We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best of the best....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ngerende Island Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ngerende Island Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Isiolo, Eastern, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best of the best....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

This place is not for kings or queens but for King and Queen makers. Took a chance with it and we both loved the place. Attention to detail is superb, then there is the butler service and the plate service as opposed to the buffet. The game drives with our driver Steve were amazing and he has intricate knowledge of the place including a visit to the white rhino sanctuary and spotting the ever rare leopard....
The food is amazing with presentation being world class not to mention you can request anything you want the chef to prepare for you. local beers,wine as well as some spirits are part of the package.I highly recommend the honey moon suite,amazing plunge pool with an awesome view....
What more can I say, a repeat visit is due in the near future......

Room Tip: Honey moon suite,simply amazing and very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
85
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

1st class service was our experience at Ngerende Island Lodge. It always got me curious to want to establish why they called it an Island. For the simple fact that the luxurious lodge lies between the convergence of the Mara and Talek rivers.

From the onset of our inquiry to the time we landed at the lodge, everything was super! timely response, professional handling of everything. It is hard to find any fault with this haven in the wild. With only seven suites, the staff give their guests ultimate personalized services. All inclusive kind of service from laundry to freshly prepared gourmet meals, unlimited drinks (except the premium brands) even while on game drives, to turn down services. Everything is perfect. Keep up the great service and you will have loyalty across the globe.

Would love to go back there for all our wedding anniversaries.

Room Tip: Request for the honeymoon suite. Often when it is available, you could get lucky and get a free upgr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crocracersafaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

Superb, Amazing, Thrilling………….. left speechless!

We spent our Christmas break at Ngerende Island Lodge and it was an experience of a lifetime. From the warm welcome to the affectionate send off, our whole stay there was absolutely splendid.

We were taken aback by the welcome as the whole staff was lined up to receive and greet us on arrival. The welcome Maasai Dance was awesome as it stretched our legs after the long and tiring journey.

The lodge concept is excellent and eco-friendly. Minimal use of concrete whilst utilizing the space to its maximum to create a warm and luxurious ambience. A non-interrupted power supply delivered by generators and inverters on site. Solar water heaters ensure that you get a hot shower any time of day. For nature lovers this is paradise.

What makes the place outstanding is the team that runs it. Evelyn at the reception, always ready with a tray of fresh clean napkins and a beautiful welcoming smile, taking care of and organizing ever detail of your trip.

We are really grateful to Raphael and Walter, our butlers, who were ever smiling, polite, attentive and eager to fulfill your every request. Miss the log fires and pleasant bubble baths that relax you completely after a long game drive.

I was a bit apprehensive before we got there as two of my daughters had had their teeth removed and their mouths were still sore from the stitches. But Chef made every meal palatable and appetizing for them and went to great lengths not to make them feel left out. The breads served at all meal times were out of this world. The food was amazing. Three course meals at breakfast and lunch and a five-course meal at dinner times. Meals are at a different venue each time, each as awe-inspiring as the previous. Just when you think that things couldn’t get better, they spring another surprise at you. Loved the lunch by the poolside, a stunning view of the river. Lunch in the Mara, absolutely superb! Your every need is catered for. You name it and they had it. Haven’t encountered such service at some of the bigger lodges in the country.

The highlight of the trip was the game drives. Steve and Leng, our drivers, ever so jolly, helpful and quite knowledgeable about the whole area; could spot wildlife from miles away and made sure that we got to see every animal up close. Got some excellent shots of lions, cheetah and a leopard thanks to Steve. These guys maneuver the 4 x 4 s like child’s play. Had an exhilarating time driving around the conservancy and the game reserve. The kids had a thrilling time. Who needs a roller coaster when you can be driven around an incredible expanse by one of these guys! Watch out Sebastien Loeb! Here come Steve and Leng!

The only regret we have is not having had enough time to go for a nature walk or have a cultural talk with Daniel. But I guess we need to save some for next time.

Watch out Ngerende! We’ll be with you sooner than you think.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sukhdip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2012

I stayed in this luxurious place in September, and every element was perfect, from the festive greeting until the checkout. The rooms are spacious and beautiful, with a fireplace and, rare in the Mara, a real bathtub in which you can hear the grunts of hippos in the river at night. The game drives were lovely, and our driver, Matthew, was clever and informed about the flora and fauna of the area. Daniel, the resident Maasai expert, radiates knowledgeable serenity; his talk on Maasai culture and his bush walk gave another dimension to the safari experience that other lodges did not. The room service was meticulous and kind. Breakfast was amazing; lunch and dinner, apart from the delectable soups, were merely so-so. I cannot recommend this place highly enough. If you have the opportunity to go there, GO.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leftthecapitol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

I went to Ngerende Island lodge with my workmates and had a fabulous time. The four days we spent seemed shorter than two days. We were driven from Nairobi in very comfortable Toyota land cruisers all the way to Ngerende.

Maasai morans were on hand to welcome us with traditional songs and dances that we quickly learnt and jumped along.

The service in the lodge was exceptional and we felt pampered and spoilt. The facility had few staff members who were well trained in almost everything. It was normal to find a staff serving in the reception, handling the spa and serving you dinner all with a smile. Our butlers, who were also serving us meals, folded towels and bed spreads into animal shapes that we found hilarious.

The guest rooms offered the best the world could offer, combining natural material and sophisticated designs to come up with spacious and elegant private sanctuaries situated in lush forest settings with instant view of hippos lazing away in the river.

We visited the Maasai village where we experienced uncontaminated culture of the locals. Most Maasai souvenirs were readily available at competitive prices and everyone had a pick for family and friends back home. We didn’t go for the food but we found it fantastic. The variety made sure everyone enjoyed a meal or two from Japanese food, sea food and of course African cuisine. And because the lodge specializes in surprises, all the meals were served at different venues around the park. We had dinner in complete wilderness, Japanese –style rooms and lush green gardens much to our excitement. During the game drives the 4 x4 s had cooler boxes filled with our favorite drinks, ranging from non-alcoholic to alcoholic, kept cool the whole day. We were lucky to see a number of lions lazing around, white rhinos, hyenas, elephants, buffaloes and many more. Our tour guides Steve and Leng’ understood the park and animal behavior like the back of their hands. We took this opportunity to learn a lot, that we can use to brag back at home. To sum it up we visited the world famous crossing point on Mara River where up to 2 million wildebeest cross.

I will visit Ngerende again and again.

Room Tip: Room 4 shows most hippos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Onyango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

A boutique lodge in the middle of nowhere, yet they managed to cater to our every needs. The chef was just amazing, a guest being lactose and gluten intolerant, he went ahead to make every dish possible without those 2 ingredients for that guest! He made fresh breads with every meal, and catered to our every need! The rooms are spectacular, overlooking the Mara river. The beds are so comfortable, you will struggle to make it for your morning game drive. Each room has its own butler. The staff and service is excellent as is everything else about the place. As the lodge is in a private conservancy, so not expect to see the best game in the Mara, but if you want a romantic holiday with a little bit of animal spotting this is the place!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventurousSon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012

Just come from Ngerende its simply out of this world!From reception to wonderful Raphael who was our P.A( unfortunately we could not come back with him! :) I have been to other lodges and hotels but Ngerende is the best 5 star service all the way.The game drives were well informed everything so well coordinated,the honeymoon suite tastefully furnished

We are definitely going back and will make it our every time Mara destination

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
0.4 mi away
Amani Mara Lodge
Amani Mara Lodge
#94 of 139 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
2.0 mi away
Julia's River Camp
Julia's River Camp
#15 of 139 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fig Tree Camp
Fig Tree Camp
#46 of 139 in Masai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Mara Ngenche Safari Camp
Mara Ngenche Safari Camp
#40 of 139 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
8.0 mi away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#6 of 139 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crocodile Camp Masai Mara
Crocodile Camp Masai Mara
#67 of 139 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngerende Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngerende Island Lodge

Property: Ngerende Island Lodge
Address: PO Box 1274 | Karen Connection Complex, Masai Mara National Reserve 00502, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ngerende Island Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ngerende Island Lodge has only 7 luxury en-suite canvas and wood suites all with raised platforms giving panoramic views of the Mara River and the woods on the opposite bank. Each suite has polished Mahogany floors (including the terrace) and is very spacious providing open plan sleeping and living area complete with wood fire, a separate bathroom providing both Villeroy & Boch massage shower, open air bath (if desired) hand wash basins and flushing toilet. Comfortable seating is provided both in the living area and on the terrace so that the true tranquility of the lodge can be best appreciated. The distance between each suite has been maximised to reduce any risk of disturbance that may be caused by other guests. There is one honeymoon suite isolated from the main lodge, has a private plunge pool and Jacuzzi and has stunning views of the Mara river. Lovely touches as flowers on the bed, fire in the suites, bubble bath with essential oil prepared by your personal butler, hot-water bottle set Ngerende Island Lodge apart from the rest providing a memorable experience. The lodge has been designed to complement the safari experience so as to give comfort, luxury and service naturally. There is an abundance of wildlife both on the Conservation Ranch and of course within the Masai Mara Game Reserve to include Lion, Elephant, Rhino, Buffalo, Hippos and many others. A feature of the Conservation Ranch is an exclusive project to rear the White Rhino so that they can take their place back in the Mara society to which they belong in greater numbers. Over 180 varieties of birds have been spotted within the lodge itself and there are 3 Hippo Pods strategically located around the lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Jovago.com so you can book your Ngerende Island Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ngerende Island Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Ngerende Island Lodge Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing