We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Olarro(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$1,370
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Little Governors' Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$1,160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$1,020
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Breakfast
  • Restaurant
Neptune Mara Rianta Luxury Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$1,378
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$1,178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Governor's Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$1,090
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$950
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Breakfast
  • Restaurant
Mara River Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$553
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Fairmont Mara Safari Club(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$792
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Ngerende Island Lodge(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$616
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Porini Lion Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$1,390
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Breakfast
  • Restaurant
US$2,458
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Entumoto Safari Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveller rating
38
61
34
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
61
34
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstented camphot waterentry gatepeaceful locationmasai maranice place to staylunch boxbreakfast and dinnerbasic amenitiesbed was very comfortablevegetarian foodsafari triplow seasonamazing placegeneratorelectricityaccommodation
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 147 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Good setting, close to the gate, comfortable tents, plenty of adequate food. It was about 10 minutes from the gate so easy access. Also it was very peaceful. Once inside the park at lunch the pack lunches for the all day game drive were very filling and nice.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank Max S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Spent two nights at Ol-Moran on 3 & 4 May 2013 in a standard tent that had a double bed, single bed, private bathroom, tables, power plug and towels. The price was included in the cost of a safari we booked in Nairobi. Plentiful meals provided at breakfast and dinner with a big packed lunch supplied for our full-day game drive. Bar available in the dining area. Electricity and hot water supplied in the evenings from 6pm. Peaceful location with the tents well spaced out. The camp is about a 10-minute drive from the Oloolaimutia gate of the Masai Mara National Reserve, with good game viewing on offer within minutes of the gate. This was my second stay at Ol-Moran and I would stay again. Recommended as mid-range option for a Masai Mara safari.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kuzurura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

I’m not a fan of camping and when my family announced on the bus that we were staying in tented accommodation my face must have been a picture!
However, my fears abated when I realised this is more Glamping, tents with real beds and a plumbed in bathroom. Oh, one thing I would say is pack something to sleep in as it can really get chilly at night.
The resort is just outside the Mara and a very short drive will take you to the gate. We were able to fit in 2 drives in our 24 hour pass.
The food was fine and basic, a word of warning though; do not ask for a poached egg, they do them in vinegar!
If you were expecting luxury you may well be disappointed, I was expecting tents so I was happy to have a bed and proper shower!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BikiniB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

After teaching in rural Kenya for two months, my colleagues and I decided to end our trip with Safari. We used PrimeTime safaris who set us up with Ol-Moran Tented Camps. It was a beautiful area with amazing amenities. Meals were included and the dining area was superb. We couldn't have asked for better staff and accommodations. I would highly recommend staying at Ol-Moran; you will feel like you are in a resort in the middle of Masai Mara!

Room Tip: They're all great!
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bgilby24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Having recently returned from a 4 night stay at Ol Moran on 7th January we need to share our views and also respond to a scathing review from a previous visitor. Before our visit, we actually took the time to check the Ol Moran website ( lets assume internet is available in Europe) to be clear on the accommodation and facilities available - the description "tented camp" along with the rugged roads leading to Ol Moran, suggested to us that there was no 5 star oasis at the end of the path. The word " tent " gave us reason not to expect an expansive 3 bedroom apartment with Van Gogh's dangling from the wall. Did i mention that we checked the website before our visit......therefore we were aware of the electricity and hot water time schedules and consequently were remarkably able to equip ourselves with a torch and shower (together - as 2 people fit comfortably ) within the allocated times. The surrounding grounds were well groomed, and a lion attack on cattle beyond the fence, some 150 mtrs from our tent, gave us a more than adequate feeling of "camping in the bush". The food was of very good quality, and never lacked quantity - additionally we found by asking the staff about the dish gave the opportunity to converse with them to mutual benefit. Overall, in our opinion, Ol Moran more than met our expectations - it certainly was better than identical camps in Australia (actually, we don't have lions, zebras, elephants etc) while sadly, it apparently falls short of identical camps in europe. Well done to the friendly staff of Ol Moran - your efforts were appreciated, and the camp will be strongly recommended to others. Rob and Anne, Australia.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews