We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean and cosy”
Review of Sentrim Mara Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sentrim Mara Camp
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice clean and cosy”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This was our first ever stay in a tent, and the ensuites were a welcomed addition. The tents were clean and tidy , had comfortable beds and had mosy nets. They were also solar powered, so you only had access to power at certain times, but this worked as we were organised. Moses, the manager was very warm and welcoming, and joined us one evening for dinner. Their was a great selection of food, and on a positive note they could have had a slightly better wine selection. All the staff were warm and friendly. Overal we had a great stay and would highly recommend this accommodation to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kingsley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    92
    44
    16
    15
See reviews for
59
86
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights during our safari trip in Kenya.
The tent was very spacious and clean. The bathroom was super clean and well equipped. The bed had mosquito net although there were no mosquitoes around in September when we stayed there.
What I liked is that the tent "windows" would close with a zipper so that you wouldn't hear the wind coming through your room at night time.
The light would go up only certain hours per day but it was ok, as we went for game drives or slept during shut down hours.

The restaurant served good and tasty food. Drinks were extra but at reasonable prices.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.
The premises were safe and the atmosphere great.
We enjoyed every minute of it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicoleta I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

The stay was a truly wonderful experience. The staff are fantastic, going above and behind to ensure you have the best possible service and heartfelt interest in your day.

We would like to thank each and every one of the staff for helping to make our holiday extra special, and would like to give a special mention to Stanley our waiter and Anthony the guide.

Whilst the accommodation may loosely be described as a tent, this only adds to the character of the hotel. It is by far the poshest "tent" you could imagine with beds, toilets and shower. Although some may find the limited electricity a problem, in a strange way for us this only added to the African experience.

The safari experience is second to none and having a masi guide again added to the experience.

I would certainly return to this wonderful hotel and couldn't recommend it strongly enough.


  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob_Sally_Wilkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
375 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed in the Sentrim Mara for two nights at the end of August. The lodge is situated outside of the Masai Mara reserve, about 20 minutes along a very rough road.

For our first night we were allocated tent 10 - the last tent down the long path and furthest from the main dining and pool area. There were notices about a leopard alert, so I was very wary having never slept under canvas before. The tent was reasonably well furnished, but the floor was quite rough especially in the shower area.
The lights/electricity went off from about 11pm until 5am, so bring a torch!

For the second night I requested a change of room, and we were moved to lama 8.
What a difference. A much better accommodation, with solid walls, ample space, well equipped toilet and shower area, and windows with mosquito netting that we could leave open for air.

There was a buffet for breakfast and dinner, and the food and service was very good.

A great base for visiting the reserve.

Room Tip: Ask for a 'lama' rather than a tent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This sprawling resort with its rugged charm luxurious cottages, tended accomodation with excellent mosquito proofing...many of these are perched on stilts and all have wooden sitouts overlooking the forest are good for city dwellers looking for a break.
The layout in the midst of a wooded sanctuary itself makes it a prime location for bird watching. Once back from the safari , one can relax on the property, walking around, watching and listening to birds and mixing with the changing groups of tourists. Every one has a story to share...about animals they came across, their travels in other countries, their photographs and their memories.
Late evenings, the security guards escort you to and from your room, leopards have been sighted on the property they say, so a tremendous amount of care is taken.
Early morning wake up calls are provided, otherwise the stillness is amazing and welcoming. There are no phones or bells in the rooms, a welcome change.
In the main area are the swimming pool, gift shop and the restaurant, the nearby

Room Tip: All rooms excellent, ask for rooms together and confirm your reservations before travel, the resort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RenukaNair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida, USA
Level 6 Contributor
482 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed for 3 nights as part of a tour group. We were assigned a cabin rather than a tent. The cabin was large enough and the bedding was good. The service from the staff was very good as were the drivers on our game drive, although many of the animal sightings were by the tourists rather than the driver. The lighting in the cabin was so poor we could not find things in our luggage without a flashlight. We were also disappointed in the food. While other reviewers thought the food was good, our group disagreed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikesflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Amazing food and service. Impeccable grounds and professional staff. Great location. Saw a rhino on our way back home. Learned about Masai culture from the staff and wish we had visited their village right next to the camp. We truly enjoyed our stay here. Highly recommend this place.Be sure to bring enough cash as their credit card machine didn't work while we were there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenmhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
8.8 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
228 reviews
2.9 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
110 reviews
9.7 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,031 reviews
6.6 mi away
Ol-moran Tented Camp
Ol-moran Tented Camp
#86 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
131 reviews
22.6 mi away
Ashnil Mara Camp
Ashnil Mara Camp
#33 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sentrim Mara Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentrim Mara Camp

Property: Sentrim Mara Camp
Address: Sekenani Maasai Mara | P.O. Box 43436, Masai Mara National Reserve 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sentrim Mara Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sentrim Mara Camp is located in the Maasai Mara Game Reserve, 3 km from Sekenani gate. The entire camp is spread out over 100 acres of tranquil surroundings. The main guest area consists of the Reception, Lounge, Restaurant, Bar, Fire Place, Pool Bar, beauty spa and Swimming Pool. The lodge has a total of 64 en-suite standard, superior tents as well as family houses (Concrete). All rooms are equipped with Private hot shower, In-room safe deposit box, solar power and coffee making facilities. Recreation activities e.G. Guided nature walks, game drives, balloon safaris, Maasai culture talk, Manyatta village visits & Maasai dancers; can be organized upon request at a fee. Other services offered at the camp include; sundowner cocktails, bush breakfast / bush lunch and dinner within the lodge, massage services and can be organized upon request at a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Jovago.com and Agoda so you can book your Sentrim Mara Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentrim Mara Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Sentrim Mara Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing