We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An undiscovered treasure”
Review of Oloshaiki Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Masai Mara National Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oloshaiki Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Situated on the banks of the Talek river, overlooking Posee Plain, Camp Oloshaiki nestles amid the trees. This was our first visit to this camp and it certainly exceeded our expectations.

All the staff are welcoming and friendly and go out of their way to please their guests.

Tents are spacious, with comfortable beds, a large shower, washbasin and toilet. There is ample space for hanging clothes in the dressing area. Each tent has its own verandah. Electric light and hot water available 24/7, but generator power (restricted to certain times) is required to charge up camera batteries, etc.

Meals can be taken either inside or outdoors. Food quality and quantity is excellent, with something to suit all tastes.

Guest areas include a comfortable lounge area, with a lovely log fire, and a small, but well-stocked bar. On the exterior terrace overlooking the river there is a camp fire area, too.

All the staff were kind and helpful. Special thanks to the Manager for allowing us to have a tent near to the dining area due to my husband's mobility problems.

Our game drives were fantastic. Jacob found all of the Big Five for us on our first day! We will never forget the experience of seeing and hearing a male lion roaring at full volume within feet of our jeep!

In all, a wonderful safari with excellent accommodation and staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PresidentsMen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
There are newer reviews for Oloshaiki Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2013

We´ve been for the first time to this camp and it was an incredible experience. The camp is quite basic but it´s in one of the best locations in Masai Mara. We were able to see the big five almost every day thanks to our driver Bernhard who always went the extra mile to try to spot as much as possible for us. He´s a very young Masai but very skilled and so much fun to be with. As Masai Mara is so big, you don´t want to get back for breakfast at the camp at 9:00, so what we did was take a bush breakfast every day. It´s you, the driver and the sounds of nature out there, a truly magical experience.

The food at the camp was surprisingly good. We didn´t expect the food to be so tasty and the atmosphere was so relaxed and we always felt welcome. All the staff were incredibly friendly and as the camp is not fenced they would always make sure that everyone was secure and would keep a watchful eye. In the evening you could see them patrolling around the area with spears and a big jacket as it gets quite cool in the later hours.

The tents are basic but big, clean and spacious. The matrass is a bit on the hard side but it really wasn´t a problem for us. We actually wished that we could have stayed longer than the four days which we spent there and definitely plan on returning and would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveSun50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We just came back from a three night stay at Oloshaiki. It was really great and exceeded my expectations. The tents were great, the people were very helpful and kind and the food was excellent. The game drives were great. I would certainly recommend Oloshaiki if you´re coming to the Mara. Bernhard did a great job showing us all the game, it was really enjoyable and a great experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sb5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We live in Nairobi and have been lucky enough to stay in lodges and camps all over Kenya. Last weekend we wanted a trip to the Mara to catch the end of this year's migration, but didn't want to break the bank, so settled on Oloshaiki. The rates were very reasonable and a family of five were able to stay there pretty cheaply. I'll be honest, we didn't expect much, but were mainly there to see game, so weren't too bothered about the camp. We were very pleasantly surprised. The tents were fabulous, large, clean, great bathrooms, good views over the river and more than big enough for the five of us. The staff were great. The food was pretty average, but given the price, this place is amazing. And John, our guide, just brilliant. In 36 hours we saw thousands of wildebeest, a river crossing, crocs, hippo, a leopard kill, a lioness taking down a gnu, a pride of male lions, a huge herd of elephant, and many. many more! I would highly recommend Oloshaiki if you are after a good value trip, decent tents and incredible game viewing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carolinebaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

This hotel is built and run by local Maasais. Living in there is a great experience chatting with the Maasais by the camp fire. The chef's most kind. One of my companions doesn't eat chicken or lamb and when the chef got to know about it, he cooked special steak meal at once for my friend. The rooms are big and the beds are huge! Great sunset view on Masai Mara too. Clean and Classy

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JassChen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012 via mobile

A group of 8 stayed at the camp 2 nights and everyone enjoyed their time there. The staff was extremely welcoming took time to talk with us and show us pictures. Some of the staff including guards were Maasai men and always made conversation with us about their culture and lifestyle. Our Maasai guide, Jackson was incredible, led us to the middle of a stalking leopard hunting an antelope. Captured the whole wait, attack and aftermath on video right before our van! Needless to say, that night at dinner, we were the most popular group in the clubhouse, attracting both guests and staff who wanted a glimpse of the footage :) A+ atmosphere, service and accommodations. The camp is beautifully landscaped and lit pathways help guide you at night...not to mention the Maasai guards who will be waiting close by if you begin walking at night :) very nice. Even turn down your bed and place a warmer inside it! Would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fireflys4all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

28th-30th December 2011
We (8 people from Holland) had a great time in Oloshaiki. Good food, nice people, great lodges. Certainly a place to recommend to good friends that appreciate a wonderful place to stay. Pass this message on!
Aard Vogels. The Netherlands

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aardvogels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
1.1 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
235 reviews
2.2 mi away
Crocodile Camp Masai Mara
Crocodile Camp Masai Mara
#71 of 141 in Masai Mara National Reserve
42 reviews
21.7 mi away
Kilima Camp
Kilima Camp
#36 of 141 in Masai Mara National Reserve
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Amani Mara Camp
Amani Mara Camp
#84 of 141 in Masai Mara National Reserve
67 reviews
3.7 mi away
Fig Tree Camp
Fig Tree Camp
#49 of 141 in Masai Mara National Reserve
361 reviews
9.5 mi away
Mara Bush Camp - Private Wing
Mara Bush Camp - Private Wing
#11 of 141 in Masai Mara National Reserve
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oloshaiki Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oloshaiki Camp

Address: Talek River, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 141 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Oloshaiki Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Oloshaiki Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing