We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best experience of our lifes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ngerende Island Lodge
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Everything about our experience in Ngerende was out of this world, it was definitely the climax of our Honeymoon. What makes this place so remarkable are the people who give their very best to make your stay the most comfortable and enjoyable, to the point where you actually end up having to say goodbye to a bunch of friends when you leave the lodge. The butlers, drivers, cooks, receptionists, nature guides, guards and waiters were all incredible people. Additionally, the lodge itself has a very modern look that I felt made our stay even more enjoyable, which is something that other lodges lacked during our search. The safari day long drives were excellent opportunities to enjoy the beauty that Kenya has to offer. I really hope we have an opportunity to go back there!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

I have worked and traveled all around the world and stayed in some great places, but Ngerende Island Lodge is in a class by itself. I had been in Kenya for two months and my wife was flying out so we could spend our anniversary together, and so I wanted to be sure I picked a place that we would both enjoy. I went with the recommendation of a coworker who lives in Kenya and couldn't have made a better choice. It was far more than just the luxurious accommodation and the spectacular environment. Ngerende, we discovered, is about the wonderful people who go out of their way to make sure their guests receive first-class treatment from the moment they arrive. This was my second trip to Kenya, and I had already learned a lot about the hospitality of the Kenyan people, but what my wife and I experienced at Ngerende far exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Lakeview was simply breathtaking. I loved the jacuzzi and plunge pool! Not to mention having the exciting bush dinner with the "Masai Mara Kangaroos" ;) - only at Ngerende! How could I forget the early morning game drives where we saw the most beautiful Cheetahs! Kudos to the team at Riverview, Lakeview and Ngerende Island Lodge for the great service and hospitality. It was the most awesome three nights ever in the bush. Looking forward to coming again!

Room Tip: Lakeview and Riverview are ideal for honeymooners!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TanyaO22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Spent 5 days in Ngerende on honeymoon in November. This is the most amazing place I have ever been to! The welcome dance, the 5* food, the cultural talks all amazing. Add to that fantastic game drives with knowledgable guides who genuinely care and you can't get better! The staff seem to genuinely love their jobs and they take every opportunity to make your stay memorable- they definitely succeed at that! The rooms are beautiful (we had the honeymoon suite) wonderful views of the river and a hippo song to wake you up every day! Worth absolutely every penny!

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElleMac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Just Wow! We booked 1 night in Riverview and 2 nights at Lakeview in the Wild, followed by 2 nights at the Island Lodge. From the booking (thank you Catherine) through to the trip back to JK International Airport everything exceeded our expectations and wildest dreams. We read a review somewhere that said Ngerende's mission was to recreate the Safari experience of a bygone era, camping with linen tablecloths and the family silver, well they have suceeded. It's hard to know where to start. The staff .... couldn't do enough for us. We were met at the airstrip by Jonah, our guide and driver and Evans the butler! How awesome is that. Jonah was a mine of information, ask him about most animals and birds and he could name them and tell you the interesting facts about behaviour etc too. If he wasn't sure ... usually because I'd asked random questions about birds, then he'd dip into one of his books and soon have the answer. Great driving in some difficult, muddy conditions, always reminding us to 'hold on' or 'mind the shower' and 'checking the tyres' was always on offer. Thank you Jonah. Evans was just brilliant, cheerful, nothing was too much trouble, learnt the way we liked our tea (always important if you come from the UK and are on safari!). Tea at 6am before the morning drive, warm bath and fire in the grate on return from the evening drive, oh, and hot water bottles in the bed! Thank you Evans. Then in the Wild there was Denis, the chef, who wins the title for MasterChef for Ngerende, a close run contest. Thanks Denis, fabulous food.
We then moved out of the Maasi Mara Game Reserve and to Ngerende Island Lodge which is situated in one of the conservation areas. More fabulous hospitality, (Jonah and Evans came with us!). The staff here too are awesome, Wellington the chef at the Lodge, again producing great meals, especially loved our Bush Breakfast! Daniel is the Lodge's Maasi Cultural Adviser, gave us an interesting chat on Maasi tradition and an informative Bush Walk.... didn't know you could learn so much from poo!
We could go on but really, enough now. Take it from us, both locations are awesome places to stay and view the real stars of the Maasi, the wildlife (but for us 'in the Wild wins by a whisker). We plan to return and we don't usually visit somewhere twice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NomadicJanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Just wanted to share our fantastic experience at one of the most beautiful and restful places we have ever stayed. We were there in October 2013 and were so well taken care of we couldn't have asked for better service. From the room to the food to the wonderful staff that treated us with such care. It was one of the most amazing experience we're ever had while travelling.The personal service Evans showed us was outstanding. We also stayed at the Ngerende in the Wild and this also had the most professional service for such a new lodge. The games drives were wonderful as well as the sounds from the hippos we could listen to from our room…out of this world!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

James and Arbela;we are Kenyans. We took Ngerende's honeymoon package (our wedding was Dec 21). Everything is what you see or read. From Wilson airport to the lodge we have never been treated with such royalty. The whole service package at Ngerende lodge is world class. We are sure we would never have a superb and beautiful honeymoon anywhere else in the world! Our butler, Esther, the guide Daniel, Evans, Wellington the chef...all the staff, each one of them will spoil you with service. The location of the lodge is amazing..surrounded by the hippo filled peaceful river. The game drives, the spa, fire places, the food, tea/hot chocolate, coffee. Your meal times are so flexible, you do not get rushed through games drives in order not to miss out on a buffet breakfast or lunch. We have never dined like the bush dinner. This was not the first holiday destination for us; we have done a number in Kenya. I have done in Mozambique, Swaziland, S.A, Bostwana, Zanzibar but nothing compares to Ngerende.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nicely located and far from each other, you will get the privacy you want. The hon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
0.4 mi away
Amani Mara Camp
Amani Mara Camp
#86 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
67 reviews
9.5 mi away
Mara Ngenche Safari Camp
Mara Ngenche Safari Camp
#38 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
132 reviews
2.0 mi away
Julia's River Camp
Julia's River Camp
#43 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Crocodile Camp Masai Mara
Crocodile Camp Masai Mara
#72 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
43 reviews
6.4 mi away
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Cam...
#14 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
855 reviews
9.0 mi away
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
#3 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngerende Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngerende Island Lodge

Address: PO Box 1274 | Karen Connection Complex, Masai Mara National Reserve 00502, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 146 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: £322 - £1,741 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ngerende Island Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ngerende Island Lodge has only 7 luxury en-suite canvas and wood suites all with raised platforms giving panoramic views of the Mara River and the woods on the opposite bank. Each suite has polished Mahogany floors (including the terrace) and is very spacious providing open plan sleeping and living area complete with wood fire, a separate bathroom providing both Villeroy & Boch massage shower, open air bath (if desired) hand wash basins and flushing toilet. Comfortable seating is provided both in the living area and on the terrace so that the true tranquility of the lodge can be best appreciated. The distance between each suite has been maximised to reduce any risk of disturbance that may be caused by other guests. There is one honeymoon suite isolated from the main lodge, has a private plunge pool and Jacuzzi and has stunning views of the Mara river. Lovely touches as flowers on the bed, fire in the suites, bubble bath with essential oil prepared by your personal butler, hot-water bottle set Ngerende Island Lodge apart from the rest providing a memorable experience. The lodge has been designed to complement the safari experience so as to give comfort, luxury and service naturally. There is an abundance of wildlife both on the Conservation Ranch and of course within the Masai Mara Game Reserve to include Lion, Elephant, Rhino, Buffalo, Hippos and many others. A feature of the Conservation Ranch is an exclusive project to rear the White Rhino so that they can take their place back in the Mara society to which they belong in greater numbers. Over 180 varieties of birds have been spotted within the lodge itself and there are 3 Hippo Pods strategically located around the lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Jovago.com so you can book your Ngerende Island Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ngerende Island Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Ngerende Island Lodge Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing