We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a way to start our safari!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sentrim Mara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sentrim Mara
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a way to start our safari!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2010

We spent one night at the Sentrim Mara Lodge in the Masai Mara and it was a good way to start our safari. The smiley staff welcomed us with a fresh towel and a juice and once in our accommodation (a nice big tent with a terrace overlooking the bush), we were very impressed with the set up. Everything was in good condition, the bed was comfi, the shower pressure was good. We only stayed one night but we enjoyed our stay there. The pool was also very welcoming and the common areas (restaurant, bar and swimming pool) are well set up. Breakfast and dinner are served as a buffet and there is plenty of choice. Nothing wrong to say about this lodge!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delphine73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    81
    43
    16
    14
See reviews for
54
82
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

Overall it is a very average tented camp. This is the last place we stayed on our trip and it was the worst. Although the tents were large and the beds nice, the insulation from bugs was not as good as others. Our shower had gnats in it every day because the netting at the top had way too large of holes. Other than that the rooms were clean.

The grounds were again very average. The location is at the very front of the Masia Mara which we learned sometimes means a long drive into the park before you start really seeing the animals. If you stay here I highly recommend doing full day game drives.

The food is the main reason why I will not stay here again. Not a single meal we had here was good. We were typically one of the first groups to get food and somehow it as cold. The meats were tough and fatty. There wasn't a single meal that was decent.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adventuresabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan lancashire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

This lodge in the Masai Mara is the ideal place to experience your dream safari.The tents are clean and quite comfortable.The electric charging points did not work but this was not a problem as the reception was only too happy to charge your batteries for you.
The resident driver Maen was an excellent guide and really knows his stuff.The food here is average but the location is perfect.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gomez11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2010

we had two nights here having been swapped from the David Livingstone lodge.
the service was poor, the food barely edible, rice, pasta,mashed potato and a couple of meat dishes of unknown origin coffee cold, ran out of milk and sausages at breakfast and that was at 06.30am,
the location poor(view from tent a ladder and loads of bushes) no area to sit and relax after your evening meal unless you wanted to sit on a sunbed by the pool.
alarm went off in tent at 01.00am, it went on for at least an hour no-one came to see if we were ok and we had no way of getting help as too far to reception in the dark and the tents have no communication with the reception, found out later we were supposed to use a whistle to attract the security guard but was not provided with one.
it appears that there is a lot of work still going on and they are not equipped to cope with the amount of guests they had, but are sending people here to pay for the next phase of development.
we didn't let it spoil our safari as it was our first time in the mara, but having had such lovely lodges last year in tsavo east and west with excellent views we felt we had been down graded.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank car_stu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels

Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
847 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

The mara is an incredible place, there is no doubt about that. Lodges and camps are more expensive than in other parts of Kenya. But this place was definitely a step down from all of the other places we stayed on our safari. I would recommend trying somewhere else in the area, and probably getting a better deal. This is tented camp with large rooms. Our room had two double beds, a small balcony, and a bathroom two sinks, a shower, and a flush toilet. Hot water was available all day, as was electricity. The camp has a pool and some common seating areas. It is just inside the Sekenani gate, on the road that is at the Northeast boundary of the park. The common areas are below average, with no scenery, or really comfortable or pleasant places to hang out. The service was below average, with a seemingly unenthusiastic staff for the most part. The coffee pot was empty about 1/2 the time I tried to get to it. The food was below average, sort of like college dorm food from back in the day. Also, if the camp is crowded, count on them running out of some items. If you take a late breakfast, your food may be cold. The dining room feels cramped, and it looks like they are building more rooms. This place was the most expensive one of our trip, which included several parks. I suppose you pay a premium for being at the Mara, but if I return, I will not stay at the Sentrim again. I would try someplace else, it will likely be better.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hitcher84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2010

No Matter what the reviews have said.. I must say that our stay at Sentrim was one of the best. Went as a group of 8 and the service was just too good. The staff were very very friendly... The lodge now has a pool and a jacuzzi and its a nice way to relax after a game drive.

There was always a good choice of food.

Would definitely visit again and i would recommend it any day!!!!

Abhi

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abhi20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2010

Just returned from a two night stay whilst visiting the Masi Mara for a safari.
We should have originally gone to another lodge, but was transferred for some particular reason.
When booking the trip some 12 months ago, we did want a tented lodge, but was unable to do this given how we wished to travel. We were therefore delighted when we realised we would be staying under canvas.
The lodge is very secure having an electric fence to keep out the animals. There are also Masi warriors who walk you to and from your tent at night, armed with a bow, arrow and a torch.
The tents are very large and had everything required I.e. bed, toilet, shower. There was a mosquito net over the bed, which was let down every night whilst we were at dinner. However, never once did we see or hear a mosquito at this particular time of year. Please be aware though that as the tents work on solar power, you are unable to use a hairdryer or charge cameras, mobile telephones, etc. You can get these charged at reception, which is not a big problem.
The food is very good for a small establishment and waiters very happy to assist.
They had just completed a new pool and whirl pool, which was very welcome after a day in the hot and dusty Masi Mara.
We also visited the local Masi village within a short distance of the lodge. This was arranged through our safari driver and well worth the visit. There was a small ‘fee’ to the locals for visiting and of course you were expected to buy something in return for them showing you around and dancing for you. They also visited the hotel one night to dance whilst having dinner.
All in all, a very comfortable place for a couple of nights stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JadyLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
8.8 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#6 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
8.9 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
2.9 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Mara Sopa Lodge
Mara Sopa Lodge
#36 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
4.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
24.4 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#21 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
3.0 mi away
Basecamp Masai Mara
Basecamp Masai Mara
#12 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sentrim Mara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentrim Mara

Property: Sentrim Mara
Address: Sekenani Maasai Mara | P.O. Box 43436, Masai Mara National Reserve 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sentrim Mara 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sentrim Mara Game Lodge is located in the Maasai Mara Game Reserve, 3 km from Sekenani gate. The entire camp is spread out over 100 acres of tranquil surroundings and where acacia trees whistle through the night. The main guest area consists of the Reception, Lounge, Restaurant, Bar, Fire Place, Pool Bar, Jacuzzi and Swimming Pool. The lodge has a total of 64 en-suite standard, superior tents as well as family houses (Concrete). All rooms are equipped with Private hot shower, In-room safe deposit box, solar power and coffee making facilities. Maasai Mara is 260 km from Nairobi and takes 4 1/2 hours drive by road and 40 minutes by air. Transfer from the airstrip to the camp takes 20 minutes. The Masai Mara climate is mainly humid, with temperatures averaging 26°C during the day and 12°C at night. Long rains are anticipated from mid April to May and the short rains from November to early December. Recreation activities e.G. Guided nature walks, game drives, balloon safaris, Maasai culture talk, Manyatta village visits & Maasai dancers; can be organized upon request at a fee. Other services offered at the camp include; sundowner cocktails, bush breakfast / bush lunch and dinner within the lodge, massage services and can be organized upon request at a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Sentrim Mara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentrim Mara Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Sentrim Mara Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing