We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The People make this place Rock!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mara Plains Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mara Plains Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“The People make this place Rock!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

thank you Mara Plains for giving us the best safari out of a six-week, four country tour.
the tents are perfect. the dinners were awesome and the food on the drives were absolutely great. it was nice that we got to stay out all day instead of having to come back to EAT. POOEY!

the crossing with the zebras and the spotting of the leopard just jumping out in front of us all by ourselves will always be treasured!

it was truly our favorite of all our safaris while in africa. thank you so much!

Room Tip: get a room closest to the bridge so you don't have to walk as far to dinner etc AND that is wher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank audballa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
43
72
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Mara Plains Camp while on safari in the Masai Mara for four days in July. Being an avid photographer, this camp suited our purposes exceedingly well because the game drives prioritized your nature experience and so we did not have to return to camp for set meal times. The camp is owned by national geographic photographers and the camp manager and hostess are also experienced photographers who gladly gave us tips on photographing game in Africa. The facilities were fabulous with wonderful meals, picnic breakfasts during morning game drives, sundowners, often while game watching (e.g., one night we enjoyed our sundowner while watching a leopard set off to hunt), and lovely camp facilities. We especially appreciated having a power bar in our tent to charge camera batteries and to have hot water and electricity 24 hours a day. Our tent was situated by the river and one afternoon we were treated to a hippo fight as the defender was protecting his mate and baby from another male intruder. The Masai Mara is not only rich in animals but also birds. Highlights were a cheetah mom and cubs, a female leopard, lion cubs, the African Paradise Flycatcher and the African Pygmy Kingfisher amongst many many other delights. Our host and hostess were extremely friendly and food outstanding. There is simply nothing negative to say about this camp. Jane & Nicolai

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

Mara Plains is fantastic! First of all the camp is just outside the Maasai Mara National Reserve in the Olare Orok Conservancy and only the camps in side Olare Orok Conservancy can travel within the Conservancy. This means that there will be very few vehicles when there is a siding. There are 4 lion prides in the conservancy, so on every outing we would see lions. There are also many cheetahs, elephants, giraffes, zebras, and etc. You also have easy access to the National Reserve since it is only a couple of kilometers away.

The camp itself is very unique. It is on the edge of a river and you actually cross a bridge to enter the camp. There are lots of trees that shade most of the camp. The gathering area is very inviting and comfortable. Our room was like a tree house. It was about 6’ off the ground. The living area was very roomy with lots of storage areas. It had a outside veranda that was about 10’ x 20’ and overlooked the river. The bathroom had a toilet, shower and sink. In the river there are 2 crocodiles (Bonnie and Clyde) that you could see them swimming around all the time.

The best part of the camp is the staff. Richard and Lorna are great hosts. They have a wealth of experience and knowledge and are happy to share with there guest. They eat every meal with us and had plenty of great stories to tell. Our guide Daniel was one of the most pleasant people I have ever met. He is Maasai and has spent his whole life in the area of the camp. He new all of the animals and there history and often new what they were going to do before they did it. He always put us in the right spot to get the best shot. The food was excellent!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTraveler200862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

The atmosphere at this camp was quite nice. Our tent (#6?) was very comfortable with a good porch view of the plains. Our guide Kevin was incredible - he always knew where to go and his instincts were remarkable. He's from the area and knows every part of the park. With him we were able to see some of the most incredible sights ever, our pictures stunned our friends and family. Yes it was quite expensive but it was a good value in my opinion.

Rooms - I think all of the tents are similar except the one with the hammocks. Ours was very comfortable. The guy comes by a few times a day to light the fire for your hot water heater if you want a shower. They sneak in and out to clean the room and drop off your laundryl. Sometimes the flashlights of the guards woke us up at night if they were shooing a leopard out of the camp, and there is a hippo that lives in the river that barks at night like Jabba the Hutt. Also the Bush Babies climb on top of the tent at night. But if you have a sense of humor and a bottle of wine before bed none of this is an issue. It is nature after all. This camp also has 24/7 electricity which we did not have in another camp we stayed in. They even offered a special low-voltage hair dryer for anyone who requested it.

Food - The majority of the food was good. There were a couple of dinners that weren't to my personal preference, but in general the meals were quite nice. Whether dining under the stars, or from a cooler in the bush, food was very satisfying. And they were never lacking in quantity of food. And remember they are cooking this in a camp kitchen, so lots of credit there.

Game drives - As mentioned, Kevin was amazing. Highly recommended. He brought us to sights where we were the only car there, and where we felt like we were the only people on Earth.

Management - You may have read other reviews about the interim management, Giovanni and Kari. Although Kari was quite lovely, Giovanni left something to be desired. We found him also to be quite repetitive with stories and unable to remember guest's names. For $1,200 a night you'd think that might be important. Also he made a number of sexist remarks against women in general and towards one of the female guests which was offensive. We found him to be rude to the staff, in both how he spoke to them and how he spoke about them. He referred to them as 'servants' and spoke about how they couldn't be trusted to do daily tasks without him checking on them. He also said that the camp would never hire a woman to work there because it caused too many problems with the male 'servants.' He also stated that he would never hire a female 'servant' for his own home or ever allow the families of his 'servants' to ever enter his own home. I found the staff at the camp to be extremely hard-working, attentive, polite, and friendly. I do not think they deserved that kind of treatment. I hope the regular managers reconsider appointing him as a representative in the future.

The solitude of the camp is breathtaking, and a truly special place.

Room Tip: We were told that this camp is shutting down for a few months at the end of this year for a complete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank itsjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights as the third African camp after staying in 2 camps in the Okavango in Botswana the week before.

I have conflicted opinions about this camp. I think 99% will love it.

The Maasai Mara is a beautiful place. Mara Plains Camp is a leased property from the Maasai people on a small part of the Conservancy (which is a portion of the Mara owned by the Maasai) next to a small stream/river. It is in the style of the colonial tented camps and is beautiful. There is a small wooden rope bridge to walk across which makes it feel like you are being taken away to somewhere special. There is nothing particularly special about the main area. It is quite small and there are some pleasant furnishings.

There are stone paved paths to the tents. We were in number 7 and the balcony overlooked the plains. Beautiful. The 'tents' were the best we stayed in Africa. They have large beds, lighting and ample shelf space for things. The bathrooms were functional. The flush toilets were average, often requiring multiple flushes for lack of 'oomph'. The dual copper basins were showing the characteristic green coloured oxidation and had a metallic smell. There was laundry powder for ladies smalls (these are the only things the Maasai male staff don't wash), body lotion and very nice shampoo, conditioner and body wash. Unfortunately, housekeeping decided to remove/throw away the loofah we brought along.

The meals were excellent and prepared by Juma, the resident chef. Breakfast has a small continental selection and hot portion of bacon, sausage, eggs of your choice. There are the requisite morning tea, afternoon tea and sundowners. Lunch was excellent and if in camp a cooked selection (awesome battered fish one day) or packed lunch if out on game trails. Dinner was excellent, usually out on the lawn near a firepit. The alcohol is unlimited should you be so inclined.

There are around 14-16 guests at any one time and the other guests on our stay were all very very nice, very considerate and well mannered.

The game drives were excellent. The Maasai Mara is an amazing place, the best we saw in Africa. This is postcard stuff; savannah grass, herds of animals, lions, cheetah, elephants, giraffes, hippos. Our guide was good but not as good as those in Botswana. I think he was a little burned out. The highlights we saw were a cheetah kill and the Mara River crossing.

So to the problems. Mara Plains Camp is not cheap. At USD$650++ per person per night it was just about three times as expensive as the other camps (Botswana) we stayed. Other Maasai Mara camps are similarly priced.

Another issue was the management/hosts. Or lack thereof. There have been glowing reviews on tripadvisor regarding Richard and Lorna. Neither were there during our stay; we were told they were on separate 2 week vacations. Their replacements, for clientele and a camp of this calibre, were inadequate. One, Giovanni, was a friend of Richard (I was lead to believe) who was doing it as a "favor". He was an elderly gentlemen who could not remember our names or tell my wife and I apart from our travelling companions (note we were the only Australians in this small camp apart from an Australian travel writer who was there courtesy of the camp). He seemed not to know anything about the camp function and I grew weary of hearing the same colonialist stories again and again. The other, Kari, was from the office in Nairobi. I had the impression it was her first time out to the camp. And every single night she would ask my travel companions and I which tents we were in. It is not that hard. I got the impression that although very polite, they saw their time there as an inconvenience.

These sound like small things but often it is these things that make the difference.

Perhaps it would be sensible to not allow the managers/hosts to have leave at the same time during the high season?; orient the incoming managers; or send replacements with experience.

The other regular staff were excellent. It was evident that the camp could run without the hosts.

I am a fairly non-fussed low maintenance guest but if you have specific requirements, requests, needs, the staff will accomodate you.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank spiderpig01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreatPlainsConservat, Director of Sales at Mara Plains Camp, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Dear Spiderpig01

Thank you for your feedback on Mara Plains, and for the positive evaluation of the camp, the tents, the food, the staff and the game viewing experience.

We are sorry that you did not really enjoy your guide, nor the managers in camp during your stay - all three of whom have a wealth of experience and have received many rave reviews from guests during their respective careers.

Richard and Lorna, our regular management team are a happy couple, so they take holidays together, to enjoy a well-earned break. Now that we see how popular they are, we will have to start paying them more to forfeit all holiday time!

Just so you are aware, both of the relief managers you mention have many years of experience, and are much respescted in the tourism industry.

Kari is the regular relief manager for Great Plains Conservation in Kenya, as well as a very important part of our head office marketing team in Nairobi.
Giovanni is a celebrated Kenyan character who has managed up-market camps in Kenya for years.
We are sorry that their style of management did not suit your stay.

You might be pleased to hear that Dereck and Beverly Joubert have just been visiting Mara Plains, making the final touches to an exciting refurbishment plan for the whole camp which will commence in early 2013

We look forward to sharing the new camp with our loyal Great Plains Conservation guests and followers in the near future.

Yours in Conservation Tourism
Hilton Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
60 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

Words really cannot do this camp justice; it is more an experience than a place!

I recently spent three nights at Mara plains with my two teenage daughters. This was our second stop on a 17 day safari and was by far our favorite camp. Richard and Lorna are terrific hosts and made us feel very much a part of the Mara Plains Family. The camp is small (7 tents), so it was very easy to get to know all of the other guests (I believe the previous reviewer from Florida was actually there at the same time!) and the camp staff. Our guide, Dan, was terrific. He made our trip very special. On our first day at camp we managed to spend extended periods of time observing and spending time with both a cheetah (with two cubs) and a leopard; the following day we spent more than an hour with a pride of 17 lions! Our good luck continued throughout our stay; each animal encounter was more spectacular than the last. I would definitely recommend Dan as a guide, although I suspect that all of the Mara Plains guides are phenomenal.

The tents are well equipped with very comfortable beds, 24 hour electricity, charging points, full bathrooms with all of the amenities and a wonderful deck over the river that runs through camp. At night, we fell asleep to the sounds of hippos splashing and snorting in the river below.

Meals were a definite highlight at Mara Plains. We truly enjoyed the intimacy of this small camp and LOVED our time at the dinner table and campfire with the other guests. If I am ever lucky enough to return to Kenya, Mara Plains will definitely be on my itinerary!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaliforniaLori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polk City, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

We have stayed in the Mara Plains Camp before, and returned because of just how special this place is with the feeling of personal attention, and the conservatory and Mara Reserve out your tent.

Richard and Lorna are great hosts making you feel at home from the moment you arrive. They cannot do enough for you to increase your enjoyment.

Our guide Ping, is simply the best. He can almost tell what an animal is thinking and where he should place the vehicle for the best possible vantage point. In our stay we saw leopards, cheetahs, and over 40 lions. Not to mention elephants, etc.

Conservatories provide the experience of learning about he culture, and how to conserve the environment, and at the same time provide an almost private exposure to the animals. If you have ever heard the stories of multiple vehicles surrounding an animal in the reserve, this simply cannot and does not happen in the conservancy.

If you are planning a vacation in the Masai Mara, please include this place in your plans.

Room Tip: They are all good, room six has the most privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nrhareiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
10.7 mi away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#4 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
2.6 mi away
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
#13 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
14.1 mi away
Angama Mara
Angama Mara
#28 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#6 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
2.2 mi away
Porini Lion Camp
Porini Lion Camp
#8 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
9.2 mi away
Mara Ngenche Safari Camp
Mara Ngenche Safari Camp
#40 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Plains Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Plains Camp

Property: Mara Plains Camp
Address: Olare Motorogi Conservancy, Masai Mara National Reserve 0000, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a small, high quality, seven tented camp under canvas, located within the private Olare Motorogi Conservancy and just a few hundred meters to the north of the Maasai Mara National Reserve boundary. Guests can game drive in both the Maasai Mara National Reserve and the private Conservancy away from the crowds. It is a fabulous wildlife reserve of 30 000 acres, rich in wildlife (with all the predators and big cats in particular), with the lowest vehicle density in the Mara, no mini-buses and only one guest room per 700 acres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Mara Plains Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Plains Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Plains Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing