We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“child friendly camp”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Masai Mara National Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kichakani Mara Camp
nairobi
1 review
“child friendly camp”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Was there with a group of 21 8-10 year olds. They enjoyed every bit: the swimming pool, the tents overlooking the river, entertainment by the Masais. The food was also child friendly - the most fussy eater enjoyed the vegetable soup and the bread that was offered! The fresh juice offered for breakfast was energizing for the whole group. Esther - the Hostess was very helpful.

Room Tip: If you are camping with kids, request for the center tents, its easy to supervise them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    15
    9
    2
    6
See reviews for
10
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My pals and i decided to do a last minute planned safari, we got some good referals from some of our friends and we were not disappointed. The tents were very large and spacious with a raised deck facing the river and park on the other side. We could see animals while seated inside our tent. There was always hot water in the showers when it was cold or you also take a swim when it was too hot. What i enjoyed most this time compared to my previous visits to the mara is the short distances during game drives, we could see almost all animals in a very short time. i would do this again and again!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moremm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thika, Central, Kenya
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2012

The safari experience was fantastic and not comparable to some of the reviews posted on the internet. We stayed at the camp for four nights and had the experience of a life time. The food was also good and the staff were very friendly. The camp has an african touch to it. Animals were right outside the electric fence and at night we could hear the lions roaring, elephants and hyenas walking about. We went for the game drives with a Maasai guide who helped track the animals at the park. Very affordable and worth the price. AN EXPERIENCE NOT TO BE MISSED!

Room Tip: Rooms near Tarek river are the best especially for those who want a thrilling yet safe experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jefferson527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Vandalism and lost cash and electronics valued at 2500 dollars. Dirty linen, towels, and filthy bathing water. No one should ever put themselves in such danger. It should be avoided like a deadly plague.

Dr. Jack Edwards

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daraja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels

Kingston, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Sometimes the best places are made by the staff and Kichakani is one of those places! The tents were basic, but large, clean and comfortable, with an incredible view across the Talek River to the Maasai Mara, where giraffe and eland wandered in the evening light! What really made this camp was the staff...Evelyn, Eroch and the 2 Josephs! From the time we arrived to the time we left 3 days later, we felt so welcome and thoroughly enjoyed their company and our stay. JJ gave us a walking tour of the area that far outshone any 'Visit to the Maasai Village' being offered. If you want to interact with the real people and aren't too caught up in the 5 star experience(this is Kenya, after all!!), I highly recommend this camp and Asili Adventure Safaris!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fran4kenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2011

I hadsuch an amazing weekend at Mara Kichakani Camp. Its spectacular, and gives you peace and calm, the meals are irresistibly delicious, the tents are great, i loved the balconies from where you can have an evening drink as you watch wild animals from a distance. the relaxing pool side, the lovely furniture and amazing staff. Kichakani Camp is a place i must go back to. I shed tears the day i left the camp. Keep up!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Recalda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeadon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

When staying in the Maasi Mara on a budget for 1 night all you expect is clean and tidy. This was neither. The house keeping was very disappointing. If you stay for 2 or 3 nights it may be better, but we only stayed for 1 night.
One of our towels had very obviously not been changed from the previous guests.
The tents are spacious but there was no table or chair in our tent to put our clothes or personal belongings on, we had to put them on the floor.
Neither of the hand held showers in our tents had warm water. We were advised to run the water for a while, but this didn't make any difference.

We had our early morning game drive on our 2nd day, returning at 9am for our breakfast, and we were ment to have our final game drive after. This never happened. We were expected to wait in the camp for 4hrs until our lift to the airstrip. We were offered a nature walk around the outside of the camp with a guide. We walked for an hour in a big circle and saw some cows. The children were very disappointed. I don't think paying thousands of pounds and flying thousands of miles, and seeing cows, was quite what we were expecting. The game drive the previous day however, were excellant, seeing lions and cheetahs very close up.

Whilst leaving the tent with our belongings, the towel my son had used was hung out over the balcony to dry. (It was a diffeerent colour than the rest of us had). If you were going to wash it, why would you dry it first? As my parents were leaving their tent, the housekeeper was remaking their beds, not changing them.

The staff are very welcoming and very apologetic. The food was good. The chef would make you extra or something different if desired. The pancakes at breakfast are lovely. But overall I cannot reccomend this camp.

This was our 3rd visit to Kenya, and so our 3rd safari. This camp has the poorest standards we've stayed in regarding clenliness and maintenance. As said before the grounds seem unkept and not maintained either.
It's a shame when its in such a great setting.

The actual camp does not resemble the brochure pictures.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Catherine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
0.0 mi away
Duma Camp Maasai Mara
Duma Camp Maasai Mara
#100 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Leleshwa Camp
Leleshwa Camp
#82 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oltome Resorts
Oltome Resorts
#76 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ngerende Island Lodge
Ngerende Island Lodge
#64 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
154 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oldarpoi Mara Camp
Oldarpoi Mara Camp
#67 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
181 reviews
0.0 mi away
Entumoto Safari Camp
Entumoto Safari Camp
#57 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kichakani Mara Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kichakani Mara Camp

Property: Kichakani Mara Camp
Address: | PO Box 5533, Masai Mara National Reserve 00200, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Innovatively conceived spectacularly on the edge of the expansive Masai Mara Game Reserve, Kichakani Camp a simple but classic camp nestled amidst the big figs of the Mara. It offers a panorama of the Burrungat and Posee plains on its sides. The camp is conveniently located on the banks of the Talek River, just next to a major wildebeest crossing point. With the river as the only physical boundary between the park and the camp, it offers excellent game viewing. The camp décor and architecture is intentionally simplistic in nature, with semi-permanent grass thatched bandas fitted with tents – flash toilets and hot shower bathrooms en-suite – and a deck for outdoor sitting. The food is a fusion of African and International cuisines prepared and presented in a unique African style. Kichakani Camp does not miss to capture the romance of safari life. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kichakani Mara Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Kichakani Mara Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing