We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Mara wildlife”
Review of Sala's Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Masai Mara National Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sala's Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We spent two nights at Sala's as a party of ten. Sala's is made up of seven tents along a river edge and a mess tent from which all the meals are served. The hosts Debbie & John were delightful and went over and above the call of duty when seven of our party were sick one night. My brother & wife were lucky enough to be in the honeymoon tent which houses four people and is light and bright & fantastic. I found the other tents to be rather dark, but honestly this was probably because we were ill and so not ourselves at all. The safari drives were utterly spectacular as was the sundowner on the top of the hill. Our guides were brilliant and Fred our Masai night guard was particularly kind and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LJPUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013

My wife and I were in Salas camp for 4 nights and experienced excellent staff and manager care. Salas was part 3 of a 4 part safari. A special call out to Debbie for asking the right questions and managing expectations thropughout our stay to ensure we had a great experience. She was omnipresent with client service regardless of a 430am departure or a 11:30pm star count. Anthony too was exceptional for his attentiveness and welcoming attitude. Our spotter was very good too, i only wish i could spell his name to give him a call out too. The food was a suprisingly good for the bush and now I know why they call it Glamping. Laundry service was swift and well done. We will return.

Room Tip: there are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kip a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We had 2 nights at Sala's and it was fantastic in all ways. The service, food and attentiveness to us was outstanding. We were in the big family tent and the amnetites, cleanliness and facilities were fantastic, not to mention the view over the river to a sunset.
The safari leaders, particularly David, were outstanding and we saw it all. The nice new open Land Cruiser was easily the best we saw in the park. David spotted everything before we could even see it with the binos and took us to see not only all the animals close up (leopards!) but a cheetah hunt. Highly recommend breakfast out. Even on the way back to the airport we saw a family of elephants bathing in the mud. Don't take the cheap places outside the camp as the facilities are terrible and the drivers know nothing. Pay the money for the once in a lifetime experience and see it all with a luruious setting to return to each day.

Room Tip: Take the family room if you can at the quiet end of the camp and the huge space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Warsaw_Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We were recently in Sala's camp and although camp manager was very nice we were disappointed overall . Very disorganised and service was poor. Tents were not what we expected as they had no permanent floors and basic facilities. Had a good guide (Moses) .

Room Tip: Try and get the honeymoon suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniels-jan8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We holidayed at Sala's camp to celebrate 3 milestone anniversaries - my wife's 70th, my 80th and our Golden Wedding. Sala's Camp was part 2 of our Great African Adventure (parts 1 and 3 being Solio Lodge and Baraza Resort, Zanzibar). We travelled with our family - son, daughter-in-law, 2 grandsons (16 &13), granddaughter (15) and daugther. We had the most amazing time at Sala's Camp. All the faciliites were superb, the game drives were amazing - we saw everything we hoped for and more besides. The guides and spotters, Alex and Samuel and David and Edward were simply wonderful. Thanks, too, to Debbie, Andrew, Tony and Savanna and all the Camp's staff for their 5* hospitality - truly the holiday of a lifetime. THANK YOU TO EVERYONE. If you are thinking of going to Sala's, all we can say is BOOK IT NOW!

Room Tip: they are all brilliant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LesleyDavid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I stayed here for a few days, and it was by far the best camp with the best staff and accommodations. Clean, professional, friendly, hospitable. Home away from home. I have been to the Masai Mara on two separate occasions now, staying at a total of 5 camps. This was the BEST. Perhaps the camps best asset is Debbie!!! She is absolutely wonderful, welcoming, hospitable, and genuinely works to make your holiday your perfect holiday. She is truly lovely and the camp is beyond lucky to have such a great face to greet guests. She made the trip!!! Wonderful with people and guests, accommodating. I feel like I have known her my whole life, and so felt at ease and at home at Sala's.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We holidayed at Sala's camp and Solio Lodge and had a fantastic time at both. We were a party of eight with ages ranging from 13 to 79. The facilities and set up at Sala's Camp catered for the whole age range and all had a fantastic time. The game drives were amazing and the hospitality fantastic. A truly amazing experience - the full Hemingway experience under (very luxurious) canvass! We will be back

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
2.5 mi away
Sand River Masai Mara
Sand River Masai Mara
#49 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
116 reviews
25.1 mi away
Angama Mara
Angama Mara
#20 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
119 reviews
21.9 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#11 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Cam...
#14 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
863 reviews
35.7 mi away
Saruni Mara
Saruni Mara
#18 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
239 reviews
34.9 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sala's Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sala's Camp

Address: Sand River, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 146 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: £369 - £460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sala's Camp 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the less known southern area of the renowned Masai Mara, Sala’s Camp rests on the banks of the Sand and Keekorok rivers looking into Tanzania’s Serengeti on the opposite side. Sala’s Camp is nestled amongst an indigenous forest with views into the Northern Corridor, which is the route taken by the million wildebeest whose famous migration takes place annually. This makes Sala’s Camp the perfect spot to watch the Great Migration unfold. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sala`s Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Sala's Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing