We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing close to nature”
Review of Maji Moto Eco Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maji Moto Eco Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I really had a good time staying in the Maji Moto Eco Camp. First of all is the food really good, the location amazing and the atmosphere is the best. Then this camp differs from the other camps near Masai Mara. It is an Eco Camp, and therefore ecological. The most amazing experience here was the hot springs and bathing in them. The staff of Maji Moto Eco Camp takes really good care of you and makes sure you always feel comfortable. Also the interaction with Masai culture is an experience that will stay with you forever!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanBiondic, Owner at Maji Moto Eco Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear Sarah,

Thank you for staying with us as well thank you for leaving nice review. I am proud and happy to hear you liked our food, location, atmosphere and the staff. In deed we differ from the rest… that exactly is our little secret. We have a very good relationship with staff that runs it as well the full concept of freedom to walk/trek round and meet local people is special.

Thanks for visiting us with hope to see you again soonest. Roman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
There are newer reviews for Maji Moto Eco Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013

Staying in The Eco Camp was a great experience. Chief Sankale and his staff are humorous and extremely friendly hosts. They are all willing to tell and show you everything about the life and culture of the Masai people. We saw a lot of interesting things and animals (giraffes, jackals etc) during the guided walks and learned a lot about how Masai people live in and with the nature. The camp is situated on top of a wonderful plateau with super views. We slept in nice and comfortable tents and enjoyed the food very much. The evenings were filled with great campfires, stories, laughter and good conversations. Staying in Maji Moto Eco Camp is like staying with your best friends and it was hard to leave after a couple of days.
Janneke & Gerrit (the Netherlands)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank GerritJanneke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanBiondic, Owner at Maji Moto Eco Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear Gerrit,

Thanks for visiting our camp. The way you have written, is exactly the way I feel when leaving the camp back to the boring office… he, he.
By the way… this year in June, we have made major renovation on the camp… hence that I wish to invite you again to revisit your friends these time even prouder about their nice camp! Take care and hope to host you again. Roman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We really loved staying with the chief Sankale and his super-friendly, funny staff. It gives you a good look into Masai culture and what these people are all about. The walks we're great (thanks to Kisija) and we especially enjoyed visiting the two schools in the village and meeting more locals. The camp is really nicely located on top of a hill so the views are breathtaking. We would recommend the Maji Moto camp to anyone who's looking for a authentic experience in Kenya. If we would do it again, we might choose to walk from Maji Moto to Masai Mara National Parc, with sleepovers in tents on the way there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanBiondic, Owner at Maji Moto Eco Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear Ben,

Thank you for staying with us. As well thank you liking the camp, the school, the locals and our staff!

Walking safari from Maji Moto to Masai Mara is a great experience!

-Itinerary to do that starts with 2 nights at Maji Moto to make you comfortable with environment and your local guides.
-Followed by 3 days out on walking/trekking safari in complete wilderness towards Masai Mara.
-Itinerary ends up at Mara with 2 overnights dedicated to game-drives at this prime-wildlife reserve!

This itinerary we call: “Trekking Safari - Walk with Masai to Mara - 7 days” also a good one with less roughing and toughing is our itinerary called: “Adventure Holliday - Active Masai - 6 days”

Welcome again we will be glad to show you round. Roman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We have stayed two times at Maji Moto eco camp, the first time with our family and the second time as a couple. It is a great place to stay, to relax, a kind of 'room with a view'. You can walk and cycle in the surroundings and relax in the hot spring. The people are very kind and we have felt like family. Food was delicious and we have felt so being taken cared for. When I think of it, I would like to go back immediately, maybe in February?

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank wghvij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanBiondic, Owner at Maji Moto Eco Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear wghvij,

These are great thoughts! February… why not! Welcome again any time. Roman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Arriving at Maji Moto is one thing, but leaving this heavanly place is a lot harder. Life in the Masai is so heartwarming, pure and sincere that a man would really consider to stay there forever. The food was delicious and sleeping in luxury tents was quite comfortable. Every day we experienced new things and little by little we came home in this authentic, loving society. They consider every visitor as a familymember or as a lost Masai. The days in this rich tradition will still stay with me for years. I am grateful for this extraordinary time!
So, if you really want to have an unforgettable yourney, Maji Moto will be your next destination!
Sofie and Mathias

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mathias C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanBiondic, Owner at Maji Moto Eco Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear Sofie and Mathias,

Thank you sooooooo much for these sincere words. Highly appreciated! Welcome any time back. Sankale and the staff will be glad to meet you again. Roman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Absolutely perfect, if you want a small welcoming place with an excellent view. Great for families with kids. 'Warrior' training was arranged for our boys with spear throwing and bow shooting followed by a 'battle' with some kind of shrub, which was thrown at each other. Did a short safari walk as well. Perfect way to get out of town Friday afternoon after work to break up the trip to Masai Mara for the weekend. Will most certainly do this again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lars I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanBiondic, Owner at Maji Moto Eco Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Hi Lars,

Thanks for visiting and liking our camp. You are right the camp is perfectly positioned for weekend out of Nairobi (3hrs drive) or to break it up on the way to Mara! Great for kids and the rest of the family.

Ps: I see you have visited us last year 2012! FYI… we have done some good renovation in June these year… out of that I suggest you re-visit us again… I promise you won’t be disappointed ;)

With best regards, Roman.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I had the unbelievable opportunity to visit the camp for a week as part of my gap ear volunteering in Kenya. All i can say is WOW!!! You are immediately made to feel like family and you belong at the camp as soon as you get out of the car, After settling in to the tents and getting a feel for your surroundings you are treated to a tour of the local hills and gain some of the knowledge of nature. The food is incredible and it is only beaten by the friendliness of the staff. The activities we were able to take part in included bead making, warrior training and archery, hill walking, plains nature walk and so much more. i could never of ask for a greater experience and what ive learnt has been and will be invaluable :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanBiondic, Owner at Maji Moto Eco Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Great Emma,

We are happy when friends are happy. Thank you for dropping a good word about us. I hope we can host you again in the near future.
With best wishes, Roman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
26.6 mi away
Oldarpoi Mara Camp
Oldarpoi Mara Camp
#65 of 141 in Masai Mara National Reserve
191 reviews
76.9 mi away
Enchoro Wildlife Camp
Enchoro Wildlife Camp
#100 of 141 in Masai Mara National Reserve
143 reviews
26.4 mi away
SEMADEP Camp
SEMADEP Camp
#97 of 141 in Masai Mara National Reserve
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.8 mi away
Mara Sidai Camp
Mara Sidai Camp
#89 of 141 in Masai Mara National Reserve
77 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oltome Resorts
Oltome Resorts
#81 of 141 in Masai Mara National Reserve
68 reviews
37.3 mi away
Julia's River Camp
Julia's River Camp
#22 of 141 in Masai Mara National Reserve
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maji Moto Eco Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maji Moto Eco Camp

Address: Maji Moto, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 141 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: £86 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maji Moto Eco Camp blends beautifully with the natural environment. All the facilities are built in a local Masai style with natural materials. There is no generator in the camp. We kept the thinks simple and traditional, with candles, lanterns and camp fire in the evening. Fresh food supplies are broth from Narok town with every arrival including fresh locally grown vegetables and fruits. All meals are prepared simply but delicious by a camp cook, blending traditional Kenyan and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Maji Moto Eco Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maji Moto Eco Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing