We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place,friendly staff”
Review of Sentrim Mara Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sentrim Mara Camp
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

After my rather basic safari accomodations I almost didn't find words for this place. Got a huge house/tent for myself with a balcony and views over the hills,facing east,so you can admire the sunrise. Huge room,huge bathroom with hot shower,a safe,mosquito nets and water heater for brewing fresh coffee in the morning. Onsite restaurant offers a bit of everything (breakfast,lunch,dinner,all buffet) and the staff is probably the friendliest I've met so far in Kenya. Located near the main gate inside the park,they have a lovely swimming pool,gift shop,in the evening there's a fireplace at the poolside.
They have tents for 2 or whole family houses.
Nothing to complain about!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HNina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

95 - 101 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014

The Lodge has cottages on wooden stilts. The front doors have locks, but the rears have zipped canvas, so didn't see the logic in this. Take a cottage near the dining area despite the noise nuisance. Rooms are big. Double bedroom has 2 beds with mosquito nets, dresser, washroom with 2 washbasins and a shower. Though rooms have sit outs, with thick greenery all around, you can only see tree-tops. Nice swimming pool with jacuzzi. Food was good but ran short and staff were not polite when questioned. The had yummy tailor-made pizzas. Electricity goes off after 7 pm. No wifi and net access in rooms, but they charge it for you at the reception. Carry a powerful torch and don't leave valuables around. We were given a whistle to call staff at nights, but you need to blow 4 or 5 times for them to come and then 4 come masais came together. Can be scary if you're alone. Good to visit in groups. But, in Africa, you can expect anything and everything to enjoy the surreal beauty of the place.

Room Tip: Take a room near the dining area despite the noise nuisance, as they're quite far from each othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel2014573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Stayed in Room No. 1. It was a tent, built on a raised concrete platform.

First the positives : The beds were comfy. The basics were provided. Service of the entire staff was excellent. They had good Indian food & an excellent Caramel Custard!

Now the negatives : The Hotel is located in the hills & is a 10 min drive from the main gate. The Masai Mara has several Hotels right in the middle of the park, so it is senseless choosing one outside, as getting to the inner parts of the park takes up time.
The hotel has no phone reception. You get reception in the park but not in the hotel! There are certain "spots" outside the reception gate where if you are lucky you can get a good signal.
Electricity to charge your electronic device's batteries is available through only one point in the room and is available for a very limited period of time! You can charge at the reception, but that is taking a chance, specially if you have 2 cameras and the Hotel is full.
The tent has an open bath. I have no idea why ppl design bathrooms with only couples in mind, but that seems to be the trend these days. It's almost like assuming brothers, family, friends no more travel togther! The bathroom has no door, just a curtain. The toilet has a half sized door! And best of all the walls are just about 6" tall, which make the entire situation very uncomfortable!
To top it off, insects enter the room from below the door (there was a gap). And that just about gives you the perfect experience of crapping in the wild with all the bugs... we even got lizards chasing those insects come in.
And then there was also a bat which entered through the roof from above the toilet! We just wanted to lead it out of the door & called for some help to help catch the bat. Unfortunately the guard just came and swatted it with a towel! As insensitive as it was luckily the bat didn't die.
There are baboons in the area and that bunch kept looting the garbage bins on the path near our room. Also there are signboards in the room warning of leopards roaming the property. So better to travel in groups while heading for breakfast, dinner, pickups, etc..
The main light switches are located outside the room and we had someone always coming in the night and turning the lights off. Finally had to run out of the room to tell the person to stop doing that!
There is a very tempting pool and jaccuzi on the property. But its not heated, so there is no chance of using either in the chilly weather!
Overall : Well its a decent place. But I would surely not stay in it again.

Room Tip: Carry extra batteries and charge the extras at the reception while you are gone on safari. Carry to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Akshay_Wadke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We had the first hut to the left as you face the main building. Our room was minimum. The bed and space were fine, but the bathroom as very rough. However, the worst part was there were many bees in the room. We came back from a game drive, and there were probably 75 dead bees in the shower. Additionally, I stepped on a half dead bee that was on some carpet (so I didn't see it) and was stung. The front desk staff were not friendly and did not "aim to please". The positive was the food and the dining room staff. All of those staff were very friendly and seemed to really want folks to have a pleasant dining experience. I especially liked the pizza cooked in the open oven. Breakfast was fine also. Omelets cooked to order and many choices.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CocoBeans1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

locate nearby gate of Masai Mara, it;s a little far away when go to safari in Mara river. it's a beatuiful lodge, large garden! Room is BIG! with balcony. Good food, you can have tailor-made pizza in dinner.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed in a lodge for 3 nights here as part of our safari holiday.
The lodge was clean and comfortable with fly screens on all windows to keep the bugs out but there were mozzie nets on the beds and a man that came round to spray for bugs in the evening just in case one got in!
The electric is only on for 2 hours in the morning and 4 in the evening so take a torch to read or visit the bathroom in the night.
The staff were helpful and really friendly and made us feel at home. Our guide and driver (John & Jackson) were wonderful and really made our trip special.
The truck was comfortable and, as there were only two of us, we could move around to get the best views of the animals.
Thank you for a great trip :o)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

As part of our OAT Safari we spent 3 nights and 4 days at the Sentrim. Everyone who welcomed us at the airport to the lodge were friendly and helpful. My accommodation was LAMA 10 and a steep walk up the hill to the diningroom. The food was very good. Several selections at every meal. There was a bar with good selections too! I have no complaints about my room. It was clean. The toilet area did smell like sewage, but not anything that I could not handle. Dennis was my houseman and he did a good job. You do hear animals at night most notably was the hyena. Sometimes the small tree animals scurried across the thatch roof at night. All the Maasai drivers and guides were wonderful. They certainly know their animals and the first day we were able to see the black rhino. A good place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lavonnemy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
9.7 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,089 reviews
2.9 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
122 reviews
8.8 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.7 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#6 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
201 reviews
1.7 mi away
Oldarpoi Mara Camp
Oldarpoi Mara Camp
#68 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
192 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sentrim Mara Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentrim Mara Camp

Address: Sekenani Maasai Mara | P.O. Box 43436, Masai Mara National Reserve 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 146 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: £108 - £299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sentrim Mara Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sentrim Mara Camp is located in the Maasai Mara Game Reserve, 3 km from Sekenani gate. The entire camp is spread out over 100 acres of tranquil surroundings. The main guest area consists of the Reception, Lounge, Restaurant, Bar, Fire Place, Pool Bar, beauty spa and Swimming Pool. The lodge has a total of 64 en-suite standard, superior tents as well as family houses (Concrete). All rooms are equipped with Private hot shower, In-room safe deposit box, solar power and coffee making facilities. Recreation activities e.G. Guided nature walks, game drives, balloon safaris, Maasai culture talk, Manyatta village visits & Maasai dancers; can be organized upon request at a fee. Other services offered at the camp include; sundowner cocktails, bush breakfast / bush lunch and dinner within the lodge, massage services and can be organized upon request at a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Sentrim Mara Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentrim Mara Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Sentrim Mara Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing