We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sekenani Camp
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels(Masai Mara National Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sarova Mara Game Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara Leisure Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
AA Lodge Masai Mara(Masai Mara National Reserve)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Porini Mara Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
    Mara Siria Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    Mara West Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    Fairmont Mara Safari Club(Masai Mara National Reserve)
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    Reviews (139)
    Filter reviews
    139 results
    Traveller rating
    99
    27
    8
    4
    1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    99
    27
    8
    4
    1
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsstream runningtasty drinkssuspension bridgesmall streamfelt homemasai maraprivate tentanimals roambush dinnerpleasure of stayingturned downhot waterincredible placegame drivesdining tentcape buffaloour tour guide
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    78 - 83 of 139 reviews
    Reviewed 24 March 2014

    This was our first safari in Kenya and we squeezed it in during a work trip...so we were not quite sure what to expect. Friends told us to come here and they were not mistaken. The camp is extremely comfortable and generally pretty laid back. The tents are huge and very well appointed, with a bath tub and all (had not expected this). I don't have much to compare this with, safari wise, but generally it was a lovely lovely place. Super friendly staff and it felt very secure despite the fact that animals are able to roam about in here because unlike other camps, they don't use electric fencing. There seems to be a tame zebra hanging about and you're bound to see him and creatures like monkeys. The tents are quite far apart from one another so privacy is guaranteed. The pool was awesome and would have loved to stay longer and just relax here in the grounds (we spent most of our time driving around on safari). Have to say that the food wasn't what you'd call gourmet but it was totally palatable. I loved the relaxed atmosphere most.

    Room Tip: If you're a little nervous about being in a camp like this, it may be worth asking for one of the tents closer to the main house/tents/reception. The tents further down the camp may feel quite far away if you're spooked by animal noises and so on (don't worry, it's totally fine!).
    • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank KaVee2013
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 1 November 2013

    A rough road in, but well worth it! As we turned into the camp we were met by a herd of elephants! The tents are very comfortable and private and security is tight with Masai present throughout the night and always available--suddenly at your side whenever you leave your tent at night--so quietly it is almost scarey! Meals are excellent, the campfire in the evening fun to sit around and talk with other visitors. The Camp's efforts at low impact on the environment are impressive.

    Room Tip: all are in similar locations (not too close together), but lower numbers closer to reception
    • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank KermitTFrog
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 4 September 2013

    My friends and I went to Kenya for the Beest Migration this Aug. We loved the animals and places there, but not the Sekenani Camp.

    We planned to stay in Masaai Mara for 4 nights and didn't intend to stay in Sekenani in our trip. However, since it came to our attention a few days before our departure that the lodge we intended to stay was overbooked on the second night, our local travel agent booked the Sekenani Camp as a work around.

    The environment of Sekenani Camp is ok and the tents are located very far apart from each other. It's good for people who love privacy and quietness. However, it also provides very good opportunities for thievery to be happened.

    During our 1 night stay there, the laptop of one of my friends was being stolen while she was sleeping. Seemed the thief knew very well in the tent layout and where the laptop was located before the light was being shut down suddenly at 10pm, while we were being told that light is on for 24 hours. Since my friend stayed very far apart from reception and we were advised not to go out at night, she didn't report the sudden cut of light in the absence of a phone in the tent and went to sleep.

    At 1ish am, she heard some noise and woke up. Light was still not working and she found the part of the tent near her bed has been cut and her laptop was gone!!!

    She rushed to reception with her room mate and reported the loss immediately. Hotel staff had guided them to report the loss with police, and they were struggling through the reporting and searching processes till morning. And of course, the laptop was still not found.

    We were being told by the manager that it's the first instance for thievery in the Camp. But what I can see in Tripadvisor here that 2 thieveries of cash happened in the camp in 2011. Seems the security has not been improved since those incidents, which made us very disappointed.

    We will definitely not return to Sekenani Camp in future!!

    • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank CCC128
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 26 August 2013

    Sent here by another chain after showing up there and told that they were overbooked and hence could not accommodate us.
    Arrived at Sekenani full of anger and trepidation. Set in the thick of the Masai Mara several Eco -friendly cabins with the amenities one would expect from a 5 star resort. A swimming pool fed by a natural spring, solar power for the emergency lighting and water heating. Paul the Italian who was the resident advisor to the Lodge, took us on a walk of the premises. We were impressed at their attempt at self sufficiency on table vegetables, grown on the premises and the lodges concern for the environment .Our brief stay was very comfortable , the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Unlike most lodges meals were a la carte and not a buffet. The chef gave us a choice of what was on the menu that day and prepared them with flair.
    We left hoping to return someday and spend a little more time at he heart of the wonderful Masai country.

    Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    1  Thank Nalin_9
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 9 April 2013

    For purposes of rating i clicked May 2012 but travelled May 2009. Nick (Owner) made the trip memorable all the way from Nairobi to the Mara and back. Great holiday with random, interesting strangers. the Bush Breakfast was simply well set, delicious as a pack of Buffaloes watched closely by.

    the chef can spin a mean chocolate mousse:-).. The tents are private with a balcony set up in a way that you really do not need to go to the main lounge unless for meals.
    The bush fires were warm cozy with the camp staff telling tales of great maasai escapades.

    I have to mention though, the pool, extremely cold hahahhahah. but that was a while back.

    Kapur's famous vegetable garden.... came out with lovely well rounded tomatoes!!!

    Room Tip: Rooms are great
    • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Sylvia M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews