We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven on Earth” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ngerende Island Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ngerende Island Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“Heaven on Earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2011

Our experience at Ngerende Island Lodge was beyond our expectations. The lodge is heaven on earth! The staff took good care of us and were very friendly yet professional. Daniel is very charming, Linet was overly effective, Peter the driver made sure we were comfortable whilst going for the game drives and bush dinners, Isaac must be one of the best chefs in the world! He made sure the kids meals were always ready on time. And then we met Rosemary who is definitely a ‘miracle worker’. She gave the best massages we have ever had! We met Walter, Evans, Wellington, David and many others whose names I have forgotten but will always remember their generous spirits and extraordinarily good customer service. Oh, not to forget the Eland who is definitely part of the Ngerende team!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolle_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
85
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

I cannot understate how amazing our stay at Ngerende was..have visited lots of lodges in the mara but this just did it for us! The Service, the food, the staff, the room all beyond our expectations and theres not a thing I can complain about..would recommend any couple looking for luxury plus safari adventure to book this place ASAP. We stayed for only 2 nights but each meal was a surprise for us-from breakfast in the national park to lunch in the garden to dinner under the star lit sky..I only wish we stayed longer! We received alot of warmth and love from the staff and we are definitely looking forward to our next visit :)

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nehashah31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, UAE
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

We have just returned from our 3 night stay at Ngerende Island Lodge and miss it already! I am quite a critical traveller and can usually find something lacking in most accommodations. Not at Ngerende. The suites are my exact idea of what would be the perfect place to spend the night in the Masai Mara. The game drives were just right, the food was exceptional, the service was attentive, even the weather cooperated (we were warned that it is long rain season in April, but we only had a few sprinkles on our last morning there).
All the big things are done well of course, and the small details made Ngerende extra special for me: hot or cold towels awaiting you when you return from an outing (game drive or walk); hot bath waiting when you return to your suite for the night; nice warm fire burning in your suite in the evening; well thought out and designed canvas "tent" enclosures in the suites; beautiful mosquito netting surrounding the bed, which was not claustrophobic :). And of course the fabulous organic garden... and spa ;)

It is obvious that the owners have spent considerable time and money to get everything just right. We will definitely be returning to this "island" paradise!

Room Tip: We stayed in Suite #1
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dxbcanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mara, Kenya / Indiana, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2011

From the reviews you can see the place is a perfect visit. I just want to add that in addition to the quality of the stay that the owners & staff have just as much love & concern for the area wildlife, environment & people in the area too. I love this camp and respect its staff and owners more than any of the hundred camps I have visited in East Africa.

It is a complete package.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jameyponte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2011

Ngerende island is a must place to visit for everybody. The rooms are exceptionally clean and the decor is out of this world. The service is excellent and the staff are very polite, concerned with their guests and gave us a very personalized service. Out barterer was the best i have seen in this world. The welcome we received made us feel special. The investment made on the property did not leave anything to imagination, it is done to the last pit. I loved the pool. It overlooks the river full of hippos and one feels like they are swimming with the hippos. The different dinning places are well thought and very well set up. Thanks to the Ngerende family for making my holiday the best so far!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fridahdolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2010

This has been the most memorable trip to the Maasai Mara! Everything was perfect, starting with the amazing welcome we got from all the staff, the rooms, meals and surroundings! The service was absolutely fantastic.
The staff were very competent, starting with the driver who is also an excellent and knowledgable tour guide. The guy in charge of hospitality gave us a great sundowner in the middle of the savannah and explained eveything about the masai. The house keeping would ensure our room was decorated nicely with flowers, and that the jacuzzi which was overlooking the river, was filled with hot and bubbly water. The massage was great in their lovely little spa, while the receptionist and every body else was so friendly and made sure nothing was lacking. The chef was so polite and professional. He catered to our special vegetarian requirements and hosted the meals in different locations each time eg in the bedroom balcony, near the pool overlooking the hippos and in the garden. His assistant would also serve us with good ettiqutte, each time giving us the ingredients in the food that was so well presented with printed menus specially for us. The barman was also friendly and served us with a smile.
All I can say is that if you want the best in the Mara go to Ngerende Island Lodge!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shahpriya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Q, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2010

We travel well but have never found a place with the service as exceptional as at Ngerende Island Lodge. I won't repeat all the things others have said other than to say that their comments may seem over the top but their comments are all actually true. Our comments are about our more unique experiences.

From the time Maasai people who greeted us and danced and chanted with us into the lodge to the farewell from the lodge staff as we left three days later, we were treated like royalty.

Here are some examples:

Lunch was set up at a different spot on the grounds each day with two people serving just the two of us some really good food and wine. We loved the way the talapia was served (picture included). On our second day the chef took us to the garden and we picked the items for a fresh garden salad lunch. There is a full time gardener. They truly serve you the food you want If it is available and the garden was quite large. On the third day we went on an all day game drive into the Masai Mara and a chef and assistant drove to the Mara to make our lunch. A grill was set up on site and a lunch was prepared just for the two of us (picture included). This was a long long way from the lodge but it was clear to us that they would go to great lengths to make our experience with Ngerende Island Lodge outstanding. Our lunch was a cooked pasta and chicken that was excellent.

The game viewing was good. Our best game viewing day was nearly a 10 hour day in the Mara where we saw the marsh pride of lions, a jackal chasing a lion's tail (a highlight of our trip) and along the way other lions, cheetah and most other animals. Another review said there was an extra charge for going to the Mara. We had no extra charge - we only had very extra service.

We had the pleasure of meeting the owners who came over from Nairobi for a short visit. We learned of their goal to make a lodge that was different from others. They wanted more of a Boutique Hotel experience rather than a tented camp experience. They have succeeded and we thoroughly enjoyed this as a unique experience however as a rule we do prefer the tented safari camps.

The grounds are lovely and completely surrounded by the Mara river on three sides and fenced in on the fourth side. Walking around the grounds was safe, lovely, and does not require guard.

If you want a safari experience that includes wildlife viewed from your room you will only see hippos and cows tended by Maasi. Having said that the birding on site was good and lions were seen across from the lodge on the day we arrived.

The selection of wines available in the included plan was nil. They had one red wine that was bad (to our taste) so we settled for white wine.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
0.4 mi away
Amani Mara Lodge
Amani Mara Lodge
#93 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
2.0 mi away
Julia's River Camp
Julia's River Camp
#15 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crocodile Camp Masai Mara
Crocodile Camp Masai Mara
#67 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#6 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fig Tree Camp
Fig Tree Camp
#46 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
7.5 mi away
Porini Lion Camp
Porini Lion Camp
#8 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngerende Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngerende Island Lodge

Property: Ngerende Island Lodge
Address: PO Box 1274 | Karen Connection Complex, Masai Mara National Reserve 00502, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ngerende Island Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ngerende Island Lodge has only 7 luxury en-suite canvas and wood suites all with raised platforms giving panoramic views of the Mara River and the woods on the opposite bank. Each suite has polished Mahogany floors (including the terrace) and is very spacious providing open plan sleeping and living area complete with wood fire, a separate bathroom providing both Villeroy & Boch massage shower, open air bath (if desired) hand wash basins and flushing toilet. Comfortable seating is provided both in the living area and on the terrace so that the true tranquility of the lodge can be best appreciated. The distance between each suite has been maximised to reduce any risk of disturbance that may be caused by other guests. There is one honeymoon suite isolated from the main lodge, has a private plunge pool and Jacuzzi and has stunning views of the Mara river. Lovely touches as flowers on the bed, fire in the suites, bubble bath with essential oil prepared by your personal butler, hot-water bottle set Ngerende Island Lodge apart from the rest providing a memorable experience. The lodge has been designed to complement the safari experience so as to give comfort, luxury and service naturally. There is an abundance of wildlife both on the Conservation Ranch and of course within the Masai Mara Game Reserve to include Lion, Elephant, Rhino, Buffalo, Hippos and many others. A feature of the Conservation Ranch is an exclusive project to rear the White Rhino so that they can take their place back in the Mara society to which they belong in greater numbers. Over 180 varieties of birds have been spotted within the lodge itself and there are 3 Hippo Pods strategically located around the lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Jovago.com so you can book your Ngerende Island Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ngerende Island Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Ngerende Island Lodge Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing