We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (418)
Filter reviews
418 results
Traveller rating
416
1
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
416
1
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews his team safari experience masai mara sand river game drives feel pampered private bathroom black rhino unique experience food is excellent other companies night safari every single detail the reserve lion hunt real safari private safari
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 418 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2017

For me, this was the best accommodation for a safari (and I have been to several safaris in Africa). It was the first time I stayed in a tent, and I loved it.
Enkewa Camp is run by a wonderful manager, Jose, and his Masai staff, who are warm, attentive and responsive. They responded to my emails straight away, they arranged all the logistics (including flights from Nairobi), when I told him that we could only stay for one night, he made sure we maximized our time there, and we still cannot believe we were able to pack so much in such a short time.
Jose was able to add a fourth person to our group within two days of arriving and they had no problem catering for the various dietary needs of our group members.
Enkewa Camp is a rather small tented camp in the Masai Mara (serviced by the Keekorok Air Strip). The tents are spacious and luxurious, they include a sleeping area, a living room area, toilet, shower and sink, and a veranda with lounge chairs from where you can watch the wild animals that pass through he camp.
It is not a fenced camp, but there are Masai standing guard 24/7. It is very safe, babies and children of all ages are welcome.
There are three common areas: the dining area, library and a common toilet and shower.
You can charge your electric devices at the common areas, which also have wifi.
The safari trucks are comfortable, open but shaded, and have an open section in the tarpaulin so you can poke your head out to take pictures or try to look for animals. We went out on two morning safaris and one evening safari. The camp is located in a less crowded area of the Masai Mara, near the Sand River waterfall. This means one or two cars per sighting, perhaps three or four during the Great Migration.
We saw absolutely everything we wanted to see, including the big five. We had at least seven lion sightings, with the animals engaged in a variety of activities. We saw black rhino twice, leopards and a cheetah.
The first day we stayed around the Sand River, and the second day we went to the Masai River, and although we saw some animals there that we did not see on the Sand River side, we did notice how many more cars per sighting there were (including several of those mini buses - matatu - with pop up roofs).
We were also able to visit the Sand River Waterfall, which was pretty dry due to the draught, but beautiful nevertheless.
All the members of our group wished we could have stayed longer, and some of us are already making plans to come back with our families (we were work colleagues taking a quick weekend break from our two-week mission in Nairobi).
Our guide was Daniel, one of the Masai guides. He was excellent.
Jose (a native Spanish speaker) also takes groups out. In fact, the majority of guests seemed to be from Spain (at least when we were there).
About the cost: going on safari in Africa is an expensive activity. However, taking into account that the cost per night included flights from Nairobi, park entrance fees, pick up from the airstrip at Keekorok, all meals and drinks, and all game drives with experienced Masai guides, we thought their rates were pretty reasonable.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enkewa C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Enkewa Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017

Thank you for taking your time to share your opinion and your experience in Enkewa Camp.

We are glad you and your friends had an amazing experience with us. All the team in Enkewa want you to enjoy as much as possible your stay with us, that´s why we like to pay attention to all kind of details.

We want to thank for explaining our Camp is ideal for families, and it is completely safe.

Our privileged location inside the National Reserve together with our philosophy of tracking and searching for our own wildlife sightings far from the transited areas, makes our games drive very amazing and exclusive.

We look forward to hosting you in Enkewa Camp soon.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

Excellent knowledge of the Masai Mara National Reserve. Their passion in looking for wild life is exceptional. The camp is fully ecological in a five star setup.

The game drives go for a full day or two half days depending on the objective and not only a couple of hours like other operators.

Sun downers in the best places and an excellent network for information on how to find animals.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank KassemH20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enkewa C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Enkewa Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Thank you for sharing your review.

We are glad that you enjoyed our the games drives. Our aim is you enjoyed your stay with us as much as possible.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Enkewa Camp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

We had the most wonderful journey at Enkewa camp. The owner and all the staff are the most welcoming. They are passionate about what they do. The game drives were amazing with them. Food service atmosphere everything was exceptional!!!

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank amalfreiha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enkewa C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Enkewa Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Thank you for sharing your review.
We are glad that you enjoyed our food, the games drives, and our hospitality. Our aim is you enjoyed your stay with us as much as possible.

Thank you and hope to see you soon in Enkewa Camp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017

All of the previous reviews describing the level of service and attention to detail to create special, individualized experiences are spot on! Our family of five (three children ages 15, 13 & 9) spent five nights during the last week of December at Enkewa Camp. José and his team do an exceptional job of anticipating and responding to all of your needs and requests. Two of us are vegetarian and every meal included a special selection for us by John and Charles...all around, we all agreed that the food was delicious! Solomon and Lasalle Luis were very attentive and caring in their work.

The tents were well appointed and comfortable from the daily hot showers prepared by the team to the cozy beds with hot water bottles in the evening-excellent. At night, we would enjoy the beautiful star filled sky and fall asleep listening to animals in the distance. The lounge tent was a great space to relax after game drives mid day or before dinner and read or play games.

The most special part of the experience were the daily game drives with José, Daniel, Lareen and team. They are all exceptional at spotting animals and locating them in the reserve. We had countless lion/lioness encounters, saw giraffe, zebra, cheetahs, hippos, rhino, elephant, hyena, etc. etc. It was fabulous! The sundowner was a wonderful and relaxing evening drive and snack/drinks where we watched the sun set over the Mara and take in the scenery. Our trip to OneTen's home and the Masai village was incredible. This will be an experience that sticks with all of us for some time...well worth the money and effort to get there. We can't thank José and his team enough! We can't stop talking about when we can return!!

Room tip: Each of the five tents is amazing!
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Regina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose E, Propietario at Enkewa Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2017

Dear Regina,
Many thanks for your wonderful review.
It was indeed great pleasure for all of us at Enkewa to share those days and specially New years Eve with your family! They went so fast!
I have passed your kind words to the team and they all send warm regards back.
Hoping we can repeat the experience during the great migration one day.
Abrazos desde Masai Mara
Jose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2016

Enkewa camp is the best. This was my first safari and did not know what to expect.
Everything was perfect from the guides , food and the awesome tents .The vehicles used for transportation was top notch. Loved, Loved , Loved , everything .

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 19judy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews