris and tours to different destinations throughout East Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Oldarpoi Mara Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oldarpoi Maasai Safari Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Oldarpoi Mara Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing