We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maji Moto Eco Camp
Nearby Hotels
Mara Leisure Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$211
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fairmont Mara Safari Club(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$633
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$403
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara River Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$242
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels(Masai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$335
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sentrim Mara Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Entumoto Safari Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$400
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ngerende Island Lodge(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$666
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara Engai Wilderness Lodge(Masai Mara National Reserve)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (193)
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveller rating
166
23
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
166
23
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswarrior trainingmasai culturelocal schoolnature walksolar lampsstar lightvisited the hot springstobikowarrior dancehis teamafrican holidaylong weekendwalking safaristayed for two nightswonderful experiencebow and arrowhot water
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 193 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2014

This was our second trip to Maji Moto - it was so good the first time (July 2011) we decided to come back again! We received a very warm and heart felt welcome from Sankale and his team as they remember us from our previous visit. It truly is a magical place!!!!! We will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank banner_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights over Christmas with our 3 young kids aged 7,5 and 3. It was a fabulous experience, very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable guys who know the landscape like the back of their hands. It's certainly not a luxury experience so be prepared for basic facilities, no electricity and water being carried up from the local village on the backs of donkeys! But we felt that the setting, views and ambience more than made up for that and it was a truly memorable experience - our kids didn't want to leave! The only thing that stopped us giving it 5 stars was the food let it down a little - the chef himself was a wonderful guy but the food was a bit bog-standard and slow to be served.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Nazza12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Maji Moto is a very special place in the middle of nature. You have a fantastic view, especially when the sun goes down. We enjoyed the nature walks with great guides and a very interesting visit to the local school. You get to know a lot of Massai culture, especially on the walks or while sitting at the campfire in the evening and listening to their stories. The tents are simple but we slept very well. We liked the food, special thanks to Flo and her team who are always trying to improve. The hot spring is one of the most romantic places I have ever been to. We warmly recommend this place to people who look for some good cultural experience!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This place is not a luxury camp. It is out in the middle of nowhere. You sleep in smallish tents on mattresses on the ground. We had 3 people in each tent and there isn't much room for anything else. You don't get flushing toliets or hot water showers. You are exposed to the elements most of the time. You don't get gourmet food, you eat outside or a swimming pool. You also don't get to see many animals if you come during the dry season like we did.

You do get an awesome cultural experience. We went to the local school which was one of the highlights of our entire trip. We had warrior training with bows and arrows, and the jump dancing. Oh we also participated (sort of) in the wildest stick throwing fight I've ever seen. The food was basic and we liked it better than the food we got at the nicer camps. The beds were comfortable and I slept like a baby. The landscape was not beautiful like the Masaai Mara but it had it's own vast granduer. You also can get to know the staff who are all very friendly and have the wildest stories I've ever heard. My favorite part was talking to the staff about their lives and culture.

This place is unique. Just make sure it is what you want. If you are looking for a great cultural experience, this place is it. We thoroughly enjoyed our time here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanBiondic, Owner at Maji Moto Eco Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Jdhale, I am glad you liked our camp. And yes, the way you have written, that's how it is... it is to break the standard routine of classic safaris with some genuine Maasai cultural meetings combined with great outdoors. Next time when round we shell take you on our trekking safari from the camp to Masai Mara... 3 days of walking and sleeping out in complete wilderness ;) Thanks once again for your visit. I wish you and your family all the best. Roman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed in Maji Moto for 3 days and it was very, very nice. I recommend this tipe of holidays to everybody who wans to know about Massai culture. We had vistied also a Massai school. And the camp is very comfortable. We will come back for sure.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Piolina79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanBiondic, Owner at Maji Moto Eco Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Gaja. It was a pleasure to host you. We are looking forward to your return! All the best. Roman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews