We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great camp, service and staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Enkewa Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Masai Mara National Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Enkewa Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great camp, service and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

I stayed here for four days over New Year with my wife and three children (aged 7, 4 and 2). My main concern before booking a safari holiday was to ensure we could get a camp that could accommodate young children, particularly having our own vehicle for game drives, as we needed flexibility and also didn't want to be spoiling other people's holiday. Enkewa was recommended, and we were not disappointed.

The accommodation is great. Lovely tents, spacious enough too accommodate the five of us with ease.

The food is excellent, and having breakfast and lunch out in the Mara is just sublime.

However, it is the people that make Enkewa special. Almost all the staff are local Maasai, and this makes the difference. Spending hours on game drives, our driver and spotter were fantastic - they know what they are doing and really care about giving you a great experience of the area. They were also great with the kids, who had a fantastic time from the minute we were picked up from Keekorok airstrip.

The easterly location of the camp means that you have to drive for quite a while to get deep into the most popular game areas of the Mara Reserve, however it gives you a great opportunity to see areas which are off the typical tourist trail.

This was our first safari experience, and it won't be our last. And we would go back to Enkewa in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lockey1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
84
107
29
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Have been living in Nairobi for almost a year and hadn't been in the Mara.. decided to go for Easter.. Stayed at the Enkewa Mara camp, which is simply excellent. Luxurious, tasteful, rustic, friendly environment.. personalized service, excellent food.. magical! In addition to the amazing scenery... forest, animals, sunset.. the best part of Enkewa camp are their people: managers , spotters, staff, are top notch- friendly, professional, knowledgable of the sites, areas, and best spots to see the big 5 and more! You truly feel easily at home.. Even for those of us that are not 100% outdoorsy, this is an amazing experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

This time we went to Enkewa Bush Camp, rustic luxury inside the park, in the very best area for spotting game...we had 3 of the last black rhino on the vicinity and could actually see them from the Camp. As always, a great Mara experience!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oscar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Definitely recommended for an all-around great experience. The guides and owners are great and you get an intimate feel because of the small size.

Bush camp and Enkewa both are like small oasis in the Mara, and that is saying a lot considering how beautiful the Mara is. Bush camp is surrounded by palm trees and is a short distance to a place in the Sands River where you can cliff jump near a medium-sized waterfall. Drive to some great look-outs over the Serengeti and Sands River.

Great sightings as well. I was there for only two nights and saw EVERYTHING - black rhino, leopard, lion, cheetah, etc. Absolutely beautiful!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

One of my dreams was to discover Africa, to be able to see my favorite animals in the wild. During the games we run through amazing places, I discover landscapes I never thought it exist in Africa. The Enkewa people know every single stone, every single path, every animal. Their spotters are incredible, we saw all the big five including the elusive Leopard and the Rhinos. Then back to the camp, we discover the real treasure of Enkewa Mara Camp, their people !!!! I was surprised how they show me real culture of Africa. Thank you Jose and Marta for your efforts, thanks for showing me the school of Ositeti, your link with the masai community is unique and it was completely unexpected.

And of course the food was incredible, the glass of wine next to the fire every night, the relax talks . . . I´m back home . . . but still remembering the games, the sunsets, the sand river waters, ..... thank you all !!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Grassiforce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maun, Botswana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

It was my 2nd stay at Enkewa, and again Jose and his team made us feel like at home. Game viewing was never disappointing with these guys. Tipira, his head Masai helped us find rhinos and leopard, snd nit only once. The food and commodities at camp were to the highest standard. All in all a great experience for anyone seeking a first safari vacation, and for us, a place to come back and always recommend

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crisvergash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

My Fiancee and I visited Enkewa Mara Camp in September 2013. This was our first trip to Kenya. Marta (who looks after Enkewa camp) organised everything, from our transportation, Nairobi accommodation, internal flights and of course our Masai Mara adventure.
We were met at Nairobi International Airport by our chauffeur who transported us to Eka Hotel. The Eka hotel is fantastic with restaurants are located on premises (but do not go to Spurs). After an early morning transfer we arrived at Wilson airport and boarded a small plane flying into Keekorok airfield, Masai Mara.
Stepping off the plane we were met by our Masai guides. The drive from the airport to the camp was an amazing safari in itself. We stayed three nights and witnessed the great migration, lions, cheetah, wild dogs, black rhino, elephants, hippos, hyena, giraffe and so much more.
The food at the camp was fantastic and better than most five star restaurants and the service was better than anywhere we have experienced. The Masai are beautiful people and the camp itself supports the local community. Marta, Jose and the Masai at the camp really are one big family and made us feel the same way. The accommodation is Eco-friendly and 5 star. We were woken up by elephants one night and a herd of zebra running through camp on another. We never felt scared as the Masai patrol the camp throughout the night.
Marta even orgainised a private dinner for us where I proposed to my now fiancee. We even had a bottle of champagne waiting back at our tent which made our night even more special.
Thank you Marta and Jose, we will definitely be back.
Ben and Jackie.

Room Tip: Every tent is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BMSweeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
4.9 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
16.9 mi away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#4 of 139 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
38.4 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.8 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#22 of 139 in Masai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
8.2 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#3 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
29.3 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#14 of 139 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enkewa Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enkewa Camp

Property: Enkewa Camp
Address: | Masai Mara, Masai Mara National Reserve 20500, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Enkewa Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accomodation and fully eco-sustainable tented camp. Enkewa Camp is located inside the Masai Mara National Reserve in a very private area with a great location for game drive. Almost absolute privacy during our safaris in the best Big5 territory, only 20 minutes drive from Keekorok Airstrip. We can also arrange all logistics and travel circuits through Kenya and Tanzania combined with your stay at Enkewa Camp ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Enkewa Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing