We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (402)
Filter reviews
402 results
Traveller rating
400
1
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
400
1
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshis teamsafari experiencemasai marasand rivergame drivesprivate bathroomthe reserveevery single detailother companiesreal safariprivate safariperfect balanceguest tentslounge tentnational parkamazing experienceland rover
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 402 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2017

We stayed 4 days at Enkewa and we had a really good time there. José and his team do their best to achieve that and they perform outstanding. The guides are very expert and the landscape is amazing. We had the opportunty to see the 5Bs and much more. Enjoying quite meals at camp or sunsets in very well choosen spots are just another plus of a very complete and super experience. Perhaps another time... we miss you

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank joao1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enkewa C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Enkewa Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Thank you for sharing your review.

We are glad that you had an amazing experience in Enkewa Camp, and you have enjoyed our property, our meals, the sunset ...

We look forward to seeing you again in Enkewa Camp quite soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017

We booked a tree night stay with Jose and his team, with the main purpose of photography. Jose arranged everything for us, regarding transport and hotels out of Masai Mara. His team are great, so friendly and helpful, they did a good job spotting the animals and meeting our request.
To drive with Jose was like having a friend taking you for a tour, wanting to show you the best of what Masai Mara could offer.
We got to see all we came for, and left with some great pictures and amazing memories. Also a desire to go back for more photo shooting, three days are just the beginning....
The camp is well described in previous review, and can just confirm that it was really up to its standard, so fresh and clean.

We will back...soon, thanks to Jose and his team :)

Peter & Siv
AlternativePhoto
Sweden

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Siv H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enkewa C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Enkewa Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Thank you so much for your review.

We are glad to hear that you had a good time with our staff, and we are happy to hear that you were able to see the animals you wanted, and took nice pictures.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best wishes




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017

For me, this was the best accommodation for a safari (and I have been to several safaris in Africa). It was the first time I stayed in a tent, and I loved it.
Enkewa Camp is run by a wonderful manager, Jose, and his Masai staff, who are warm, attentive and responsive. They responded to my emails straight away, they arranged all the logistics (including flights from Nairobi), when I told him that we could only stay for one night, he made sure we maximized our time there, and we still cannot believe we were able to pack so much in such a short time.
Jose was able to add a fourth person to our group within two days of arriving and they had no problem catering for the various dietary needs of our group members.
Enkewa Camp is a rather small tented camp in the Masai Mara (serviced by the Keekorok Air Strip). The tents are spacious and luxurious, they include a sleeping area, a living room area, toilet, shower and sink, and a veranda with lounge chairs from where you can watch the wild animals that pass through he camp.
It is not a fenced camp, but there are Masai standing guard 24/7. It is very safe, babies and children of all ages are welcome.
There are three common areas: the dining area, library and a common toilet and shower.
You can charge your electric devices at the common areas, which also have wifi.
The safari trucks are comfortable, open but shaded, and have an open section in the tarpaulin so you can poke your head out to take pictures or try to look for animals. We went out on two morning safaris and one evening safari. The camp is located in a less crowded area of the Masai Mara, near the Sand River waterfall. This means one or two cars per sighting, perhaps three or four during the Great Migration.
We saw absolutely everything we wanted to see, including the big five. We had at least seven lion sightings, with the animals engaged in a variety of activities. We saw black rhino twice, leopards and a cheetah.
The first day we stayed around the Sand River, and the second day we went to the Masai River, and although we saw some animals there that we did not see on the Sand River side, we did notice how many more cars per sighting there were (including several of those mini buses - matatu - with pop up roofs).
We were also able to visit the Sand River Waterfall, which was pretty dry due to the draught, but beautiful nevertheless.
All the members of our group wished we could have stayed longer, and some of us are already making plans to come back with our families (we were work colleagues taking a quick weekend break from our two-week mission in Nairobi).
Our guide was Daniel, one of the Masai guides. He was excellent.
Jose (a native Spanish speaker) also takes groups out. In fact, the majority of guests seemed to be from Spain (at least when we were there).
About the cost: going on safari in Africa is an expensive activity. However, taking into account that the cost per night included flights from Nairobi, park entrance fees, pick up from the airstrip at Keekorok, all meals and drinks, and all game drives with experienced Masai guides, we thought their rates were pretty reasonable.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enkewa C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Enkewa Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017

Thank you for taking your time to share your opinion and your experience in Enkewa Camp.

We are glad you and your friends had an amazing experience with us. All the team in Enkewa want you to enjoy as much as possible your stay with us, that´s why we like to pay attention to all kind of details.

We want to thank for explaining our Camp is ideal for families, and it is completely safe.

Our privileged location inside the National Reserve together with our philosophy of tracking and searching for our own wildlife sightings far from the transited areas, makes our games drive very amazing and exclusive.

We look forward to hosting you in Enkewa Camp soon.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

Excellent knowledge of the Masai Mara National Reserve. Their passion in looking for wild life is exceptional. The camp is fully ecological in a five star setup.

The game drives go for a full day or two half days depending on the objective and not only a couple of hours like other operators.

Sun downers in the best places and an excellent network for information on how to find animals.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank KassemH20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enkewa C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Enkewa Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Thank you for sharing your review.

We are glad that you enjoyed our the games drives. Our aim is you enjoyed your stay with us as much as possible.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Enkewa Camp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

We had the most wonderful journey at Enkewa camp. The owner and all the staff are the most welcoming. They are passionate about what they do. The game drives were amazing with them. Food service atmosphere everything was exceptional!!!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank amalfreiha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enkewa C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Enkewa Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Thank you for sharing your review.
We are glad that you enjoyed our food, the games drives, and our hospitality. Our aim is you enjoyed your stay with us as much as possible.

Thank you and hope to see you soon in Enkewa Camp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews